A Mark in the Road

A Mark in the Road
Publisher Name
Monarch Educational Services LLC
Age Range
13+
Release Date
October 03, 2023
ISBN13
978-1957656199
ISBN10 or ASIN
      
Every tire track tells a story. At least that's what accident experts say. And there's no better expert than eighteen-year-old Mason. Mason dreads the skid marks left by braking tires. Every mark - every near miss, dead animal, injured person - plays like a soundless documentary in his mind. When Mason's on-again-off-again crush Addie begs him to drive cross-country to help her move, he must face what he thought was his greatest fear - the open road. But a tire mark left near a missing woman's car on the Loneliest Road in America changes everything. ​As Mason searches for clues, he and Addie drive closer to trouble and risk losing everything.
Can his strange gift finally serve a purpose?
Can he race against the clock and drive 2,000 miles before the skid mark disappears?
This clean YA speculative thriller will take readers on a journey of acceptance, courage, and strength in the face of the unknown. For fans of Megan Miranda and Jennifer Lynn Barnes, this action-packed debut, with a promise of hope fringed on a highway of despair, will leave readers breathless and eagerly awaiting the next ride.

Editor review

1 review
Exciting YA Speculative Thriller
Overall rating
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
A Mark in the Road piqued my interest not only because of the uniqueness of the premise, but also because I was immediately curious to see how the protagonist, Mason's, story would play out. The author does a wonderful job of writing this as an intense and twisty speculative thriller, while still incorporating lighter themes of family, friendship, and first love. 
 
The book begins with a newspaper report for a missing woman, setting the tone for the rest of the book. More reports are interspersed throughout the novel, providing an excellent way of updating the reader about the case in a natural manner. Every few chapters, a few paragraphs are written from the missing woman, Kenna's, point of view. These passages help to connect the reader with Kenna while remaining in that third-person point of view for the rest of the book. Despite frequent POV changes, I never felt jarred or taken out of the story. In fact, being so connected to Kenna and her story made for an even more impactful ending to the book. I enjoyed Mason’s character as well, and even though he is struggling with something so extraordinary, his uncanny ability to see the story behind the skid marks on the road, he felt relatable and my solicitude for him only grew the more I read.
 
The banter between Mason and the love interest, Addie, is something that teen readers will adore. Their dynamic is refreshing and endearing, and watching their relationship develop over time was delightful. They are a large part of why this book is so special to me, and I appreciated the clean, sweet romance aspect of this story.
 
I would have loved to see how Mason and Addie dealt with overcoming their trauma once they returned to ordinary life, and also how they navigated their new long-distance relationship, but hopefully we will get to see that all expanded upon in a sequel. The book ends on a cliffhanger that I didn't expect, and I am anxious to see that developed, as well.
 
Overall, A Mark in the Road is a compelling and exciting young adult novel that kept me turning the pages. The twists were shocking and unexpected, which is exactly what I look for and hope to find in any thriller. It confronts weighty topics with sensitivity and respect. I recommend this book for ages thirteen and up, and for anyone searching for the perfect young adult mystery/thriller to enjoy this summer. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

1 review
Overall rating
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0(1)
Plot
 
5.0(1)
Characters
 
5.0(1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A(0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
A Captivating YA Thriller
Overall rating
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
A MARK IN THE ROAD is a captivating YA thriller from start to finish. The premise, both interesting and unique, centers around a young man with a gift that is also a burden and how he may be able to use his visions to help a crime victim. Much of the story takes place on a road trip, and readers will love the relationship between the protagonist and his best friend and secret crush, as well as the fun and authentic teen banter between the two of them. This novel is a definite must-read for YA fans who enjoy crime thrillers, speculative fiction, and clean romance!
Good Points
A speculative thriller
Clean romance
Edge-of-your seat
Unique characters and plot
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0