Rise of the Snake Goddess (Samantha Knox, #2)

Featured
Rise of the Snake Goddess (Samantha Knox, #2)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 07, 2022
ISBN
978-1368067270
Buy This Book
      
The beautiful island of Crete, an archaeological find for the ages, and one seriously pissed-off Greek goddess. It’s just another day for Samantha Knox.

After being snubbed by her college’s archaeology department for an honor she rightfully earned, Sam is hell-bent on proving her worth to her misogynistic department head. So when an opportunity presents itself to solve the hidden meaning behind a symbol found inside a cave in Greece, Sam is all over it, and she’s bringing Bennett and Jo with her for the cross-Atlantic trip. Once on the island of Crete, Sam finds a treasure she never expected―the golden girdle of an ancient and powerful goddess―and she can’t resist its siren call, or the accolades she would win for discovering it. But before she can take credit for the find, the girdle is stolen and the island is hit with a series of earthquakes that don’t feel quite coincidental.

Soon Sam, Bennett, and Jo are embroiled in a wild hunt―one that takes them to tiny island shops, a glamorous high-stakes auction, and a fiery, near-death experience―to find the girdle before someone can use it to raise the ancient goddess from her slumber. An unexpected heist, a terrifying trek through a labyrinth, and a fight to the death with the Minotaur itself lead to a final standoff she and her friends won’t soon forget―one that might just break up Sam and Bennett for good.

Set against the gorgeous backdrop and ancient ruins of the Greek islands, the pulse-pounding action in this twisting mystery will appeal to action-adventure fans, romance die-hards, and mythology buffs alike.

Editor review

1 review
gripping sequel
Overall rating
 
4.3
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
RISE OF THE SNAKE GODDESS is a riveting new 1920s archaeological story featuring Sam and her friends, Jo and Bennett. Sam is now at college and excelling - she knows she has the internship for the top student in the bag, which means a trip to a site in Crete for the summer. However, after a discussion with the professor who seems disdainful of her gender, her opportunity disappears in smoke.

Upon discovery of a letter asking for help with an ancient artifact, Sam, Jo, and Bennett head to Crete to discover the Snake Goddess's Golden Girdle. However, nothing is quite so simple and ancient powers are at play and the Snake Goddess awakens.

What I loved: This book was action-packed and fast-paced, and the suspense really keeps the pages turning throughout. Although this is second in a series, it could be read alone with a new mystery/artifact taking center stage. The writing and plot are even more gripping than the first, and the artifact and Snake Goddess are particularly enthralling. These really bring the feels, excitement/danger, and humor, reminiscent of The Mummy franchise, home in a big way.

Sam, Jo, and Bennett are really fun main characters, and they play off of each other really well. Together, they present a great team, and they each bring something special to the table. The plot and events are quite clever too, with a mystery and danger that really grips the reader.

Final verdict: A gripping and fast-paced sequel, RISE OF THE SNAKE GODDESS is a thrilling YA historical fantasy that is great for fans of The Mummy and Indiana Jones.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account