Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 265
gripping sequel
Overall rating
 
4.3
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
RISE OF THE SNAKE GODDESS is a riveting new 1920s archaeological story featuring Sam and her friends, Jo and Bennett. Sam is now at college and excelling - she knows she has the internship for the top student in the bag, which means a trip to a site in Crete for the summer. However, after a discussion with the professor who seems disdainful of her gender, her opportunity disappears in smoke.

Upon discovery of a letter asking for help with an ancient artifact, Sam, Jo, and Bennett head to Crete to discover the Snake Goddess's Golden Girdle. However, nothing is quite so simple and ancient powers are at play and the Snake Goddess awakens.

What I loved: This book was action-packed and fast-paced, and the suspense really keeps the pages turning throughout. Although this is second in a series, it could be read alone with a new mystery/artifact taking center stage. The writing and plot are even more gripping than the first, and the artifact and Snake Goddess are particularly enthralling. These really bring the feels, excitement/danger, and humor, reminiscent of The Mummy franchise, home in a big way.

Sam, Jo, and Bennett are really fun main characters, and they play off of each other really well. Together, they present a great team, and they each bring something special to the table. The plot and events are quite clever too, with a mystery and danger that really grips the reader.

Final verdict: A gripping and fast-paced sequel, RISE OF THE SNAKE GODDESS is a thrilling YA historical fantasy that is great for fans of The Mummy and Indiana Jones.
Report this review Was this review helpful? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account