Attached at the Hip

Featured
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
173 0
Attached at the Hip
Age Range
13+
Release Date
May 21, 2024
ISBN
978-1250760098
Buy This Book
      
Survivor meets The Bachelor in Attached at the Hip, an irresistible, romantic adventure by New York Times bestselling author Christine Riccio.

Orie Lennox has spent her entire life prepping for her happily ever after -- and now that she’s graduated, she’s low-key wondering, when the heck is it gonna hit. Her love life, her new job, her relationship with her sister: none of it is quite what she envisioned it to be.

One evening, on a whim, she applies for a reality show where she’ll be stranded on an island, with a bunch of strangers, to play a game of human chess for a shot at a million dollars. What better way to force herself to break up with the things that aren’t bringing her joy, than to abandon them all on short notice to live off the grid on a beach in the South Pacific!

Orie's shocked when she ends up cast in an experimental romantic edition of the show: and even more surprised to find that her old high school crush, Remy, has been cast as well. Orie's one of ten contestants, set to compete in formidable challenges, while speed dating, in the wilderness: withoutdeodorant, toilets, shaving cream, or showers. (How!?)

She finds herself tied up ― literally ― in a game of risky alliances as she navigates ever-growing feelings for her one that got away, alongside an exciting array of budding new relationships.

Editor reviews

2 reviews
delightful rom-com
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
ATTACHED AT THE HIP is a delightful comedic YA contemporary about finding your path, competition, and falling in love. After getting lectured by her sister for being codependent and not taking charge of her own life, Orrie decides to apply for a spot on a new season of Survivor. Having long been a fan, she has always dreamed of appearing on the show. She is shocked when they accept her into the program and even more so when they announce the twist - this season, Attached at the Hip, is Survivor with a dating element with some of the other contestants being potential romantic matches for each other.

As the competition rages on, Orrie will find alliances, root out betrayal, and find herself doing and becoming things she never thought possible.

What I loved: This was such a clever and FUNNY book! I was seriously laughing out loud in a few places - I was not expecting so much humor, and it was positively delightful. Orrie loves rom-coms, and she has found herself unwittingly in the middle of one. She's 23 and still trying to figure out her life and what she wants out of it. The show ends up being the perfect place to do that, amidst the solitude and lack of connected devices. Although she is a bit older than the typical YA character, her coming-of-age style revelations will resonate with teens who are also trying to figure out what they'll do with their lives.

Kennedi was another really compelling character that I would have loved to read more about. She was fierce, intelligent, and giving everyone else a run for their money. Osprey was another character who felt really genuine, gifted, and helped Orrie to grow in new and unexpected ways - as she did the same for him. In addition to the cast, Orrie's family and her relationships with them were also central to the story. I appreciated her parents and the ways they approached their mistakes and took learning opportunities. Orrie's sister, Lark, with whom she does acroyoga influencing, has a strong impact on Orrie's direction, and their heart-to-hearts were really fantastic.

While being comedic and romantic, the book also includes some heavier themes and thought-provoking topics around addition, betrayal and (dis)honesty, friendship, trying new things, facing your fears, following your dreams, and when to leap into the unknown versus when to have more caution. These often felt empowering as Orrie takes charge of her life and her future. Trust and betrayal were tricky ones that Orrie was still navigating in the story, with implications for romantic and familial relationships.

The ending was really fantastic and satisfying with room for a future yet unwritten. This would actually be a great pick for book groups/clubs, as there would be many things to discuss and consider from the story and the show within.

Final verdict: ATTACHED AT THE HIP is a clever romantic comedy that will keep readers on their toes and smiling. Highly recommend picking this delightful read up!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Rom-Com Meets Survivor
Overall rating
 
4.3
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
4.0
Orie looks perfect on paper with her influencer job she does with her sister and dating her high school sweetheart. The only problem is she's a little too comfortable and nothing feels exciting. When her sister complains that she doesn't make any decisions on her own, Orie spontaneously applies for a Survivor themed reality show. She gets a call back and soon finds herself doing something alone. However, when she gets there, it isn't what she expects at all.

Instead of Survivor, she's on a reality dating show with survival elements. The first person she's paired with is Remy, a guy from her high school. Orie is vulnerable since she breaks up with Wes right before the show. So when she meets Remy, a chemistry like she's never felt before erupts between them and she wants to stick with him until the end. As the show continues, romance blossoms between most of the contestants and it's fun watching them develop. All of the contestants are strong contenders so who will win in the end?

ATTACHED AT THE HIP is a rom-com full of drama that is perfect for fans of Survivor. Orie is a relatable character who settles for comfort and is afraid to ruin things. But after given the opportunity, she learns the meaning of independence and how important it is. My favorite character is Osprey because he's so sweet and so much fun. The twist towards the end brings more drama and I loved it. This story definitely took a different turn than expected which make sit so much better because it wasn't just a cliche.


Final Verdict: I love the interactions between all of the contestants and how they come up with the decision to vote someone out. It had the Survivor fan in me so excited to see each challenge and who was going to be voted out next. Overall, this is perfect for fans of rom-coms who are in need of a good laugh with a side of love.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account