Review Detail

American Betiya Featured
Young Adult Fiction 489
heartfelt and powerful contemporary read
(Updated: March 08, 2021)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
AMERICAN BETIYA is a breathtaking contemporary read about identity, family, and racism. Rani is an Indian American with dreams of becoming a pediatrician, much to her parents' delight. She also loves photography, something her grandfather has nurtured in her, and the book begins with her art in a show. At the same show, her parents make sure she knows that their no dating policy continues- despite the cute guy with tattoos who is giving her the look.

Rani can't help but look back and is excited when Oliver asks her to join him for lunch at school the next day. As their relationship grows, Rani must make decisions about her family, secrecy, and the parts of her heritage she wants to embrace. Importantly, these decisions are her own and full of their own complexities, as she comes to realize.

What I loved: This book really captures the experience of Indian Americans including microaggressions and the ways that they may react to them as well as outright racism. The connecting with culture and defining yourself that POC immigrants and their descendants must do are also themes in this book that are captured really well in Rani's story. These were eye-opening and important to see.

The writing here is really powerful and enthralling. As Rani embarks on a relationship with Oliver, each step of the way, the reader feels the butterflies and the fear, both sides of the coin that eventually add up to a situation that is abusive and equally hard to separate. Rani feels these things, even when she cannot define them. She is an incredibly compelling character, and the writing wraps up the reader in her emotions and insights expertly.

Other themes including family, guilt, and friendship are all really thought-provoking. Rani is balancing her family and their expectations with her other desires, and I love the way that the family roles are ultimately settled. Rani also has a lot of guilt, not only from the current secrets, but also from what she feels that she failed to do for a friend in the past, with some important messages there. Additionally, Rani has a powerful friendship that shines through the story, and I loved the inclusion of such a friend. There are so many fantastic characters in the book throughout.

Final verdict: With important themes and powerful writing, AMERICAN BETIYA is a heartfelt, raw, and genuine YA contemporary that is certainly worth the read. Highly recommend for fans of MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE, THERE'S SOMETHING ABOUT SWEETIE, and HOW IT ALL BLEW UP.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And not...
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Riley Oh can't wait to see her sister get initiated...
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...

Latest Member Reviews

The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."