Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3861
Fresh Topic
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The history of the Cajun people is central to the theme of ‘Between Two Skies’. For that reason, I would like to briefly review their history .
I think most of us know that a sizable part of the population of southern Louisiana are Cajun. We all know that Cajun’s are of French descent and have their own food,culture,and even language. Even though the Louisiana Purchase and the French and Indian War are touched upon in American history classes, I don’t think most of us know what that has to do with how the Cajuns got to Louisiana.
Back in 1750 the English, France, and Spanish had all laid claim to parts of North America. The French colonies were collectively called ‘New France’. The part of history that I think is not generally well-known is that at this point ‘New France’ occupied a large area of eastern Canada and what is now the central part of the U.S.
Like the English, the French had separate North
American colonies. These colonies were Canada, Hudson’s Bay, Acadia ,Newfoundland (Plaisance), and Louisiana (this occupied a larger area then the present day state).


Then came the treaty of Utrecht. It was a series of peace treaties signed by Spain, Great Britain, France, Portugal, Savoy and the Dutch Republic to settle the War of Spanish Succession. In this treaty France gave the area of Acadia to the English (this today is the Maritime provinces, and parts of modern-day Quebec and Maine). The English agreed to allow the Acadians to stay. That is until the Acadians refused to sign an unconditional oath to Britain. As a result the British governor Charles Lawrence and the Nova Scotia Council ordered the Acadians to be expelled. They were sent to the British American colonies, England, and France. Families were often slit up and sent to separate destinations. A few ended just west of the Mississippi River in French colonized Louisiana. By 1764 many Acadians who were expelled to other areas began to resettle in Louisiana.
Through time the word Acadian became the word ‘Cajun’. Up until the early twentieth century the Cajun’s were somewhat isolated. This resulted in the Cajuns developing their own unique culture and dialect.
In 1847 Henry Wadsworth Longfellow published the epic poem Evangeline. ‘Evangeline’ told the story of the displaced Acadians. ‘Evangeline’ was extremely well received at the time and helped to bring awareness of the Expulsions of the Acadians.
Good Points
Evangeline of ‘Between Two Skies’ is named after the Evangeline of Wadsworth’s poem. ‘Between Two Skies’ begins in 2005 right before Hurricane Katrina hits the Gulf coast. The story then progresses to Evangeline’s life during and after the storm.
A story is often enjoyed more and is more meaningful when the reader can relate to the book’s characters.
Evangeline was one of those characters for me. This novel captures perfectly the underlying edge of living in a hurricane prone area during hurricane season. Something I’ve ever read in a novel before.Another element of the story that I connected with was Evangeline’s Cajun background. This is the first YA love I have read where the main character is an American of French decent. Even though my own maternal grandmother was of Québécois decent and not Cajun, Evangeline’s Mamére and her sayings reminded me a lot of my Mémé.
Beyond the connection that I had to Evangeline’s story, I found this to be one of the most well written and multi-layered YA books that I have ever read. I find many of YA novels have similar themes and characters. ‘Between Two Skies’ does not. It tells the story of an ordinary sixteen year old girl whose life is turned upside down when she is forced from her home. Just this makes an amazing story. ‘Between Two Skies’ is so much more though. It parallels this Evangeline’s story with the Evangeline of Longfellow’s poem. Both are driven from their homes under terrible circumstances but they each try to make the best of their circumstances.
There is some romance in this novel. At first I wasn’t sure it was a necessary part of the story. However, as the book went on, I realized the romance in the ‘Between Two Skies’ parallels the romance of the Evangeline in the Longfellow poem.
The imagery in this book is just amazing. For example there is a scene is the book where
Evangeline explains that when she is out in her boat that she is ‘Between Two Skies’. The real sky and the sky’s reflection in the water.
My Final Judgement
I really think this book is amazing. The prose is one of the best I have read in a long time. The storyline was complex and multi-dimensional. The story it’s self positive and inspiring. I can’t wait for Joanne O’Sullivan next novel. If this is here début novel, I can’t wait to see what she does next.
KK
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...

Latest Member Reviews

Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
 
4.5
"This is a cute read! No Adults Allowed is the first book in a new series from author Gavin Aung..."
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."
Homer on the Case
 
4.5
"HOMER ON THE CASE is a delightful middle grade mystery, featuring unlikely detectives. Homer, a homing pigeon, and Lulu, a..."
The Thingity-Jig
 
5.0
"THE THINGITY-JIG is a fun picture book read about invention and friendship. Although all his friends are asleep, Bear feels..."
Bridge of Souls (City of Ghosts #3)
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a satisfying conclusion to City of Ghosts series. Engaging characters, fast-paced plot, and spooky magic woven..."
This is Your World
 
5.0
"THIS IS YOUR WORLD is a lovely picture book that introduces the world and the importance of taking care of..."