Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3716
Fresh Topic
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The history of the Cajun people is central to the theme of ‘Between Two Skies’. For that reason, I would like to briefly review their history .
I think most of us know that a sizable part of the population of southern Louisiana are Cajun. We all know that Cajun’s are of French descent and have their own food,culture,and even language. Even though the Louisiana Purchase and the French and Indian War are touched upon in American history classes, I don’t think most of us know what that has to do with how the Cajuns got to Louisiana.
Back in 1750 the English, France, and Spanish had all laid claim to parts of North America. The French colonies were collectively called ‘New France’. The part of history that I think is not generally well-known is that at this point ‘New France’ occupied a large area of eastern Canada and what is now the central part of the U.S.
Like the English, the French had separate North
American colonies. These colonies were Canada, Hudson’s Bay, Acadia ,Newfoundland (Plaisance), and Louisiana (this occupied a larger area then the present day state).


Then came the treaty of Utrecht. It was a series of peace treaties signed by Spain, Great Britain, France, Portugal, Savoy and the Dutch Republic to settle the War of Spanish Succession. In this treaty France gave the area of Acadia to the English (this today is the Maritime provinces, and parts of modern-day Quebec and Maine). The English agreed to allow the Acadians to stay. That is until the Acadians refused to sign an unconditional oath to Britain. As a result the British governor Charles Lawrence and the Nova Scotia Council ordered the Acadians to be expelled. They were sent to the British American colonies, England, and France. Families were often slit up and sent to separate destinations. A few ended just west of the Mississippi River in French colonized Louisiana. By 1764 many Acadians who were expelled to other areas began to resettle in Louisiana.
Through time the word Acadian became the word ‘Cajun’. Up until the early twentieth century the Cajun’s were somewhat isolated. This resulted in the Cajuns developing their own unique culture and dialect.
In 1847 Henry Wadsworth Longfellow published the epic poem Evangeline. ‘Evangeline’ told the story of the displaced Acadians. ‘Evangeline’ was extremely well received at the time and helped to bring awareness of the Expulsions of the Acadians.
Good Points
Evangeline of ‘Between Two Skies’ is named after the Evangeline of Wadsworth’s poem. ‘Between Two Skies’ begins in 2005 right before Hurricane Katrina hits the Gulf coast. The story then progresses to Evangeline’s life during and after the storm.
A story is often enjoyed more and is more meaningful when the reader can relate to the book’s characters.
Evangeline was one of those characters for me. This novel captures perfectly the underlying edge of living in a hurricane prone area during hurricane season. Something I’ve ever read in a novel before.Another element of the story that I connected with was Evangeline’s Cajun background. This is the first YA love I have read where the main character is an American of French decent. Even though my own maternal grandmother was of Québécois decent and not Cajun, Evangeline’s Mamére and her sayings reminded me a lot of my Mémé.
Beyond the connection that I had to Evangeline’s story, I found this to be one of the most well written and multi-layered YA books that I have ever read. I find many of YA novels have similar themes and characters. ‘Between Two Skies’ does not. It tells the story of an ordinary sixteen year old girl whose life is turned upside down when she is forced from her home. Just this makes an amazing story. ‘Between Two Skies’ is so much more though. It parallels this Evangeline’s story with the Evangeline of Longfellow’s poem. Both are driven from their homes under terrible circumstances but they each try to make the best of their circumstances.
There is some romance in this novel. At first I wasn’t sure it was a necessary part of the story. However, as the book went on, I realized the romance in the ‘Between Two Skies’ parallels the romance of the Evangeline in the Longfellow poem.
The imagery in this book is just amazing. For example there is a scene is the book where
Evangeline explains that when she is out in her boat that she is ‘Between Two Skies’. The real sky and the sky’s reflection in the water.
My Final Judgement
I really think this book is amazing. The prose is one of the best I have read in a long time. The storyline was complex and multi-dimensional. The story it’s self positive and inspiring. I can’t wait for Joanne O’Sullivan next novel. If this is here début novel, I can’t wait to see what she does next.
KK
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."