Review Detail

Keep Me In Mind Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2387
Mature, Clever and Witty, KEEP ME IN MIND, Stands Apart From The Rest.
(Updated: April 25, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
A novel that transcends its intended audience, Keep Me in Mind's mature characters and realistic story make this novel a perfect read for adults and teens a like.

While the story remained contemporary, and youthful, the characters were wiser and "deeper" than you could imagine.

THE STORY
Ellia, doesn't remember Liam. Liam remembers everything about Ellia. He's her boyfriend and she can't remember him. She's his girlfriend and he'll never forget her. Both engage in a wicked dance of reconnecting the past and the future. One trying to remember the past and contain it, the other getting to know the past--and wishing to forget it.

On a mission to reconnect with his first love, Liam sets out to write their story, with hopes that words will remind Ellia of the love that brought them together in the first place.

Told from alternating perspectives. Keep Me in Mind, is both clever and wise and at times, surprisingly, laugh inducing.

THE CHARACTERS
With characters whose personalities are larger than the pages they were created on, I couldn't help but feel a deep sense of connection with Elia and Liam whose love seemed larger than life. Wrought with secrets, slight racial tension, and a Romeo and Juliet kind of love, the story was right for it's time.

The best thing about this novel is Liam. He's intense, while strangely timid. He's wise and swoon-worthy but, best of all, his love for Ellia is three dimensional. His love jumped right off the pages and into my heart.

His lines were among some of my favorites:

"Tell that to the sunset," he argued. "No human can see one for the first time and not be mesmerized. Some beauty is unattainable, some beauty is deceptive, and some beauty is intimidating. But yours..." He paused looking at me fully. Yours is inviting."

"I'd missed her in all tenses: past, present and future."

COME ON, SWOON RIGHT?

The contemporary tone of this novel made it easily readable but the clever realistic writing kept this reader in the story.

What I liked:

Readability: The story is easy to read, has a contemporary tone, and is easily unputadownable because of it.

The romance: Forbidden love has always been a trope I love. Their love is interracial *cheers*, intense and outright forbidden by all parents. Despite it all love persevered on all ends in the exact way it was supposed to.

The characters: Every single one of them had a life of their own--no single character needed the other to exist to be relevant, which is no easy feat for an author. It's not always easy to create an entire cast of characters that are likable, but Reed does so flawlessly.

What I didn't like: While this novel wasn't perfect I have no real solid complaints. Aside from the ending which I found romantically lacking. I have nothing to really complain about.

FINAL VERDICT:
A perfectly readable novel that will appeal to readers from teen to adult, Keep Me in Mind was surprisingly clever, and quite funny. At the end of it, it stays true to reality and is easy to connect to. A great read for contemporary romance lovers.



Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."