Review Detail

A Fun, Romantic Read!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
First Impressions

I've wanted to read all of Rachel's books for a long time now. The Fine Art of Pretending did not disappoint! The book was super fun. I was immediately sucked in to the story. I haven't read a lot of contemporary recently, but I've read a couple really good ones in the last couple weeks! If you're in the mood for a romantic comedy, this is definitely it!

Characters

Although the main characters are Aly and Brandon, I am in love with Justin. Aly is very fun, and it's cool to see a sporty yet nerdy main character. Brandon is tad to guy-ish for me, what with the pick-up truck and stuff, but I like him nonetheless. That said, Justin is so sweet. Right off the bat, Justin has been labeled as mean and a no-good person. As soon as I got to see more of Justin's character, I started to fall in love. I seriously like him and want to give him a big, fat hug. He just seems so sad. If you're also a Justin-lover, please let me know!

Writing

The writing in the book was okay. At times, it wasn't always the best quality, but it was fun.

Plot

I kinda wanted to stab the plot, simply because the characters just. Kept. Missing. The. Point. They kept not realizing that the other person actually liked the other, and thought that it would 'ruin their friendship'. Denying their love for each other was actually what was destroying it!

World-Building

I couldn't really see much of the world-building. Also, what school spends a week at a summer camp the week before school starts?!?! The world wasn't fully believable, but I'll roll with it.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Count up to 10 and back down again in this...
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they...
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found