Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1399
Lack of World-Building & A Weak Heroine
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
1.0
A fast-paced plot with edge-of-your seat action wasn't enough to save Dark Seeker from a lack of world-building, a weak heroine and a borderline abusive romance.

My first problem with Dark Seeker is the lack of world-building. Why are Seekers allowed to hunt the undead from such a young age (fourteen, according to Janie)? Janie mentions that she has already experienced ages 14-17 once, and is now on her second time going through those same ages. Why does this happen? How does this happen? Do Seekers wake up one day and are all of a sudden a few years younger? Janie's mother used to be a Seeker - why isn't she out patrolling with her daughter as backup? Why would an organization entrust the safety of an entire city (Baltimore) to a teenager? Wouldn't it better serve their cause to have several Seekers in one area, who are all slightly older and more experienced? What's the history of the Seekers - how did they come to be? What power does the Chapter hold over them? NONE of these questions are even touched on, and I found the plot lacked credibility because of the lack of answers.

My second issue lies with the protagonist, Janie. Having been trained from a young age how to be a Seeker, she shows a remarkable lack of respect for all of her training the moment she meets Kai. After being rescued by Kai from a daychildren attack, Janie first threatens to kill him, and then strikes up a conversation with him about how he's different from other daychildren. For the rest of the book, Kai mysteriously shows up in time to save Janie from every single fight she enters - and she needs him to save her. It's not like she had the situation under control, and his presence was unnecessary; without Kai, Janie would have been dead within the first few chapters. Not only does Kai need to rescue Janie from several situations, some she knowingly enters without being prepared out of pure stubbornness, Janie spends little time actually fighting. She is constantly reaching for her Cherokee dagger, entering into her "fighting stance" and then being knocked unconscious before she can show off any of her moves. How I'm supposed to believe she has persevered for seven years without Kai's aid, or that she has been extensively trained to combat the undead is completely beyond me. I guess I erroneously assumed that someone trained to kill the undead would be capable of doing that job.

My biggest issue, however, has to do with the "love" story (and I'm using the term love EXTREMELY loosely). Dark Seeker suffers from a frightening trend in YA fantasy, that of a borderline-abusive relationship that is portrayed as being romantic. Kai is constantly telling Janie what she can and can not do, what situations are too dangerous and whether or not she is allowed to go somewhere without him. He is constantly picking her up and carrying her, ignoring any protest she gives about being able to walk on her own. He shows up in her room, and refuses to leave. He forcibly restrains her in several situations, and she admits that she is completely powerless to move because his strength far surpasses her own. When Janie tries to break off her relationship with him, he practically begs her to stay with him because he can't live without her - she's the first person he's been able to tell his history to and it would destroy him if she were to leave him. By the end of the book, Janie is encouraging his thoughts of being unable to live without her.

"Without you, I don't want to live." She drew back from him. "Do you mean it? Don't say it if you don't mean it."

THIS IS NOT A HEALTHY RELATIONSHIP! To top it all off, Kai reveals a secret that most people would have a hard time forgiving. After the initial shock wears off (in all of five minutes), Janie is telling him that he is forgiven and needs to let go of his guilt - meanwhile Kai is going on about how he's not good for her and that she will eventually resent him. So for the rest of the book Janie is distressed over whether Kai will be able to forgive himself and whether he will stay with her. Ugh, the melodrama was so over-the-top I couldn't help but roll my eyes. How did Kai revealing an almost unforgivable truth turn in to Janie begging him to stay with her? Shouldn't it have been the other way around?

Lastly the writing was oddly disjointed and very poorly structured. I had a hard time sorting out when it was night versus when it was day, whether they were at Janie's school or her house, whether it was Janie or Kai talking, etc., - everything seemed to jump around without warning and I was constantly caught off-guard.

I wanted to like Dark Seeker, but as I'm having a hard time coming up with anything positive to say, I'm left feeling quite disappointed.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

Kid President's Guide to Being Awesome
 
5.0
"I was sure surprised when this book came in the mail. What a beautiful, hard cover book jam packed..."
What Do You Use to Help Your Body?: Maggie Explores the World of Disabilities
 
4.7
"The book shows with full-page illustrations, created by Richa Kinra, various helpful aids used by people with special needs in..."
113 Things to Do by 13
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by booty booty booty booty booty booty booty booty booty booty booty booty booty booty booty booty booty..."
Bessie Bump Gets a New Family
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by S. Stewart A must have book for any parent with young children going through the pain of..."
Chicken Soup for the Preteen Soul: 101 Stories of Changes, Choices and Growing Up for Kids Ages 9-13
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sidra This book had many true stories written by real people. The stories talk about kids who..."
You're Amazing:  A No Pressure Guide to Being Your Best Self
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Mrs. Magoo From www.mrsmagooreads.com You're Amazing! A No-Pressure Guide to Being Your Best Self by Claire..."
Questions from Little Hearts
 
4.0
BL Becky Laney
"This wonderful book gathers together FOUR books into one collection: What is God Like? What is Prayer? What About Heaven?..."
Chicken Soup for the Preteen Soul: 101 Stories of Changes, Choices and Growing Up for Kids Ages 9-13
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by looneytunez8 This book is inspiring. It helps out with so many problems that you, or somebody..."
Hot Issues, Cool Choices: Facing Bullies, Peer Pressure, Popularity, and Put-Downs
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Karl L. Kruger Humphrey continues with her series on childhood ethics and behavior with this easy-to-read offering...."
I Read 320 Books at 9...So Can You!
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Harold Lee It is amazing that the author, Dayna Tan read 320 books in one year when..."
The Teenage Guy's Survival Guide: The Real Deal on Girls, Growing Up and Other Guy Stuff
 
5.0
A2 Amber, 2007 Teen Demi-Goddess
"The Teenage Guys Survival Guide by Jeremy Daldry is the male equivalent for Seventeen and CosmoGirl all rolled up into..."
Chicken Soup for the Preteen Soul: 101 Stories of Changes, Choices and Growing Up for Kids Ages 9-13
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Katie This book provided o.k. advice. I thought some of it was to juvinile, and some was..."
The Blue Day Book: A Lesson in Cheering Yourself Up
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Springhair In this book Bradley Trevor Grieve has excellently combined a simple lesson on how to rid..."
The Book for People Who Do Too Much
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Springhair Bradley Trevor Grieve has done it again. Following in the footstep of his The Blue..."
Chicken Soup for the Preteen Soul: 101 Stories of Changes, Choices and Growing Up for Kids Ages 9-13
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by wwegurl I loved reading this book, the death and dying section made me cry! I helps you..."
Chicken Soup for the Preteen Soul: 101 Stories of Changes, Choices and Growing Up for Kids Ages 9-13
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Lynsia The stories in this book hit home one too many times. It really makes a kid..."
Chicken Soup for the Preteen Soul: 101 Stories of Changes, Choices and Growing Up for Kids Ages 9-13
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by x_fashion4eva This book is the perfect book 4 preteens. I give it a standing ovation...."
Chicken Soup for the Kid's Soul: 101 Stories of Courage, Hope and Laughter for Kids Ages 8-12
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by chick box if you want a book that teaches you about life it self you deffinetly should..."
Chicken Soup for the Preteen Soul: 101 Stories of Changes, Choices and Growing Up for Kids Ages 9-13
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by chick box preteens all over the u.s is reading this book. why? because they can all..."
Chicken Soup for the Kid's Soul: 101 Stories of Courage, Hope and Laughter for Kids Ages 8-12
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Dominique A truely marvelous collection of stories that will help kids of all ages to cope with..."