Review Detail

Hourglass Hot
Young Adult Fiction 4178
Tantalizing timeslip...totally
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
So I splurged and hit Books-a-Million the other day. Please do not rat on me to DH that I bought more books without prior authorization. I had to, it is morally imperative to my sanity to keep a healthy supply of reading material.

Anyway, among the books bought was a copy of Hourglass from Myra McEntire. I had been following her on Twitter and heard a lot of rather boastful reviews of the book. I have to admit I was intrigued. It certainly did not hurt that she was a fellow Tennessean.

From the very beginning I was drawn in. Hourglass starts off with a slap in the face of weirdness and keeps slapping. You don't really know what is going on other than Emerson sees dead people, but let's keep the Sixth Sense goofball references to a minimum.

Myra is a fantastic debut author. I have heard the rigamarole about the greatness of this novel and I was not disappointed. As I said the book had me from the beginning. By the time I reached mid-story I had fallen, quite willingly, for Michael and totally wanted Emerson as my BFF. Hourglass was absolutely hilarious with Emerson's wit and general semi-cynical outlook on life, which I am a huge fan of.

I am not familiar with time-slip/time-travel novels, but I didn't feel that anyone had to be in order to follow the plot. Miss Myra unravels this idea slowly through Emerson's discovery of what she can do and I never felt there was a data drop of crazy time travel philosophies that one would need a PhD to understand. Hourglass was perfectly balanced for amateur time related novel readers.

The main characters, Michael and Emerson, were fantastically written. Michael plays the part of the 'I want to do what is right' sort of drive and Emerson is clever, although a bit closed off after a less than favorable childhood, and just all around cool chick. I have to admit I was mentally fist bumping Emerson after she threw Michael over her shoulder pseudo-mini-ninja style. WOOT! But I digress...

Hourglass was a fast-paced read (finished in three days of obsessive cannot-put-it-down while making dinner bouts) and I was thoroughly entertained. The chemistry between Michael and Emerson was very pant worthy and I often giggled in true girly-girl fashion. The humor kept things sort of edgy when it could very well become oppressive with Emerson's tragic past. The concept may not be completely original, but I like the subtle twists Miss Myra plugs in. She just make me a Dr. Who fan after all...

The only thing remotely negative I can say about Hourglass is I felt sort of teased by Lily, Emerson's long-standing and patient best friend. We are given a super quick peek at some other twisting happening with Lily, but Miss Myra never indulges on this in Hourglass. It just makes me wonder what Miss Myra has in store for the next installment.

So do yourself a favor and pick up this read from Myra McEntire. She has a great voice and clever wit that translates well into her characters. Hourglass was fun, flirty, and a truly great read.

Did it rock my world? Yes, I give Hourglass an 8.5 on my Richter scale.
Good Points
Characters are fantastic. Plot was well done. Fast-paced read that you cannot put down.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Aftermath
 
5.0
"Each second of my four years, two months, and seven days in the attic dragged on forever, and nothing ever..."
Aftermath
 
4.3
"This is a rich, realistic tale about facing horrors and surviving through the darkness planted in your mind. I was..."
Aftermath
 
4.3
"What worked: This is at times a gut-wrenching, emotional tale of a teen who is found after being abducted. ..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
N/A
"When they were seven-years-old, Emmy and Oliver were best friends. Then Oliver’s dad kidnapped him and he wasn’t heard from..."
Pointe
 
5.0
"Just after I read Pointe I had a family emergency that took me away from home for a few weeks...."
Emmy & Oliver
 
3.7
"If there’s anything you’re going to take away from this book, or a few other Robin Benway books, is that..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
4.7
"When they were seven-years-old, Emmy and Oliver were best friends. Then Oliver's dad kidnapped him and he wasn't heard from..."
The Disappearance of Emily H.
 
4.0
"Raine isn't happy that her mother has moved them again, escaping from another not-so-nice boyfriend and "starting over". It means..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
4.5
" I wanted to read Emmy and Oliver because it sounded like an emotionally charged book, and..."
Unaccompanied Minor
 
4.3
"Every once in awhile I come across a book that I just can’t put down. It’s a fun read, a..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
5.0
"First Impressions I got an ARC of Emmy & Oliver from The Regulator Bookshop in February. I saw it..."
Pointe
 
3.7
"What I Liked Theo, short for Theodora, makes a lot of really bad choices. She’s definitely riding on the hot..."