The Endless skies

Featured
The Endless skies
Author(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
August 17, 2021
ISBN
978-1250302014
Buy This Book
      
Shannon Price's The Endless Skies is a breakout standalone epic fantasy about shapeshifting warriors perfect for fans of Adrienne Young and Wonder Woman. 

High above the sea, floats the pristine city of the Heliana. Home to winged-lion shapeshifters―the Leonodai―and protected from the world of humans by an elite group of warriors, the Heliana has only known peace.

After years of brutal training, seventeen-year-old Rowan is ready to prove her loyalty to the city and her people to become one of the Leonodai warriors. But before Rowan can take the oath, a deadly disease strikes the city’s children. Soon the warriors―including two of Rowan’s closest friends―are sent on a dangerous mission to find a fabled panacea deep within enemy lands.

Left behind, Rowan learns a devastating truth that could compromise the mission and the fate of the Heliana itself. She must make a decision: stay with the city and become a warrior like she always dreamed, or risk her future in an attempt to save everyone she loves. Whatever Rowan decides, she has to do it fast, because time is running out, and peace can only last so long...

Editor review

1 review
Loyalty Above All
Overall rating
 
3.7
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
3.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
What I Liked:
Heliana is a fantasy world full of shape-shifters who live on a floating island. They believe that the island floats due to the magic of the young prince. However, the world below is full of humans, and somehow a mysterious illness has invaded the floating island; the only cure is to be found among the humans. The story is full of beliefs that are soon found not to be accurate, a battle that becomes dangerous as humans invade with airplanes and guns, and betrayal by those that are part of Heliana but live among humans.
Final Verdict:
There is a love triangle between Ro, our main warrior female character, and two of the warriors. I felt it was unnecessary and drawn out. The action-packed sequences, adventures as they look for the magical cure, and unraveling of ancestral stories made for an engaging story. Check out this stand-alone for a unique paranormal world and a battle for peace between humans and mythological shape-shifting lions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account