Murtagh: The World of Eragon (The Inheritance Cycle)

Murtagh: The World of Eragon (The Inheritance Cycle)
Age Range
Release Date
November 07, 2023
Buy This Book
INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Master storyteller and internationally bestselling author Christopher Paolini returns to the World of Eragon in this stunning epic fantasy set a year after the events of the Inheritance Cycle. Join Dragon Rider—and fan favorite—Murtagh and his dragon as they confront a perilous new enemy!

“Christopher Paolini is a true rarity.” —The Washington Post

The world is no longer safe for the Dragon Rider Murtagh and his dragon, Thorn. An evil king has been toppled, and they are left to face the consequences of the reluctant role they played in his reign of terror. Now they are hated and alone, exiled to the outskirts of society.

Throughout the land, hushed voices whisper of brittle ground and a faint scent of brimstone in the air—and Murtagh senses that something wicked lurks in the shadows of Alagaësia. So begins an epic journey into lands both familiar and untraveled, where Murtagh and Thorn must use every weapon in their arsenal, from brains to brawn, to find and outwit a mysterious witch. A witch who is much more than she seems.

In this gripping novel starring one of the most popular characters from Christopher Paolini’s blockbuster Inheritance Cycle, a Dragon Rider must discover what he stands for in a world that has abandoned him. Murtagh is the perfect book to enter the World of Eragon for the first time . . . or to joyfully return.

Praise for Christopher Paolini:
“A spellbinding fantasy writer.” —The Boston Globe
“A breathtaking and unheard-of success.” —USA Today
“Make[s] literary magic.” —People

Editor review

1 review
End of the Series?
Overall rating
Writing Style
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
Murtagh comes as a continuation of the Inheritance Cycle with Murtagh as the central character. It made for quite the epic reading binge to read the past books so I could remember everything that had happened in the 20 years since the first book was published. Murtagh and his dragon, Thorn, have been living on the fringes of society for the last year after Galbatorix was defeated and they were freed from their forced servitude. They both have emotional damage having been forced to murder and torture under his will and they chafe under the idea of ever being bound again.
For the first part of the book, Murtagh and Thorn are a bit rudderless - just content on being in the wild and free. They are haunted by their past deeds that they have no way to atone for. Murtagh longs to see Nasuada but will not swear fealty or have his magic governed by another. This part of the book was a bit slow for me, but does fully flesh out Murtagh and Thorn's mental state and seems completely believable after the suffering they have endured.
Murtagh and Thorn have good hearts and want to be helpful in their own way. That is why despite warnings they go sniff out danger in the far north to discover who the witch, Baschel, and the dreamers are that seem to be infiltrating the land. As dragon and rider who have magic, they are overconfident in their ability to handle danger. Eragon received so much praise for his role in the war and Murtagh just can’t humble himself enough to alert Eragon of his plans or ask for backup. Therefore, when they are captured, tortured, and broken anew they have little hope for outside help.
The ending was a triumph and transformation of the chains that have held them back all their lives. It was also a bit ambiguous on whether we can expect a sequel. There is certainly room for more to write about the danger he has uncovered, but it could also be complete with how it ends. Overall, be prepared for a deep dive into Murtagh’s character in this epic continuation of the original series. Murtagh suffers greatly under torture so beware for sensitive readers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account