Reviews written by Connie Reid, Site Manager

184 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4 5 ... »
Ordering
November 27, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.3
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
Young Adult Fiction
The Kinder Poison

Zahru is low in status because of her magic. She is a “whisperer” to animals, which isn’t highly prized. Her friend, Hen, is on a path to glory with her ability so as a last hurrah they devise a plan to allow Zahru to sneak into the palace and...

November 22, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.3
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
Middle Grade Fiction
Mix of all your favorite fairytales

What I Loved: The first third of the book was a humorous juxtaposition of famous fairytales and silly situations. Jack doesn’t want to go on quests or rescue princesses like everyone else he knows. Then the sky opens up and a girl wearing a Princess of Punk t-shirt literally falls...

November 13, 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
Young Adult Fiction
Fabulous Continuation of the Series!

What I Liked: This fifth book in the Graceling Realm series starts seven weeks after the events in Winterkeep, where we came to know a little about Queen Bitterblue’s half-sister, Hava. We know that Hava’s grace is the ability to blend into her surroundings and that came in handy growing...

November 13, 2022 (Updated: November 13, 2022)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
Middle Grade Fiction
Timeless themes and relatable Characters

What I Loved: This book was about dragons and the world after their arrival destroyed everything and how you find your new normal. In many ways, this was more relatable than dragon books usually are to our real lives. Replace dragons with pandemic and there are many similarities. Noah’s family...

November 01, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.7
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
A Story that sticks with you past the last page!

What I Loved: This story takes place in mythical Orisha, but with the inspiration and roots in West Africa it feels very rich and established in culture. Zelie Adebola is a diviner forged in the injustices that her family has endured for having magic in her blood in a kingdom...

November 01, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot
 
3.0
Characters
 
3.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Grape learns to give others some grace

What I Liked: This is one sour grape that holds grudges against everyone. The grape used to be kind, considerate, and patient until no one came to the biggest birthday party ever. Those feelings turned him sour and with that barrier in place, no one has any space to be...

November 01, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.3
Plot
 
3.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Battle at the Highbrary

What I Liked: The talents are on the loose and that makes everything a bit more unpredictable with the Smedrys. Bastille is in a coma from her battle at Mokia and it is Alcatraz’s mission to infiltrate the Highbrary (Library of Congress) to find a cure for Bastille and stop...

October 26, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.7
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
N/A
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Kids Fiction
illustrations perfectly complemented the text

What I Liked: The fun rhyming led to a very engaging fast-paced alphabet read perfect for fans that love sharing Chicka Chicka Boom Boom with their class or own young children. The illustrations enhanced the text with wild and fun ABC kids getting ready for bed. The text didn’t always...

October 26, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.5
Plot
 
N/A
Characters
 
N/A
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Kids Fiction
Fun lighthearted counting book

This is a great book for fans of Roald Dahl and Quentin Blake. This is a silly counting book that young children will enjoy spotting the crocodile on every page. It isn’t very hard to spot but I can imagine the joy and giggles they will have when they successfully...

October 26, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.5
Plot
 
N/A
Characters
 
N/A
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Kids Fiction
Fans will enjoy the alphabet set in Dahl’s imaginative style

What I Liked: Fans of Roald Dahl and illustrator Quentin Blake will enjoy the alphabet set in Dahl’s imaginative style. I was impressed with the letter G which had “Great big Giant” that featured both sounds that G can make. Then I reached level K which was a bit disappointing...

October 26, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.5
Plot
 
N/A
Characters
 
N/A
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Kids Fiction
illustrations are delightful and the text is simple for young readers

What I Liked: Fans of Madeline will enjoy this ABC concept board book. The illustrations are delightful and the text is simple so that even the youngest of readers can sit and enjoy it. It gives a word for each letter of the alphabet. This fast pace works very well...

October 26, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.7
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
N/A
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
gentle story that a young toddler can relate to

What I Liked: This simple story of a young child getting ready to go outside and play on a cooler day is a very relatable everyday activity. The hat keeps being taken off and the child is helped to put it back on. As a parent, this happened many times....

October 26, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.3
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
Middle Grade Fiction
Hilarious Scenes mixed with important information

What I Liked: Teddy and his family are on vacation with JJ McCracken’s family and business team to visit a bison ranch close to Yellowstone National Park. This allows a fresh new scene for calamity with an animal twist to follow Teddy. One of the ranchers comes to Teddy about...

October 26, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.3
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Fun Holiday Read with Pinkalicious

What worked: Pinkalicious fans will enjoy this latest book. It’s the season of giving and everyone in her class has exchanged names. I appreciate that Pinkalicious crafts something for her friend when she sees her friend has spilled a drink on her clothes at lunch. The illustrations are bright and...

October 26, 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
N/A
Characters
 
N/A
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Putting Words to Big Feelings

What I Loved: This book is wonderful for the preschool or ELL crowd learning to put words to their feelings. The illustrations were simple but relatable. These would be so easy to act out or mimic the facial expressions as you are learning. Pre-K kids know the basic happy, mad,...

184 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4 5 ... »