Gallant

Gallant
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 01, 2022
ISBN
978-0062835772
Buy This Book
      
Everything casts a shadow. Even the world we live in. And as with every shadow, there is a place where it must touch. A seam, where the shadow meets its source.
#1 New York Times–bestselling author V. E. Schwab weaves a dark and original tale about the place where the world meets its shadow, and the young woman beckoned by both sides. The Secret Garden meets Crimson Peak in this stand-alone novel perfect for readers of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman.
Olivia Prior has grown up in Merilance School for Girls, and all she has of her past is her mother’s journal—which seems to unravel into madness. Then, a letter invites Olivia to come home to Gallant. Yet when Olivia arrives, no one is expecting her. But Olivia is not about to leave the first place that feels like home; it doesn’t matter if her cousin Matthew is hostile, or if she sees half-formed ghouls haunting the hallways.

Olivia knows that Gallant is hiding secrets, and she is determined to uncover them. When she crosses a ruined wall at just the right moment, Olivia finds herself in a place that is Gallant—but not. The manor is crumbling, the ghouls are solid, and a mysterious figure rules over all. Now Olivia sees what has unraveled generations of her family, and where her father may have come from.

Olivia has always wanted to belong somewhere, but will she take her place as a Prior, protecting our world against the Master of the House? Or will she take her place beside him?

New York Times–bestselling author V. E. Schwab crafts a vivid and lush novel that grapples with the demons that are often locked behind closed doors. An eerie, stand-alone saga about life, death, and the young woman beckoned by both. Readers of Neil Gaiman, Holly Black, Melissa Albert, and Garth Nix will quickly lose themselves in this novel with crossover appeal for all ages.

Editor review

1 review
haunting and atmospheric fantasy/horror
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
GALLANT is a haunting and absorbing YA fantasy/horror read. Olivia has spent most of her life in the Merilance School for Girls, where her mother left her with only a journal when she was two. Olivia has memorized the journal, but she does not understand what her mother had written. When she receives a summons to Gallant, the place her mother seemed to have warned against, Olivia cannot deny the pull towards a place that could be home.

When she gets to Gallant, Olivia cannot help but notice the mysterious wall, the ghouls that haunt the halls, and the cousin who does not want her there. The house has secrets, and Olivia begins to uncover another world with rising danger that threatens our own.

What I loved: This is such a consuming and haunting read. The writing pulls the reader in from the start and is steadily paced to keep them hooked throughout. The world-building is atmospheric and chilling, with descriptions of ghouls and Death that will give chills. This is a read that shifts reality. Olivia is a compelling character who has always longed for a place to belong and, like many teenagers, is trying to find their place in the world. Her journey is one that includes self-discovery and the search for family.

Themes around mistakes, family, legacy, devotion, dreams, the power of choice, the meaning of being free, and life/death that make this really intriguing. The role of the Prior family in Gallant and the way this has trickled down through the generations has some heavy consequences. Without giving any spoilers, there are thought-provoking themes around legacy, responsibility, and the inescapability of heritage and trauma.

The book includes interludes from the other side of Gallant as well as the journal that Olivia has from her mother. These add to the atmosphere and intrigue of the story in a unique way. The images are also hauntingly beautiful and included at just the right times in the book as well.

Final verdict: Atmospheric and chilling, GALLANT is a consuming YA fantasy that grips readers from the start and never lets them go. Highly recommend for fans of HORRID, WINTERSONG, and HOUSE OF SALT AND SORROWS.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account