Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1808
absolutely fantastic read
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE MERCIFUL CROW is a lush new fantasy unlike anything I have read before. In the kingdom of Sabor, people are born into castes named for birds. Fie is a 16-year-old Crow, destined to be a chief someday. Crows are the lowest caste, seen as lower than animals and needed but completely unvalued. While the other castes have Birthrights that give them special powers (e.g. Phoenixes have fire, Swans have desire), Crows are without any such Birthrights. The chiefs are bone witches, where using teeth can temporarily give them the powers of the former owner.

While everyone detests Crows, and some even hunt them in the night, Crows are necessary to fight the plague. The plague seems to be punishment for sinners, and Crows are immune. When someone is infected with the plague, they call the Crows to town to give them a mercy killing and to burn the body. If the Crows do not come, the whole town will soon be infected. The Crows are then paid viatik, a price which is appropriate for the caste and along the lines of what the people can afford.

The book starts with a bang- the Crows are attending to the plague in a higher caste area than usually would be infected. Soon, Fie learns that the dead are the crown prince, Jasimir, a Pheonix, and his guard and body double, Tavin, a Hawk. They faked their deaths to save Jasimir’s life from his stepmother, who is determined to kill everyone who stands in her way of the crown. Jasimir strikes a bargain with the Crows- they will help him get to safety with his allies, and he will then protect the Crows when takes the crown.

What follows is a dangerous and fantastic journey into the depths of this unique world.

What I loved: The world-building here is slow but strong. Everything is revealed organically without any knowledge dumps and it grows steadily throughout the book. The characters are equally strong with the tenacious Fie leading this marvelous cast. I was completely drawn into her story and loved seeing the world through her eyes. She is just amazing- clever, loving of her family, brave, and everything you want in a leading character. The romance that develops with her is simply beautiful, and I absolutely loved watching it grow throughout the story.

With danger, trickery, magic, and more, this book has everything you could want in a YA fantasy and then some. With the addition of social justice themes, this book becomes an even bigger story with some important messages. For instance, there are discussions not only of the way the Crows are treated and the hate they constantly see, but also of others’ privilege and how people begin to sympathize with them and motives behind such changes.

Final verdict: With fantastic writing, gorgeous storytelling and lush world building, THE MERCIFUL CROW is an unbelievably good read for YA fantasy lovers. I highly recommend for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Leah Bardugo.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Once Upon a Crime: Batman Tales
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Gotham City is filled with stories--of heroes and of villains,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With Joanie Stone's colorful illustrations and Allison Crotzer Kimmel's inspirational...
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The high price of perfection is one 'Perfect' Parker Fadley...
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
An action-packed and heartwarming story of a dog in the...
Bo the Brave
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A feisty little girl learns who the real monsters are...
Double Trouble!
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mischief is multiplied when twins are around! ...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to the...
The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Ever since they can remember, fifth-graders Kenzie (aka Kenzilla) and...
Nina Soni, Former Best Friend
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first title in a new series featuring a lovable,...
Nina Soni: Sister Fixer
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second title in a humorous series featuring a charming,...
The Alchemist's Shadow (Watch Hollow #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Having defeated the Garr, a vicious tree monster who lived...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of The...
Helen Keller: The World at Her Fingertips
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Helen Keller was a baby, she became sick and...
King and Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lovable dog helps his human girl solve a mystery....
Doodleville
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Drew is just a regular artist. But there's nothing ordinary...
Glitch
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the critically acclaimed author of Float comes a new...

Latest Member Reviews

Unblemished
 
4.0
"Keeping up with some of the special abilities was a bit tough. but an overall small shortcoming for a very..."
Unblemished
 
3.7
"A swift moving worlds-within-worlds urban fantasy, tinged with teenaged romance and insecurities aplenty. The tale is told from the..."
A Darker Shade of Magic (A Darker Shade of Magic #1)
 
4.3
""No London is truly without magic." I love this series! SO SO MUCH! There are so many instances of..."
A Darker Shade of Magic (A Darker Shade of Magic #1)
 
5.0
"As with most high fantasy, A Darker Shade of Magic starts slow and quiet, building a world that is like..."
A Gathering of Shadows (A Darker Shade of Magic #2)
 
4.7
"A Gathering of Shadows is a different beast from its predecessor, A Darker Shade of Magic. While the first book..."
Ten Thousand Skies Above You (Firebird #2)
 
4.7
"The second book in the Firebird series, Ten Thousand Skies Above You finds Marguerite, her family, and friends safe for..."
LINK (The Shadow of Light #1)
 
5.0
"LINK is the perfect blend of fantasy and sci-fi, without being too sciencey (READ: it doesn’t go into laborious detail..."
Everything That Makes You
 
4.3
"MY THOUGHTS This book was on of my most anticipated releases off the year, so I had high expectations. This..."
Everything That Makes You
 
3.7
"Fiona Doyle wears the scars of an accident from when she was young on her face. She writes songs, notebooks..."
A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird #1)
 
5.0
"MY THOUGHTS I've been wanting to read this book for a long, long time. I added it to my..."
Now That You're Here (Duplexity #1)
 
4.0
"Told in dual perspectives, NOW THAT YOU'RE HERE is the first book in a duology called "Duplexity" - in which..."
A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird #1)
 
4.7
"Marguerite Claine’s parents are physicists who have invented the Firebird, a way to allow its users into parallel universes. When..."
Dissonance (Dissonance #1)
 
3.7
"THE RUN-DOWN Delancy is part of a family of Walkers. As Walkers, they are able to travel to parallel..."
A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird #1)
 
2.0
"I really wanted to like A Thousand Pieces of You with a furious passion mostly because it would give a..."
Dissonance (Dissonance #1)
 
4.3
"Every time a person makes a choice, big or small, it creates a parallel world. Delancy Sullivan has been to..."
Dissonance (Dissonance #1)
 
4.0
"What I Liked: Despite the fact that Dissonance is almost five hundred pages, Dissonance kept my attention consistently. Considering that..."
White Space (The Dark Passages #1)
 
5.0
"When I saw The White Space up for review, I hit request as a reflex - I just HAD TO..."
Noughts & Crosses (Noughts & Crosses #1)
 
4.0
"I loved this book. The relationship between Sephy and Callum was so believable and sexy. I went out and grabbed..."
Noughts & Crosses (Noughts & Crosses #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Starstriker In "Noughts and Crosses"Â the dark-skinned crosses rule..."
Noughts & Crosses (Noughts & Crosses #1)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by co-chan There are much better books on racism than Noughts and Crosses. The..."