Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1993
A High Fantasy knockout by Chima.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Flamecaster is filled action, adventure, magic, dragons and a good dose of romance. I highly recommend this to fantasy lovers and fans already familiar with Chima’s work.
Good Points
This high-fantasy knockout is sure to surprise everyone; I was very quick to assume this would be similar to every other fantasy out there but it’s truly one of a kind with it’s strong character driven plot, it's extremely well paced writing; giving you time to get to know and actually connect with the characters and the vivid world building.

Flamecaster follows Ash and Jenna who live very different lives in two very different kingdoms but who have one common goal and that is to see the King of Arden’s head on a pike. Prince Ash is a famous healer posing as a pauper in order to seek his revenge and protect his family. Jenna was born with a magemark on her neck but she has no idea what it means but she soon becomes hunted and this strange mark will now cost her everything, including her life.

What I loved about Flamecaster is that there wasn’t a big focus on the romance, it was all plot and character driven, in fact Ash and Jenna don’t even meet until the latter half of the book. I feel the build up to Ash and Jenna’s eventual face-off was written perfectly.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

Blackthorn Winter: A Murder Mystery
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Tori This novel is fine, but there are a few errors here. For instance, it seems the..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Tori Phillips I like Reiss's books but this one almost made me throw it against the wall...."
Blackthorn Winter: A Murder Mystery
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Cleminetine Horn Kathryn has done a wonderful job with this thrilling, new book!This has..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Princess Angel Rose I loved this book. The girl who sits next to me in class..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by brenna this book was really good and i hate to read but i thought that this book..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Megan I liked this book because I love adventures. Usually I can just put down a book..."