It's live!! Cover Reveal: Vicarious by Paula Stokes + Giveaway (International)

It's live!! Cover Reveal: Vicarious by Paula Stokes + Giveaway (International)

Hello, YABCers!

Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for VICARIOUS by Paula Stokes, releasing August 2016 from Tor Teen. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Paula:

 
I am so excited to be here on YABC revealing the cover for VICARIOUS. This book has been the slowest of all my books as far as path to publication. I wrote it way back in 2012, but due to a variety of factors (finishing grad school, overlapping deadlines with my work-for-hire books, my option clause, etc.) it didn’t go out on sub until the end of 2013 and it’s not hitting the shelves until over four years after I started writing it. Having these characters in my brain for so long has made them incredibly real to me. I wanted a cover that did justice to their story and struggles, so what I asked for was a fierce-looking Korean model, the St. Louis skyline, and a dark, gritty futuristic feel. So basically this cover is everything I’ve ever dreamed of, and then some. Even the little things like the swirls of snow, the tilted horizon, and the fonts are perfect. I am so grateful to my editor Melissa Frain and the design team at Tor for coming up with this incredible cover art! I hope you love it as much as I do :)
 
~ Paula Stokes (VICARIOUS, Tor Teen)
 

 

 

Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

Here it is!

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_VICARIOUS-COVER-FINAL.jpg

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so others can enter Paula's giveaway. Thank you! ***

 

VICARIOUS

by Paula Stokes
Release date: August 2016
Publisher: Tor Teen
 
 
About the Book
 
Winter Kim and her sister, Rose, have always been inseparable. Together, the two of them survived growing up in a Korean orphanage and being trafficked into the United States.
 
Now they work as digital stunt girls for Rose’s ex-boyfriend, Gideon, engaging in dangerous and enticing activities while recording their neural impulses for his Vicarious Sensory Experiences, or ViSEs. Whether it’s bungee jumping, shark diving, or grinding up against celebrities at the city’s hottest dance clubs, Gideon can make it happen for you, for a price.
 
When Rose disappears and a ViSE recording of her murder is delivered to Gideon, Winter won’t rest until she finds her sister’s killer. But when the clues she uncovers conflict with the neural recordings her sister made, Winter isn’t sure what to believe. To find out what happened to Rose, she’ll have to untangle what’s real from what only seems real, risking her life in the process.
 
Great for fans of All Our Yesterdays, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and Inception, Vicarious is an unforgettable, action-packed, high-tech thriller.
 
 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Paula-Stokes-2-web-res.jpgAbout the Author

Paula Stokes grew up in St. Louis, Missouri where she studied psychology, education, and nursing. In between her degrees, she worked as an English teacher in Seoul, South Korea. Paula is the author of several books for teens, including Liars, Inc. She currently lives in Portland, Oregon.
 

Twitter | Web | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram

 

Giveaway Details

One winner will receive a signed ARC of VICARIOUS (when available). 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway
It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Cresswell Plot by El...
Meet the New Griffin Teen!

Related Posts

 

Comments 43

Already Registered? Login Here
Guest - Tasleema begum on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 12:08

Wow this book sounds awesome. The ViCE aspect sounds like such a cool concept. Really looking forward to this one!

0
Wow this book sounds awesome. The ViCE aspect sounds like such a cool concept. Really looking forward to this one!
Guest - Zachary Flye (website) on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 12:57

I've been wanting to read this book since Paula first told me about it! The cover is absolutely gorgeous and I love that they didn't white-wash the protagonist! I can't wait to read this futuristic murder mystery.

0
I've been wanting to read this book since Paula first told me about it! The cover is absolutely gorgeous and I love that they didn't white-wash the protagonist! I can't wait to read this futuristic murder mystery.
Guest - Ashley on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 13:16

That cover is awesome and the book sounds way different than anything I've read before. Can't wait to read it!

0
That cover is awesome and the book sounds way different than anything I've read before. Can't wait to read it!
Guest - Denise H (website) on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 13:50

Love the cover and looking forward to reading this book!

0
Love the cover and looking forward to reading this book!
Shannon Mizikoski (website) on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 18:31

I LOVE the synopsis of the book, and the cover is great- I love the pops of yellow, they draw my attention

0
I LOVE the synopsis of the book, and the cover is great- I love the pops of yellow, they draw my attention :)
Guest - danielle hammelef on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 18:40

I love the cover! I have never read or even heard of a book with this plot for YA, so I'm excited to read how you did it. I love mysteries and action and your book promises this and so much more.

0
I love the cover! I have never read or even heard of a book with this plot for YA, so I'm excited to read how you did it. I love mysteries and action and your book promises this and so much more.
Guest - Betul E. on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 18:43

The cover is BEAUTIFUL!! And the synopsis is awesome! cant wait to read this book!!

Betul E.

0
The cover is BEAUTIFUL!! And the synopsis is awesome! cant wait to read this book!! Betul E.
Guest - Tammy VanScoy on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 19:20

The cover is catchy. The story sounds very interesting. The idea of seeing her sister's murder is creepy. Inception is one of my favorite movies (Joseph Gordon Levitt heck yeah).

0
The cover is catchy. The story sounds very interesting. The idea of seeing her sister's murder is creepy. Inception is one of my favorite movies (Joseph Gordon Levitt heck yeah).
YABC (website) on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 20:46

Great cover. The model looks fierce! Sounds really interesting. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was the first thing that came to mind when I read the synopsis.

0
Great cover. The model looks fierce! Sounds really interesting. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was the first thing that came to mind when I read the synopsis.
Guest - raphaela p. (website) on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 20:53

beautiful.i am definately going to read this

0
beautiful.i am definately going to read this :D

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maia Tamarin proved her skill as a tailor when...
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kateiko doesn’t want to be Rin anymore —...

Latest Member Reviews

Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."
 
4.0
"NASA and the US space program are a direct result of the increases in aeronautical technology due to World War..."
Thurgood Marshall
 
5.0
"Born in 1908, Thurgood Marshall experienced an array of institutionalized racial injustices in his New York and Baltimore homes, even..."