It's live!! Cover Reveal: Vicarious by Paula Stokes + Giveaway (International)

It's live!! Cover Reveal: Vicarious by Paula Stokes + Giveaway (International)

Hello, YABCers!

Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for VICARIOUS by Paula Stokes, releasing August 2016 from Tor Teen. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Paula:

 
I am so excited to be here on YABC revealing the cover for VICARIOUS. This book has been the slowest of all my books as far as path to publication. I wrote it way back in 2012, but due to a variety of factors (finishing grad school, overlapping deadlines with my work-for-hire books, my option clause, etc.) it didn’t go out on sub until the end of 2013 and it’s not hitting the shelves until over four years after I started writing it. Having these characters in my brain for so long has made them incredibly real to me. I wanted a cover that did justice to their story and struggles, so what I asked for was a fierce-looking Korean model, the St. Louis skyline, and a dark, gritty futuristic feel. So basically this cover is everything I’ve ever dreamed of, and then some. Even the little things like the swirls of snow, the tilted horizon, and the fonts are perfect. I am so grateful to my editor Melissa Frain and the design team at Tor for coming up with this incredible cover art! I hope you love it as much as I do :)
 
~ Paula Stokes (VICARIOUS, Tor Teen)
 

 

 

Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

Here it is!

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_VICARIOUS-COVER-FINAL.jpg

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so others can enter Paula's giveaway. Thank you! ***

 

VICARIOUS

by Paula Stokes
Release date: August 2016
Publisher: Tor Teen
 
 
About the Book
 
Winter Kim and her sister, Rose, have always been inseparable. Together, the two of them survived growing up in a Korean orphanage and being trafficked into the United States.
 
Now they work as digital stunt girls for Rose’s ex-boyfriend, Gideon, engaging in dangerous and enticing activities while recording their neural impulses for his Vicarious Sensory Experiences, or ViSEs. Whether it’s bungee jumping, shark diving, or grinding up against celebrities at the city’s hottest dance clubs, Gideon can make it happen for you, for a price.
 
When Rose disappears and a ViSE recording of her murder is delivered to Gideon, Winter won’t rest until she finds her sister’s killer. But when the clues she uncovers conflict with the neural recordings her sister made, Winter isn’t sure what to believe. To find out what happened to Rose, she’ll have to untangle what’s real from what only seems real, risking her life in the process.
 
Great for fans of All Our Yesterdays, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and Inception, Vicarious is an unforgettable, action-packed, high-tech thriller.
 
 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Paula-Stokes-2-web-res.jpgAbout the Author

Paula Stokes grew up in St. Louis, Missouri where she studied psychology, education, and nursing. In between her degrees, she worked as an English teacher in Seoul, South Korea. Paula is the author of several books for teens, including Liars, Inc. She currently lives in Portland, Oregon.
 

Twitter | Web | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram

 

Giveaway Details

One winner will receive a signed ARC of VICARIOUS (when available). 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway
It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Cresswell Plot by El...
Meet the New Griffin Teen!

Related Posts

 

Comments 43

Already Registered? Login Here
Guest - Tasleema begum on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 12:08

Wow this book sounds awesome. The ViCE aspect sounds like such a cool concept. Really looking forward to this one!

0
Wow this book sounds awesome. The ViCE aspect sounds like such a cool concept. Really looking forward to this one!
Guest - Zachary Flye (website) on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 12:57

I've been wanting to read this book since Paula first told me about it! The cover is absolutely gorgeous and I love that they didn't white-wash the protagonist! I can't wait to read this futuristic murder mystery.

0
I've been wanting to read this book since Paula first told me about it! The cover is absolutely gorgeous and I love that they didn't white-wash the protagonist! I can't wait to read this futuristic murder mystery.
Guest - Ashley on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 13:16

That cover is awesome and the book sounds way different than anything I've read before. Can't wait to read it!

0
That cover is awesome and the book sounds way different than anything I've read before. Can't wait to read it!
Guest - Denise H (website) on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 13:50

Love the cover and looking forward to reading this book!

0
Love the cover and looking forward to reading this book!
Shannon Mizikoski (website) on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 18:31

I LOVE the synopsis of the book, and the cover is great- I love the pops of yellow, they draw my attention

0
I LOVE the synopsis of the book, and the cover is great- I love the pops of yellow, they draw my attention :)
Guest - danielle hammelef on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 18:40

I love the cover! I have never read or even heard of a book with this plot for YA, so I'm excited to read how you did it. I love mysteries and action and your book promises this and so much more.

0
I love the cover! I have never read or even heard of a book with this plot for YA, so I'm excited to read how you did it. I love mysteries and action and your book promises this and so much more.
Guest - Betul E. on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 18:43

The cover is BEAUTIFUL!! And the synopsis is awesome! cant wait to read this book!!

Betul E.

0
The cover is BEAUTIFUL!! And the synopsis is awesome! cant wait to read this book!! Betul E.
Guest - Tammy VanScoy on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 19:20

The cover is catchy. The story sounds very interesting. The idea of seeing her sister's murder is creepy. Inception is one of my favorite movies (Joseph Gordon Levitt heck yeah).

0
The cover is catchy. The story sounds very interesting. The idea of seeing her sister's murder is creepy. Inception is one of my favorite movies (Joseph Gordon Levitt heck yeah).
YABC (website) on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 20:46

Great cover. The model looks fierce! Sounds really interesting. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was the first thing that came to mind when I read the synopsis.

0
Great cover. The model looks fierce! Sounds really interesting. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was the first thing that came to mind when I read the synopsis.
Guest - raphaela p. (website) on Wednesday, 02 September 2015 20:53

beautiful.i am definately going to read this

0
beautiful.i am definately going to read this :D