The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Giveaway: Somebody Give This Heart A Pen (Sophia Thakur) ~ US/Can Only

0-2

Somebody Give This Heart A Pen (US/Can Only) by: Sophia Thakur Release Date: Septeber 8th, 2020 Publisher: Candlewick Press       About the Book    From acclaimed performance poet Sophia Thakur comes a stirring collection of coming-of-age poems exploring issues of identity, difference, perseverance, relationships, fear, loss, and joy. From...
Continue reading
  168 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: More Than Just a Pretty Face (Syed M. Masood)

42655335
About This Book: For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a sweetly funny YA rom-com debut about falling in love, familial expectations, and being a Renaissance Man. Danyal Jilani doesn't lack confidence. He may not be the smartest guy in the room, but he's funny, gorgeous, and going to make...
Continue reading
  157 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Some Kind Of Animal (Maria Romasco-Moore), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

48747246



Today we're excited to spotlight Some Kind Of Animal  by Maria Romasco-Moore.  Read on for more about Julie and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway!        Meet Maria Romasco-Moore !       Maria Romasco-Moore is the author of  Ghostographs,  a collection of short stories paired with vintage...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Zachary Snyder
Book looks interesting, like the cover!
Friday, 07 August 2020 12:36
  164 Hits
  1 Comment

Spotlight on The Black Kids (Christina Hammonds Reed), Guest Post, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

45800564._SY475_



Today we're excited to spotlight The Black Kids  by Christina Hammonds Reed.  Read on for more about Christina and her book, an guest post, plus an giveaway!        Meet Christina Hammonds Reed !      Christina Hammonds Reed holds an MFA from the University of Southern California’s School of Cinematic...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Zachary Snyder
Love this cover! Cant wait to read it!
Friday, 07 August 2020 12:38
  133 Hits
  1 Comment

Author Chat with Kurt Dinan (The Scam List)! Plus Excerpt & Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

5343136_20200805-231921_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Kurt Dinan author of The Scam List. Read on for more about Kurt and his book, plus a giveaway!     Meet Kurt Dinan !     I live and work in the suburbs of Cincinnati with my wife and four children. I've taught...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, love the cover!
Thursday, 06 August 2020 13:26
  208 Hits
  1 Comment

Author Chat with Amy Hest (The Summer We Found The Baby) Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

48637550._SX318_20200805-224524_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Amy Hest author of The Summer We Found The Baby. Read on for more about Amy and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet Amy Hest !            Amy Hest is the author of many beloved books for...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Zachary Snyder
Beautiful cover, but the title really reeled me in!
Thursday, 06 August 2020 13:27
  190 Hits
  1 Comment

Featured Review: The Hunt (The Twisted Kingdoms #1) (Frost Kay)

48574235._SY475_
About This Book: Death marked her from her very first breath. Being sired by a Madrid is supposed to be a blessing, but for Tempest, it's a curse that leaves her orphaned, penniless, and enslaved to a blood thirsty crown on the brink of war. Found too unruly to become a...
Continue reading
  206 Hits
  0 Comment

It’s Live! Cover Reveal: Rome Reframed by Amy Bearce + Giveaway (US Only)

ROME_COV_mksm-final-cover

Today we're excited to celebrate the cover reveal for  Rome Reframed by Amy Bearce, releasing 2/2/2021 from Jolly Fish Press! Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author: Hi YABC!  I’m so excited to be back with you to share the cover of Rome Reframed,  Book 2...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
The cover looks great, look forward to reading it!
Wednesday, 05 August 2020 13:12
Andrea Cerda
love the cover, I'm interested in reading this book it looks good!
Wednesday, 05 August 2020 14:36
  376 Hits
  2 Comments

Author Chat with Felicia Farber (Ice Queen), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US/Can Only)

Ice-Queen-Front-Cover-jp_20200805-151857_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Felicia Farber author of Ice Queen. Read on for more about Felicia and her book, an excerpt, plus a giveaway!       Meet Felicia Farber ! Felicia Farber is a writer and lawyer in New Jersey, but most importantly, a mom. Over the...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, love the cover!
Wednesday, 05 August 2020 11:53
Andrea Cerda
Love the cover, im interested in reading this book it looks good!
Wednesday, 05 August 2020 14:34
  268 Hits
  2 Comments

Featured Review: Court of Lions (Mirage #2) (Somaiya Daud)

38621113._SY475_
About This Book: Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final installment in the “smart, sexy, and devilishly clever” Mirage series by Somaiya Daud (Renée Ahdieh, New York Times bestselling author of The Beautiful)! On a planet on the brink of revolution, Amani has been forced into isolation. She’s been...
Continue reading
  238 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bread Lab!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s a sleepy Saturday morning for most people, but not...
A Thousand No's
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
This empowering picture book teaches readers that even great ideas...
Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death (Ronan Boyle, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The hilarious sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller,...
Sharko and Hippo
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
With tongue-twisty wordplay and escalating absurdity, this is a fall-down-funny...
The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A LOVE POEM FROM A FATHER TO HIS TWO SONS,...
The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kings become outcasts and lovers become foes in The Faithless...
Zora's Zucchini
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first zucchini of a summer garden is always exciting,...
Libby Loves Science
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Libby loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, a companion...
The Hidden Rainbow
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
All the colors of the rainbow are hidden in the...
The Places We Sleep
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A family divided, a country going to war, and a...
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Midwestern high school seniors and swim teammates Alli and Brandon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
True love has never been more deadly in this lush...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...

Latest Member Reviews

Bread Lab!
 
4.0
"BREAD LAB! is a cute picture book that walks through the steps of making sourdough bread through the eyes of..."
A Thousand No's
 
3.5
"A THOUSAND NO'S is a cute picture book about the way that feedback can change an idea. A girl has..."
Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death (Ronan Boyle, #2)
 
4.0
"RONAN BOYLE AND THE SWAMP OF CERTAIN DEATH is a comedic middle grade fantasy that features a young boy on..."
Sharko and Hippo
 
4.5
"SHARKO AND HIPPO is a clever and comical book about two best friends who are going fishing for the day...."
The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter
 
5.0
"THE THING ABOUT BEES: A LOVE LETTER is an informative and gorgeously illustrated picture book about bees. The book describes..."
The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow, #2)
 
5.0
"THE FAITHLESS HAWK is one of my favorite reads of 2020. I laughed, I sighed, I cried, and this book..."
Zora's Zucchini
 
5.0
"ZORA'S ZUCCHINI is a delightful picture book that explores growing vegetables and sharing with neighbors. Zora is a little bored..."
Libby Loves Science
 
4.5
"LIBBY LOVES SCIENCE is a cute picture book that brings a love of science to all the fun of ice..."
The Hidden Rainbow
 
5.0
"THE HIDDEN RAINBOW is a delightful picture book that combines counting, colors, and nature in a beautiful exploration. Each page..."
The Places We Sleep
 
5.0
"THE PLACES WE SLEEP is a moving middle grade historical that takes place around 9/11. The book is written entirely..."
Dating Makes Perfect
 
5.0
"DATING MAKES PERFECT is a beautifully written YA contemporary romance that had me grinning from ear-to-ear. Winnie has two older..."
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."