The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Featured Review: What Makes Us (Rafi Mittlefehldt)

43984190._SY475_
About This Book: A viral video reveals a teen’s dark family history, leaving him to reckon with his heritage, legacy, and identity in this fiery, conversation-starting novel. Eran Sharon knows nothing of his father except that he left when Eran was a baby. Now a senior in high school and living...
Continue reading
  28 Hits
  0 Comment

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ October 21st, 2019

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads



Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  64 Hits
  0 Comment

The letter of the day is S: Recommendations for YA Contemporary Novels with Titles that Start with S.










S is for solid plots and storytelling. All the titles we're recommending have both and then some. Below are 8 of our favorite books that start with the letter S.   1 . Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen [yabookscentral.com] Scarlett Epstein Hates it Here by Anna  [yabookscentral.com] Breslaw [yabookscentral.com] Shuffle Repeat Jen...
Continue reading
Tags:
  53 Hits
  0 Comment

Kings, Queens, Princes, & Princesses: Royal Novels to Feed Your Need For All Things Royal While You Wait for Kierra Cass's new novel: 'The Bethrothed.'













Royalty, Royalty, Royalty: Kings, Queens, and everything in between—we love a good royal YA. From the conventional to the unconventional royal liege, YA royal stories are really exciting. We've picked 12 of our favorites to share with you. Pick one up today!   Truly Madly Royally by Debbie Rigaud [yabookscentral.com] 2.American Royals...
Continue reading
Tags:
  56 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Into The Crooked Place (Alexandra Christo)

36571337
About This Book: Into the Crooked Place  begins a gritty two-book YA fantasy series from Alexandra Christo, the author of  To Kill a Kingdom . The streets of Creije are for the deadly and the dreamers, and four crooks in particular know just how much magic they need up their sleeve...
Continue reading
  300 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: Heart Of The Moors: An Original Maleficent: Mistress Of Evil Novel (Holly Black) ~ (US Only)

Image result for heart of the moors holly black

Heart Of The Moors: An Original Maleficent: Mistress Of Evil Novel (US Only) by: Holly Black Release Date: October 8th, 2019 Publisher: Disney Book Group     About the Book: From New York Times bestselling author Holly Black comes a captivating original novel set between Disney's Maleficent and Maleficent: Mistress of...
Continue reading
  387 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Perfectly Oblivious (Robin Daniels)

35276925._SY475_
About This Book: Cameron Bates (Cam) could have almost any girl at Franklin High School…except for the one he wants. Unfortunately Bebe seems to be immune to his flirty charm and good looks, which means one of two things: a) she’s completely oblivious to how he feels, or b) she’s just...
Continue reading
  229 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with The Never Tilting World (Rin Chupeco), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

36321739



  Today we're excited to chat with Rin Chupeco author of The Never Tilting World.  Read on for more about Rin and her book, plus an giveaway!          Meet Rin Chupeco!       Website   *  Twitter *  Instagram       Meet The Never Tilting World...
Continue reading
  320 Hits
  0 Comment

It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: The Fantastical Exploits of Gwendolyn Gray by B.A. Watson + Giveaway (US Only)

YABC-cover-reveal-green

Today we're excited to celebrate the cover reveal for  THE FANTASTICAL EXPLOITS OF GWENDOLYN GRAY by B.A. Watson, releasing April 28, 2020 from Jolly Fish Press/North Star Editions! Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author: Hi YABCers! It can be gauche to brag about one's work,...
Continue reading
  376 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: By Any Means Necessary (Candice Montgomery)

40651526._SY475_
About This Book: An honest reflection on cultural identify, class, and gentrification. Fans of Nic Stone and Elizabeth Acevedo will eagerly anticipate Torrey. On the day Torrey officially becomes a college freshman, he gets a call that might force him to drop out before he’s even made it through orientation: the...
Continue reading
  245 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serious Moonlight
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After an awkward first encounter, Birdie and Daniel are forced...
Sway
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kat Spears’s hilarious and often poignant debut, high school...
Scarlet Epstein Hates it Here
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Scarlett Epstein, BNF (Big Name Fan) in her online...
The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Renée Ahdieh returns with...
The End and Other Beginnings: Stories from the Future
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling Divergent and Carve the Mark author Veronica Roth...
Colliding Skies
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Since Skye Reilly can remember, she has been looking...
What Makes Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A viral video reveals a teen’s dark family history,...
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becks: How does a straight guy accidentally come out...
Take the Mic: Fictional Stories of Everyday Resistance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young adult anthology featuring fictional stories of everyday...
Dog and Rabbit
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A funny, sweet story of unrequited friendship from the creator...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lena and Campbell aren't friends. ...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The youngest doctor in America, an Indian-American teen makes her...
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finding out my mother was taken by the demons was...
Sick Kids in Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isabel has one rule: no dating. It’s easier―...
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Seven hundred years in the future, a powerful alien...
Perfectly Oblivious
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Cameron Bates (Cam) could have almost any girl at...

Latest Member Reviews

The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
5.0
"I’m not going to lie….I read The Burning Shadow in two days. It could’ve been one sitting if my eyelids..."
The Grace Year
 
5.0
"It’s been one week since I finished The Grace Year by Kim Liggett as I sit down to start this..."
Dog and Rabbit
 
5.0
"DOG AND RABBIT is a charming tale of friendship. Told in four parts, the book introduces Dog and then Rabbit...."
 
4.3
"I started out reading an ARC of Symptoms of a Heartbreak, but then I switched to reading a hardcover in..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"If you read the first series, Redefining Me, you got a glimpse at these characters and probably love them just..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
4.3
"I’m going to start out this post by letting it be known by all and sundry that I was provided..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
5.0
"SICK KIDS IN LOVE is a beautiful story about love- as well as invisible illness/disability AND NOBODY DIES! (I do..."
Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky (Tristan Strong #1)
 
5.0
"I never wanted to be a superhero as a child, but I wanted to do heroic things. Tristan Strong epitomizes..."
The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LIGHT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE WORLD is a compelling and atmospheric YA fantasy/science fiction. In the future, the..."
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
"If you adored FROZEN, you need to get your hands on this Twisted Tale which reimagines the story if Anna..."
The End and Other Beginnings: Stories from the Future
 
4.0
"THE END AND OTHER BEGINNINGS is the latest from DIVERGENT author, Veronica Roth. The novel is comprised of six YA..."
Bernard Pepperlin
 
4.0
"Bernard Pepperlin is the doormouse from Alice in Wonderland. After being forced into a teapot, Bernard climbs out to find..."
The Bookworm Crush
 
5.0
"THE BOOKWORM CRUSH is an absolutely charming romantic comedy with all sorts of booklover homages. Amy McIntyre is @redheadrecs and..."
Scared Little Rabbits
 
3.0
"SCARED LITTLE RABBITS follows Nora (aka Eleanor, Lowercase) as she sets out on a summer camp adventure that resulted in..."
A Constellation of Roses
 
5.0
"A CONSTELLATION OF ROSES is a beautiful story of familial love and healing. Trix has been trying to make her..."
The Squatchicorns: A Delightful Read
 
4.0
"In this chapter book, The Squatchicorns by Ellen Potter, the third book in a series about a friendship between a..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"'Dating My Best Friend' (former title: 'The F Word') by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven delves deeply into themes..."
The Cook and the King
 
4.0
"'The Cook and the King' by Julia Donaldson, illustrated by David Roberts, is a cute story that shows how working..."
Santa Mouse
 
4.5
"SANTA MOUSE is a cute rhyme about a mouse who did not have a name but does have a special..."
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0
"Pawns by Patrick Hodges is the first book in the Wielders of Arantha series. Complex and creative don’t begin to..."