The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Featured Review: Fae's Prisoner (Melissa A. Craven and M. Lynn)

41vbSQxX5oL._SX322_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Griffin O’Shea is a traitor. It’s what those outside the prison realm called him when he chose the wrong side in the war of the fae queens. Now, he is the only person in the entire fae world who remembers his dark deeds. The moment Griffin crossed into...
Continue reading
  92 Hits
  0 Comment

It's Live! Cover Reveal + Giveaway (US Only): Enduring Freedom by Trent Reedy & Jawad Arash

Awash_Reedy_EnduringFreedom_HC_finalComp_rgb_HR--header

Today we're excited to celebrate the cover reveal for  Enduring Freedom by Jawad Arash and Trent Reedy, out 5/18/2021 from Algonquin Young Readers! Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the authors: The soldier on the cover of Enduring Freedom reminds me of the first American I ever...
Continue reading
  216 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Mirror: Broken Wish (Julie C. Dao)

51SVnQdpOEL._SX327_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Sixteen-year-old Elva has a secret. She has visions and strange powers that she will do anything to hide. She knows the warnings about what happens to witches in their small village of Hanau. She's heard the terrible things people say about the Witch of the North Woods, and...
Continue reading
  155 Hits
  0 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday ~ October 28, 2020

b2ap3_large_unnamed




Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.     *Lillian’s Choice* (YABC Staff Reviewer)    Fae’s Promise Author:  M. Lynn & Melissa A. Craven Expected publication:  unknown Griffin O’Shea is trapped. Again. His prison...
Continue reading
  173 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Warriors of Wing and Flame (Sara B. Larson)

51bgw2XSRGL._SX320_BO1204203200_
About This Book: In Warriors of Wing and Flame, the spellbinding sequel to Sisters of Shadow and Light, acclaimed author Sara B. Larson continues her timeless tale of the bond between two sisters and the powerful magic that threatens to tear them apart forever. The doorway between the magical world of...
Continue reading
  214 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Tom Durwood (The Illustrated Boatman's Daughter) Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

0-_20201026-233253_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Tom Durwood author of The Illustrated Boatman's Daughter. Read on for more about Tom and his book, plus a giveaway!       Meet Tom Durwood ! Tom Durwood is a teacher, writer and editor with an interest in history.  Tom most recently taught...
Continue reading
  208 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on How The Multiverse Got Its Revenge (K.Eason), Guest Post, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

0-_20201026-213123_1


A picture containing dragon, the top of a castle tower, with a green sky.

Description automatically generated

Today we're excited to spotlight How The Multiverse Got Its Revenge  by K. Eason.  Read on for more about K Eason and their book, an guest post, plus an giveaway!        Meet Annie Sullivan ! K. Eason  is a lecturer at the University of California, Irvine, where she and...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Zachary Snyder
Book sounds great, love the cover design.
Tuesday, 27 October 2020 11:27
  222 Hits
  1 Comment

What's New In YA ~ October 27th, 2020

b2ap3_large_whats-new-logo


Two sisters. One brutal murder. A quest for vengeance that will unleash Hell itself… And an intoxicating romance. Emilia and her twin sister Vittoria are streghe – witches who live secretly among humans, avoiding notice and persecution. One night, Vittoria misses dinner service at the family’s renowned Sicilian restaurant. Emilia soon...
Continue reading
  189 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Among the Beasts and Briars (Ashley Poston)

51y7KoZld2L
About this Book: Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns with a dark, lush fairy tale–inspired fantasy for fans of Sara Raasch and Susan Dennard. Cerys is safe in the Kingdom of Aloriya. Here there are no droughts, disease, or famine, and peace is everlasting. It has been this...
Continue reading
  222 Hits
  0 Comment

Rockstar Book Tours, Excerpt & Giveaway: Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor #3) (Jessica Townsend) ~ (US Only)

0-8





  I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the HOLLOWPOX: THE HUNT FOR MORRIGAN CROW by Jessica Townsend Blog Tour hosted by  Rockstar Book Tours . Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway! About The Book: Title:  HOLLOWPOX: THE HUNT FOR MORRIGAN CROW (Nevermoor, #3)...
Continue reading
  117 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Instant Karma
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
In New York Times bestselling author Marissa Meyer's young adult...
Put Yourself in My Shoes
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Cricket goes for a walk, he finds Ladybug searching...
Selma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Selma is asked: What is happiness? ...
Benjamin's Blue Feet
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young bird with a flair for discovery and invention...
Pocket Piggies: I Love You!
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
What’s the best thing in the world? I...
Everything Under the Sun
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sun’s Reach is in dire peril. The last...
Lizzy Albright and the Attic Window
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lizzy Albright, a red-headed, freckle-faced girl from Overland Park, Kansas,...
Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There are worse things than death. ...
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When the earth was new, words had the power to...
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Elephant is always ready and willing to share her prized...
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dictionary as narrator? YES! ...
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Morrigan battles a new evil as a strange, frightening illness...
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* From New York...
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An atlas of the most extreme meteorological and geological disasters...
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns...

Latest Member Reviews

Instant Karma
 
3.7
"INSTANT KARMA is an overall charming YA contemporary. Prudence is finishing tenth grade and completely fed up with her biology..."
Put Yourself in My Shoes
 
4.0
"PUT YOURSELF IN MY SHOES is a cute picture book about empathy and friendship. Cricket is going on a walk..."
Selma
 
4.0
"SELMA is a simple book that seeks to tackle a complex topic- what is happiness? The answer goes back to..."
Benjamin's Blue Feet
 
4.0
"BENJAMIN'S BLUE FEET is a picture book that deals with body image and insecurity. Benjamin is a blue-footed booby and..."
Pocket Piggies: I Love You!
 
4.5
"POCKET PIGGIES: I LOVE YOU! is another adorable collection of photographs of real pocket pigs. Each page features a short..."
Sting Magic
 
4.8
"What a start to the series! Sting Magic by Sarah K.L. Wilson is a fantastic, quick read that takes you..."
Kingdom of the Wicked
 
4.3
"Thrills and chills abound in Kerri Maniscalco‘s new release Kingdom of the Wicked. I don’t know where to start! This..."
Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
"SEND ME THEIR SOULS is a gut-wrenching finale to a fantastic YA fantasy series. In this third book, we begin..."
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
"THE WALRUS AND THE CARIBOU is a delightful picture book that captures Indigenous folklore about the creation of animals. Guk..."
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
"THE ELEPHANT'S UMBRELLA is a picture book with great illustrations and a moral of kindness. The elephant has a special..."
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
"CALVIN GETS THE LAST WORD is a cute picture book told from the perspective of Calvin's beloved dictionary. He is..."
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
"GOBLIN KING is a much faster-paced and action-packed YA fantasy sequel. Janneke has taken the mantle of the stag, though..."
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
"HOLLOWPOX is an engaging middle grade fantasy that takes the reader on a magical journey to the Wundrous Society. Morrigan..."
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
"Earth-Shattering Events by Robin Jacobs is a wonderfully thought-out book that details different natural disasters: what they are, how we..."
Gut Garden: A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome
 
4.7
"Gut Garden by Katie Brosnan is a well-thought out journey through our digestive system, introducing kids to the bacteria and..."
ICK! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses
 
5.0
"National Geographic Kids is always sure to be a winner at my house. Their newest release has been deemed the..."
Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct: Real Facts About Real Dinosaurs
 
4.3
"Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct by Drew Sheneman is a short, illustrated nonfiction book introducing children to one of the more..."
Swamp Thing: Twin Branches
 
4.3
"SWAMP THING: TWIN BRANCHES is a graphic novel about finding yourself, remembering history, and forging your own path forward. Alec..."
The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
"BROKEN WISH is a beautifully composed fairytale. The book begins with the story of Mathilda and Agnes, neighbors who have..."
How to Catch a Yeti
 
5.0
"HOW TO CATCH A YETI is a delightful picture book about a group of children who, as the title implies,..."