The Book of Living Secrets

Featured
The Book of Living Secrets
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 08, 2022
ISBN
9780062941428
Buy This Book
      
Perfect for fans of The Hazel Wood, this genre-bending page-turner from New York Times bestselling author Madeleine Roux follows two girls who transport themselves into the world of their favorite book only to encounter the sinister alternate reality that awaits them.

No matter how different best friends Adelle and Connie are, one thing they’ve always had in common is their love of a little-known gothic romance novel called Moira. So when the girls are tempted by a mysterious stranger to enter the world of the book, they hardly suspect it will work. But suddenly they are in the world of Moira, living among characters they’ve obsessed about for years.

Except…all is not how they remembered it. The world has been turned upside down: The lavish balls and star-crossed love affairs are now interlaced with unspeakable horrors. The girls realize that something dark is lurking behind their foray into fiction—and they will have to rewrite their own arcs if they hope to escape this nightmare with their lives.

Editor review

1 review
Lovecraftian horror with a twist
Overall rating
 
3.0
Plot
 
3.0
Characters
 
3.0
Writing Style
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
Adelle and Connie, polar opposite best friends, share a love for a rare gothic romance novel. Adelle loves to get lost in the romance of the hero and the aesthetics. Connie is enamored with the fiery heroine. When they are given the option to transport themselves into the story, they take it, largely doubting it will work. When it does succeed, however, the world of their favorite novel is not what they thought. Horrors have found their way into the world of romance and nothing is as it should be. Teaming up with secondary characters they never gave much thought to, Connie and Adelle will have to figure out exactly what's going on if they want to survive long enough to get home.

THE BOOK OF LIVING SECRETS is a delightfully weird story. It's a bit portal fantasy, a bit horror, and a bit mystery. At the heart of the story, past the tentacled monster, is a story about friendship. Adelle and Connie have very different personalities. Adelle is sort of Gothic romantic, while Connie is athletic and sensible. When they enter the world of the novel, they are separated, and there are several instances where it would have been so easy (and once or twice, maybe even smarter) to leave the other person behind. Connie and Adelle continuously fight for each other and show their loyalty again and again. I love the power of their relationship as they find their individual paths.

While I loved the weird and the monsters, it was difficult to understand exactly what was happening at times. Particularly after the epilogue, I'm not sure we're ever given much explanation behind the horror or what it all means. I kept wanting the story to dig a little deeper and explore a little further.

Overall, THE BOOK OF LIVING SECRETS is perfect for lovers of weird fiction who want something strange and unexpected.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account