Sir Ladybug

Sir Ladybug
Publisher
Age Range
6+
Release Date
March 29, 2022
ISBN
978-0063069060
Buy This Book
      
From Caldecott Honoree and two-time Geisel Award–winning author-illustrator Corey R. Tabor, this is a fresh and funny young graphic novel series sure to delight readers. Perfect for fans of Catwad, Bird & Squirrel, and Narwhal & Jelly.
Ladies and gentlebugs, presenting the duke of the dandelion patch, champion of truth and justice, the one, the only—Sir Ladybug!

Sir Ladybug never shies away from a quest, even when he’d rather be playing a video game or baking a cake. So when a caterpillar needs rescuing from a “monster” (a hungry chickadee), Sir Ladybug and his trusty friends—his herald, a roly-poly named Pell, and his squire, a snail named Sterling—hatch the perfect (delicious) plan.

This is the first in a new graphic novel series for newly independent readers, following the adventures of a ladybug knight and his pals in the dandelion patch.

Woven seamlessly into this funny and surprising story are the themes of friendship, bravery, teamwork, creative thinking, and helping others. With warmth and heart, surprising and delightful asides, and memorable cast of characters, this new series will appeal to avid and reluctant readers alike.

Editor review

1 review
Adorable Graphic Novel About Adventure and Bravery
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Sir Ladybug will take on any adventure and quest, but he doesn't always like to be the center of attention. His friend Pell on the other hand isn't brave enough for a quest, but can speak in front of any crowd. Their last friend is a snail named Sterling who provides the living quarters for the group.

When a bird attacks, trying to find its next meal, Sir Ladybug steps in to save the day. But the bird is still hungry. While the others view him as a monster, Sir Ladybug understands that he's just hungry and there's one thing that always fixes a problem like this. His famous lemon cake! While the bird is reluctant to eat it, his views quickly change after one bite.

SIR LADYBUG is a middle-grade graphic novel all about adventure and friendship. It also teaches children that monster is a relative term which is a unique message that should be seen more often. Different doesn't mean bad but I love how they find an alternative to the bird's diet that doesn't involve the pop little worm being eaten. The illustrations are simply adorable and this is a graphic novel both my daughter and I enjoyed together.


Final Verdict: This is a cute story that I would recommend to fans of graphic novels, bugs, stories of bravery, and adventure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account