Elmer and the Talent Show

 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
417 0
Elmer and the Talent Show
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
6+
Release Date
February 22, 2022
ISBN
978-1534482616
Buy This Book
      
Inspired by a real dog from Danny & Ron’s Rescue from the popular documentary, Life in the Doghouse, this first book in a sweet chapter book series follows an old dachshund who forms an unlikely friendship with the boy in his new family—a great fit for fans of Bruce Cameron’s Puppy Tales series

Elmer is a small dog with a big personality living at Danny and Ron’s rescue. He wants nothing more than for someone to become his forever family. But as an older dog with a floppy tongue that doesn’t stay in his mouth, it seems like he never fits the families’ idea of the perfect pet.

Benny’s family just moved (again), and what he wants are friends. So, when his parents announce they are getting a dog, he’s so excited to show it off—until they come home with a funny-looking older dachshund. To make matters worse, his parents have signed them up for a pet training course that will end with a big talent show in front of a crowd of strangers.

Thrown together, Elmer and Benny learn that the perfect best friend might be different than they imagined—but even better than they’d hoped.

Editor reviews

2 reviews
Heartwarming Story About a Dog Finding His Family
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
ELMER AND THE TALENT SHOW by Danny Robertson & Ron Danta is the first in their children's book series inspired by real life rescue dogs. Here we meet Elmer, a ten year old dachshund who was severely mistreated and neglected by his former owners. Multiple surgeries later, Elmer doesn't look like other dogs, his tongue sticks out the side of his mouth, he needs special food, and he is anxious in new situations. However, Elmer loves to play and hopes to one day find his forever home. When the Cruz family moves to town, Elmer becomes a new member of their family.

What I Loved:
This is such a sweet story. I loved how it was told from Elmer's perspective. It gives the reader a new look on what we as humans do on a daily basis. Elmer's anxiety in new situations is relatable to kids who may also feel anxiety around strangers or when their routine is disrupted. It shows how he copes with it and how he adjusts to his new family. Seeing Elmer's actions through his eyes and understanding the reason behind those actions will help readers develop empathy towards their own animals and friends.

I also loved that the writers are rescue owners and that this story is based on a dog from their rescue. What they do is not easy, however how it is shown in the story will encourage young readers to learn more. Benny's initial reluctance at his parents bringing Elmer home when he was expecting a puppy is true to life. Yet how Benny bonds with the older dog is special.

Final Thoughts: ELMER AND THE TALENT SHOW is a heartwarming story about an old dog learning new tricks and finding his fur-ever family in the process.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
First book in Danny and Ron's Rescue series
Overall rating
 
4.3
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Benny’s father is a writer, and his mother is in the military, so they move frequently. Benny has had a hard time fitting in with his classmates, and his parents think it would help if he had a dog. They go to Danny and Ron’s rescue, and Benny has his heart set on a German Shepherd puppy, although Elmer, a ten year old dachshund who was badly neglected and whose tongue sticks out because of a broken jaw, has his heart set on this family to adopt him. When the parents come back to get the puppy, they see Elmer and are moved enough by his story that they bring him home. Benny is a bit reluctant, but bonds with the dog. The parents enrol the two in a dog agility class so that Benny can meet other children, and he gets along well with the outgoing and enthusiastic Kitts, whose dog, Coda, helps Elmer with some of the tasks in class. Unfortunately, the boys at school whom Benny would like to befriend make fun of Kitts, and Benny stands by and doesn’t stick up for her. The two manage to make up, and work with Elmer to help him participate in an agility competition.
Good Points
Since I adopted my dog Pongo when he was ten, I am a softie for any story that encourages readers to look at older dogs before they adopt or buy a puppy. Benny’s apprehension is understandable, but I liked how realistically the story unfolded, and how he found many things to like about Elmer. This story is based on a real case, and on a real rescue organization, Danny and Ron’s Rescue. (https://www.dannyronsrescue.org/)

This is too young for my students, but is an excellent choice for fans of Miles’ Puppy Place books, Barkley and Bishop’s Tracy Critter Club, or Stier’s A Dog’s Day books. It's a good length for newly independent readers who want more of a challenge, and has lots of good information about dog training.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account