Meet Our Editors: Megan Kelly

There are several Editors (staff reviewers or Review Ninjas, if you will) at Young Adult Books Central, and they all have their own taste in books. While one might give a certain book 5 stars, another might only give it 3. We like that kind of diversity here, because we know every reader is different. Every reader's opinion is valid.

But we also know it's helpful to read reviews by those who share your same interests, especially when you're looking for recommendations.

So which YABC Staff Reviewer has your taste in books? Find out in this new blog series, Meet Our Editors! Each week, I'll be spotlighting one of our editors. When you find one that shares your same taste in books, movies, TV, even food, then make sure to check out the books that editor has reviewed favorably.  

See how it works? Great! 

~~~~~

First up, I did a Fast Faves interview with Kim Baccellia, who has been with YABC the longest. 

Second was a Fast Faves interview with our newest editor, Christina Franke

Then we did a Fast Faves interview with CJ Redwine

~~~~~

This week's Editor is Megan Kelly, who just recently became our first international reviewer when she embarked on an adventure teaching out of the country. She's been with YABC for a few years now, and I always look forward to reading her reviews. She has a fabulous knack for organizing her thoughts in concise and lovely ways, and she has a passion and hunger for life and teaching that I have yet to see equalled. She also knows how to have a good time, as you can see in the photo below. Ha! Thank you, Megan, for being a part of the YABC Team!

uniform

Tell us a little about yourself, Megan.

I started reviewing books so that I could make better recommendations to my middle school students. Three years later, I can't read a book without reviewing it! I have lived and traveled all over the world, and my list of places to go grows each day. I'm an expert movie-quoter, intermediate baker, and beginning salsa dancer.
 

Which types of books are your favorites to read/review? 

I love reading young adult novels, graphic novels, and novels in verse. Bonus point if it's written as a diary or letter.
 
 
Which types of books do you hate to read?

Where the Red Fern Grows aside, I can't stand animal books. I'm not a big fan of reading about war, religion, or nonfiction.
 
 
What do you think about writing negative reviews?
 
The primary reason I review is so that I can remember my thoughts about a book so I can recommend it to a student. If my feelings are negative, I'm going to put it out there. I know that just because a book isn't right for me, doesn't mean it isn't right for you...
 
 
Why are reviews important to share online?
 
I don't know a ton of adults who love YA literature as much as I do, so the internet is where I find people who share my interests and want to gush about Sharon Flake or John Green.
 
 
 

Now it's time for Fast Faves with Megan! 

 

~ Movies ~
 
Most loved –  Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (the old one)

Most hated – Practical Magic

Haven’t seen, and probably won't – Any important war movie

Can recite by heart – Zoolander

Wish more people had seen it – I'm sure plenty of people saw it, but I keep wanting to laugh about 21 Jump Street with people and never get any takers.

 
 
 
~ Books From Childhood ~
 

Most loved – A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, Wait Til Helen Comes

Most hated – Anything about horses or dogs

Haven’t read, but probably should – Most classics (Bad English teacher!)

Can remember where you were when you first read it – The Handmaids Tale (not really childhood)

Wish more people had read it – The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle

 
 
 
~ Foods ~
 

Most loved - Pizza, mangoes

Most hated – Kimchi

Haven’t eaten, but probably should – a steak

Would eat anytime, anywhere – pizza again

 
 
 
~ TV Shows ~
 
Most loved – Parks and Recreation
 
 
 
~ Items in Your Closet ~
 

Most loved – I wear boots every day...it's cold in Bogota!

Most hated – I move around a lot, so I don't keep anything I don't love.

Haven’t worn in forever, probably should throw it out – see above

Why do I have so many – socks?

 
 
 
~ Life ~
 

Best moment/memory - Too many to count...today was great!

Worst/most embarrassing moment - my first phone call with a boy

Haven't accomplished yet, but one day I'll - run a bookmobile in Haiti

Childhood toy you'll never get rid of - my brother

Wish I had more time for this guilty pleasure - I make time for all my guilt pleasures!

 
 
 
To read Megan's book reviews and see her favorite books list, check out her profile here.

Email Megan: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

So? How much do you have in common with Megan? Let us know in the comments. And stay tuned next week for another editor interview!

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Cover Reveal: Control by Lydia Kang + Giveaway (In...
Cover Reveal: Summer Ruins by Trisha Leigh + Givea...

Related Posts

 

Comments 4

Christina Franke, Staff on Wednesday, 23 January 2013 15:14

Parks and Rec! YES! I may or may not be completely in love with Ben.

0
Parks and Rec! YES! I may or may not be completely in love with Ben. :)
YABC on Thursday, 24 January 2013 20:19

I LOVE Ben. He's such a hot nerd. ;-)

0
I LOVE Ben. He's such a hot nerd. ;-)
Anatea on Friday, 25 January 2013 17:46

Oh, I loved 21 Jump Street!!

0
Oh, I loved 21 Jump Street!!
YABC on Tuesday, 29 January 2013 16:29

Hi, I would love to offer copies of my book, Writing Fiction: A Hands-On Guide for Teens as a giveaway. Please let me know how to go about it.
Thanks.
Heather

0
Hi, I would love to offer copies of my book, Writing Fiction: A Hands-On Guide for Teens as a giveaway. Please let me know how to go about it. Thanks. Heather

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.8
"Readers will find 'Challenge Accepted' by Amanda Abram hard to put down. Her writing style perfectly captures teenage life, from..."