Meet Our Editors: Megan Kelly

There are several Editors (staff reviewers or Review Ninjas, if you will) at Young Adult Books Central, and they all have their own taste in books. While one might give a certain book 5 stars, another might only give it 3. We like that kind of diversity here, because we know every reader is different. Every reader's opinion is valid.

But we also know it's helpful to read reviews by those who share your same interests, especially when you're looking for recommendations.

So which YABC Staff Reviewer has your taste in books? Find out in this new blog series, Meet Our Editors! Each week, I'll be spotlighting one of our editors. When you find one that shares your same taste in books, movies, TV, even food, then make sure to check out the books that editor has reviewed favorably.  

See how it works? Great! 

~~~~~

First up, I did a Fast Faves interview with Kim Baccellia, who has been with YABC the longest. 

Second was a Fast Faves interview with our newest editor, Christina Franke

Then we did a Fast Faves interview with CJ Redwine

~~~~~

This week's Editor is Megan Kelly, who just recently became our first international reviewer when she embarked on an adventure teaching out of the country. She's been with YABC for a few years now, and I always look forward to reading her reviews. She has a fabulous knack for organizing her thoughts in concise and lovely ways, and she has a passion and hunger for life and teaching that I have yet to see equalled. She also knows how to have a good time, as you can see in the photo below. Ha! Thank you, Megan, for being a part of the YABC Team!

uniform

Tell us a little about yourself, Megan.

I started reviewing books so that I could make better recommendations to my middle school students. Three years later, I can't read a book without reviewing it! I have lived and traveled all over the world, and my list of places to go grows each day. I'm an expert movie-quoter, intermediate baker, and beginning salsa dancer.
 

Which types of books are your favorites to read/review? 

I love reading young adult novels, graphic novels, and novels in verse. Bonus point if it's written as a diary or letter.
 
 
Which types of books do you hate to read?

Where the Red Fern Grows aside, I can't stand animal books. I'm not a big fan of reading about war, religion, or nonfiction.
 
 
What do you think about writing negative reviews?
 
The primary reason I review is so that I can remember my thoughts about a book so I can recommend it to a student. If my feelings are negative, I'm going to put it out there. I know that just because a book isn't right for me, doesn't mean it isn't right for you...
 
 
Why are reviews important to share online?
 
I don't know a ton of adults who love YA literature as much as I do, so the internet is where I find people who share my interests and want to gush about Sharon Flake or John Green.
 
 
 

Now it's time for Fast Faves with Megan! 

 

~ Movies ~
 
Most loved –  Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (the old one)

Most hated – Practical Magic

Haven’t seen, and probably won't – Any important war movie

Can recite by heart – Zoolander

Wish more people had seen it – I'm sure plenty of people saw it, but I keep wanting to laugh about 21 Jump Street with people and never get any takers.

 
 
 
~ Books From Childhood ~
 

Most loved – A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, Wait Til Helen Comes

Most hated – Anything about horses or dogs

Haven’t read, but probably should – Most classics (Bad English teacher!)

Can remember where you were when you first read it – The Handmaids Tale (not really childhood)

Wish more people had read it – The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle

 
 
 
~ Foods ~
 

Most loved - Pizza, mangoes

Most hated – Kimchi

Haven’t eaten, but probably should – a steak

Would eat anytime, anywhere – pizza again

 
 
 
~ TV Shows ~
 
Most loved – Parks and Recreation
 
 
 
~ Items in Your Closet ~
 

Most loved – I wear boots every day...it's cold in Bogota!

Most hated – I move around a lot, so I don't keep anything I don't love.

Haven’t worn in forever, probably should throw it out – see above

Why do I have so many – socks?

 
 
 
~ Life ~
 

Best moment/memory - Too many to count...today was great!

Worst/most embarrassing moment - my first phone call with a boy

Haven't accomplished yet, but one day I'll - run a bookmobile in Haiti

Childhood toy you'll never get rid of - my brother

Wish I had more time for this guilty pleasure - I make time for all my guilt pleasures!

 
 
 
To read Megan's book reviews and see her favorite books list, check out her profile here.

Email Megan: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

So? How much do you have in common with Megan? Let us know in the comments. And stay tuned next week for another editor interview!

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Cover Reveal: Control by Lydia Kang + Giveaway (In...
Cover Reveal: Summer Ruins by Trisha Leigh + Givea...

Related Posts

 

Comments 4

Christina Franke, Staff on Wednesday, 23 January 2013 15:14

Parks and Rec! YES! I may or may not be completely in love with Ben.

0
Parks and Rec! YES! I may or may not be completely in love with Ben. :)
YABC on Thursday, 24 January 2013 20:19

I LOVE Ben. He's such a hot nerd. ;-)

0
I LOVE Ben. He's such a hot nerd. ;-)
Anatea on Friday, 25 January 2013 17:46

Oh, I loved 21 Jump Street!!

0
Oh, I loved 21 Jump Street!!
YABC on Tuesday, 29 January 2013 16:29

Hi, I would love to offer copies of my book, Writing Fiction: A Hands-On Guide for Teens as a giveaway. Please let me know how to go about it.
Thanks.
Heather

0
Hi, I would love to offer copies of my book, Writing Fiction: A Hands-On Guide for Teens as a giveaway. Please let me know how to go about it. Thanks. Heather

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Words on Bathroom Walls
Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
Stray
 
3.8
"'Stray' by Joni Johnson has an interesting premise. When Lila finds out that her father is about to kick her..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
It's Not Me, It's You
 
3.7
"'It's Not Me, It's You' by Stephanie Kate Strohm provides a unique and somewhat irregular look into the dynamics of..."