The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Meet Our Editors: Megan Kelly

Posted by on in News & Updates
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 1187
  • 4 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

There are several Editors (staff reviewers or Review Ninjas, if you will) at Young Adult Books Central, and they all have their own taste in books. While one might give a certain book 5 stars, another might only give it 3. We like that kind of diversity here, because we know every reader is different. Every reader's opinion is valid.

But we also know it's helpful to read reviews by those who share your same interests, especially when you're looking for recommendations.

So which YABC Staff Reviewer has your taste in books? Find out in this new blog series, Meet Our Editors! Each week, I'll be spotlighting one of our editors. When you find one that shares your same taste in books, movies, TV, even food, then make sure to check out the books that editor has reviewed favorably.  

See how it works? Great! 

~~~~~

First up, I did a Fast Faves interview with Kim Baccellia, who has been with YABC the longest. 

Second was a Fast Faves interview with our newest editor, Christina Franke

Then we did a Fast Faves interview with CJ Redwine

~~~~~

This week's Editor is Megan Kelly, who just recently became our first international reviewer when she embarked on an adventure teaching out of the country. She's been with YABC for a few years now, and I always look forward to reading her reviews. She has a fabulous knack for organizing her thoughts in concise and lovely ways, and she has a passion and hunger for life and teaching that I have yet to see equalled. She also knows how to have a good time, as you can see in the photo below. Ha! Thank you, Megan, for being a part of the YABC Team!

uniform

Tell us a little about yourself, Megan.

I started reviewing books so that I could make better recommendations to my middle school students. Three years later, I can't read a book without reviewing it! I have lived and traveled all over the world, and my list of places to go grows each day. I'm an expert movie-quoter, intermediate baker, and beginning salsa dancer.
 

Which types of books are your favorites to read/review? 

I love reading young adult novels, graphic novels, and novels in verse. Bonus point if it's written as a diary or letter.
 
 
Which types of books do you hate to read?

Where the Red Fern Grows aside, I can't stand animal books. I'm not a big fan of reading about war, religion, or nonfiction.
 
 
What do you think about writing negative reviews?
 
The primary reason I review is so that I can remember my thoughts about a book so I can recommend it to a student. If my feelings are negative, I'm going to put it out there. I know that just because a book isn't right for me, doesn't mean it isn't right for you...
 
 
Why are reviews important to share online?
 
I don't know a ton of adults who love YA literature as much as I do, so the internet is where I find people who share my interests and want to gush about Sharon Flake or John Green.
 
 
 

Now it's time for Fast Faves with Megan! 

 

~ Movies ~
 
Most loved –  Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (the old one)

Most hated – Practical Magic

Haven’t seen, and probably won't – Any important war movie

Can recite by heart – Zoolander

Wish more people had seen it – I'm sure plenty of people saw it, but I keep wanting to laugh about 21 Jump Street with people and never get any takers.

 
 
 
~ Books From Childhood ~
 

Most loved – A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, Wait Til Helen Comes

Most hated – Anything about horses or dogs

Haven’t read, but probably should – Most classics (Bad English teacher!)

Can remember where you were when you first read it – The Handmaids Tale (not really childhood)

Wish more people had read it – The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle

 
 
 
~ Foods ~
 

Most loved - Pizza, mangoes

Most hated – Kimchi

Haven’t eaten, but probably should – a steak

Would eat anytime, anywhere – pizza again

 
 
 
~ TV Shows ~
 
Most loved – Parks and Recreation
 
 
 
~ Items in Your Closet ~
 

Most loved – I wear boots every day...it's cold in Bogota!

Most hated – I move around a lot, so I don't keep anything I don't love.

Haven’t worn in forever, probably should throw it out – see above

Why do I have so many – socks?

 
 
 
~ Life ~
 

Best moment/memory - Too many to count...today was great!

Worst/most embarrassing moment - my first phone call with a boy

Haven't accomplished yet, but one day I'll - run a bookmobile in Haiti

Childhood toy you'll never get rid of - my brother

Wish I had more time for this guilty pleasure - I make time for all my guilt pleasures!

 
 
 
To read Megan's book reviews and see her favorite books list, check out her profile here.

Email Megan: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

So? How much do you have in common with Megan? Let us know in the comments. And stay tuned next week for another editor interview!

 

 

Rate this blog entry:

Comments

  • Christina Franke, Editor
    Christina Franke, Editor Wednesday, 23 January 2013

    Parks and Rec! YES! I may or may not be completely in love with Ben. :)

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 24 January 2013

    I LOVE Ben. He's such a hot nerd. ;-)

  • Anatea
    Anatea Friday, 25 January 2013

    Oh, I loved 21 Jump Street!!

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 29 January 2013

    Hi, I would love to offer copies of my book, Writing Fiction: A Hands-On Guide for Teens as a giveaway. Please let me know how to go about it.
    Thanks.
    Heather

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Saturday, 28 February 2015

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)