The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Meet Our Editors: Megan Kelly

Posted by on in News & Updates
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 1099
  • 4 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

There are several Editors (staff reviewers or Review Ninjas, if you will) at Young Adult Books Central, and they all have their own taste in books. While one might give a certain book 5 stars, another might only give it 3. We like that kind of diversity here, because we know every reader is different. Every reader's opinion is valid.

But we also know it's helpful to read reviews by those who share your same interests, especially when you're looking for recommendations.

So which YABC Staff Reviewer has your taste in books? Find out in this new blog series, Meet Our Editors! Each week, I'll be spotlighting one of our editors. When you find one that shares your same taste in books, movies, TV, even food, then make sure to check out the books that editor has reviewed favorably.  

See how it works? Great! 

~~~~~

First up, I did a Fast Faves interview with Kim Baccellia, who has been with YABC the longest. 

Second was a Fast Faves interview with our newest editor, Christina Franke

Then we did a Fast Faves interview with CJ Redwine

~~~~~

This week's Editor is Megan Kelly, who just recently became our first international reviewer when she embarked on an adventure teaching out of the country. She's been with YABC for a few years now, and I always look forward to reading her reviews. She has a fabulous knack for organizing her thoughts in concise and lovely ways, and she has a passion and hunger for life and teaching that I have yet to see equalled. She also knows how to have a good time, as you can see in the photo below. Ha! Thank you, Megan, for being a part of the YABC Team!

uniform

Tell us a little about yourself, Megan.

I started reviewing books so that I could make better recommendations to my middle school students. Three years later, I can't read a book without reviewing it! I have lived and traveled all over the world, and my list of places to go grows each day. I'm an expert movie-quoter, intermediate baker, and beginning salsa dancer.
 

Which types of books are your favorites to read/review? 

I love reading young adult novels, graphic novels, and novels in verse. Bonus point if it's written as a diary or letter.
 
 
Which types of books do you hate to read?

Where the Red Fern Grows aside, I can't stand animal books. I'm not a big fan of reading about war, religion, or nonfiction.
 
 
What do you think about writing negative reviews?
 
The primary reason I review is so that I can remember my thoughts about a book so I can recommend it to a student. If my feelings are negative, I'm going to put it out there. I know that just because a book isn't right for me, doesn't mean it isn't right for you...
 
 
Why are reviews important to share online?
 
I don't know a ton of adults who love YA literature as much as I do, so the internet is where I find people who share my interests and want to gush about Sharon Flake or John Green.
 
 
 

Now it's time for Fast Faves with Megan! 

 

~ Movies ~
 
Most loved –  Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (the old one)

Most hated – Practical Magic

Haven’t seen, and probably won't – Any important war movie

Can recite by heart – Zoolander

Wish more people had seen it – I'm sure plenty of people saw it, but I keep wanting to laugh about 21 Jump Street with people and never get any takers.

 
 
 
~ Books From Childhood ~
 

Most loved – A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, Wait Til Helen Comes

Most hated – Anything about horses or dogs

Haven’t read, but probably should – Most classics (Bad English teacher!)

Can remember where you were when you first read it – The Handmaids Tale (not really childhood)

Wish more people had read it – The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle

 
 
 
~ Foods ~
 

Most loved - Pizza, mangoes

Most hated – Kimchi

Haven’t eaten, but probably should – a steak

Would eat anytime, anywhere – pizza again

 
 
 
~ TV Shows ~
 
Most loved – Parks and Recreation
 
 
 
~ Items in Your Closet ~
 

Most loved – I wear boots every day...it's cold in Bogota!

Most hated – I move around a lot, so I don't keep anything I don't love.

Haven’t worn in forever, probably should throw it out – see above

Why do I have so many – socks?

 
 
 
~ Life ~
 

Best moment/memory - Too many to count...today was great!

Worst/most embarrassing moment - my first phone call with a boy

Haven't accomplished yet, but one day I'll - run a bookmobile in Haiti

Childhood toy you'll never get rid of - my brother

Wish I had more time for this guilty pleasure - I make time for all my guilt pleasures!

 
 
 
To read Megan's book reviews and see her favorite books list, check out her profile here.

Email Megan: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

So? How much do you have in common with Megan? Let us know in the comments. And stay tuned next week for another editor interview!

 

 

Rate this blog entry:

Comments

  • Christina Franke, Editor
    Christina Franke, Editor Wednesday, 23 January 2013

    Parks and Rec! YES! I may or may not be completely in love with Ben. :)

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 24 January 2013

    I LOVE Ben. He's such a hot nerd. ;-)

  • Anatea
    Anatea Friday, 25 January 2013

    Oh, I loved 21 Jump Street!!

  • YABC
    YABC Tuesday, 29 January 2013

    Hi, I would love to offer copies of my book, Writing Fiction: A Hands-On Guide for Teens as a giveaway. Please let me know how to go about it.
    Thanks.
    Heather

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Wednesday, 17 December 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)