Meet Our Editors: CJ Redwine

There are several Editors (staff reviewers) here at YABooksCentral.com, and they all have their own taste in books. While one might give a certain book 5 stars, another might only give it 3. We like that kind of diversity here, because we know every reader is different. Every reader's opinion is valid.

But we also know it's helpful to read reviews by those who share your same interests, especially when you're looking for recommendations.

So which YABC Staff Reviewer has your taste in books? Find out in this new blog series, Meet Our Editors! Each week, I'll be spotlighting one of our editors. When you find one that shares your same taste in books, movies, TV, even food, then make sure to check out the books that editor has reviewed favorably.  

See how it works? Great! 

First up, I did a Fast Faves interview with Kim Baccellia, who has been with YABC the longest. 

Second was a Fast Faves interview with our newest editor, Christina Franke

 

This week's Editor is CJ Redwine, whose unwavering dedication to YABC's success and countless brainstorming sessions have kept my own dedication strong. Running a website as large as YABC can be daunting at times, but CJ is always there to re-fan the flames and remind me what YABC can (and will!) become. I'm not sure if I could do this without her. I wish I had ALL THE MONIES to pay my volunteers for their individual brilliance, but for now, I'm thankful they're happy to be "paid" in books. If CJ could have the entire YABC Prize Shelf each month, she'd take it! She is a voracious reader, and her reviews are always touching, eye-opening, and helpful. Thank you for being a part of YABC, CJ! 

 

Here's a little about CJ: 

 
cjredwine3.mdC.J. Redwine loves stilettos, lemon bars, and any movie starring Johnny Depp. She is the author of Defiance, the first in a post-apocalyptic fantasy trilogy from Balzer + Bray/Harper Collins. C.J. lives in Nashville with her husband, four kids, two cats, and one long-suffering dog. To learn more about C.J., visit her website at http://cjredwine.blogspot.com/
 

Which types of books are your favorites to read/review? 

I'll read almost anything if the characters are well-developed, the conflict feels authentic, and the world building is solid. I'm most drawn to fantasies and speculative fiction (post-apocalyptic, urban fantasy, and genre mash-up), but I also love contemporaries and historical. I read mostly YA for pleasure, but as I have four kids ranging from toddler to teenager, I read a lot of picture books, chapter books, and middle grade too.
 
 
Which types of books do you hate to read?

I'm not a fan of hard sci-fi or paranormal romance if the plot is utterly predictable. I really don't care for "loner girl is suddenly the object of hot boy/supernatural boy/multiple boys' affection" plot tropes unless it is really well done.
 
 
What do you think about writing negative reviews?
 
I think there's always something to admire about every book. It may not be a book that I'll want to keep in my own collection, but that doesn't mean someone else won't love it. My job in writing a review is to be honest in pointing out what worked for me and what didn't in a respectful manner. Especially if I see something that I know might bother other readers like me. But again, I always approach it with the attitude that just because the book didn't connect with me doesn't mean it won't be someone else's favorite.
 
 
Why are reviews important to share online?
 
It's good to get a feel for a book before you commit to purchase it. Often I purchase books because my friends recommend them, or because I see enough reviews that rave about qualities that I'm drawn to in a book. I also appreciate knowing if a book has things that might make it not for me, and I think others appreciate that too.
 
 
 

Now it's time for Fast Faves with CJ! 

 

~ Movies ~
 
Most loved –  Harry Potter & The Order of the Phoenix
 
Most hated – John Carter
 
Haven’t seen, but probably should – I have no idea!
 
Can recite by heart – The Princess Bride
 
Wish more people had seen it – The Raven
 
 
 
~ Books From Childhood ~
 
Most loved – The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe
 
Most hated – I don't remember hating any books in my childhood
 
Haven’t read, but probably should – Something by Neil Gaiman
 
Can remember where you were when you first read it – Harry Potter & The Sorcerer's Stone
 
Wish more people had read it – Everneath by Brodi Ashton
 
 
 
~ Foods ~
 
Most loved - Lemon bars
 
Most hated –  Green beans
 
Haven’t eaten, but probably should – Something from Jamaica. I should go there and take care of that ...
 
Would eat anytime, anywhere – Chex Mix (Cheddar)
 
Best fuel for writing – Peach tea
 
 
 
~ TV Shows ~
 
Most loved – Fringe, Grimm, and Downton Abbey
 
Most hated – The Real Housewives of _____ (anywhere)
 
Haven’t watched, but probably should – Game of Thrones
 
Can remember where you were when you saw it – Alias
 
Wish more people had seen it – Leverage
 
 
 
~ Items in Your Closet ~
 
Most loved – Yoga pants
 
Most hated – Running shoes
 
Haven’t worn in forever, probably should throw it out – Bridesmaid dress
 
Wish you’d never thrown them out – Hello Kitty umbrella
 
Why do I have so many – Shoes!
 
 
 
~ Life ~
 
Best moment/memory - Each time I brought home one of my kids for the first time
 
Worst/most embarrassing moment - Can't narrow that down. I embarass myself all the time.
 
Haven't accomplished yet, but one day I'll - visit Europe
 
Childhood toy you'll never get rid of - a carosel horse figurine
 
Wish I had more time for this guilty pleasure - watching Netflix late at night
 
 
 
To read CJ's book reviews and see her favorites list, check out her profile here.

Follow CJ on Twitter: @cjredwine

Email CJ:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

So? How much do you have in common with CJ? Let us know in the comments. And stay tuned next week for another editor interview!

 

 
Rate this blog entry:
Giveaway: Miss Fortune Cookie (International)
The 2012 YABC Choice Awards - Vote for Your Faves!

Related Posts

 

Comments 4

H.C. Palmquist on Thursday, 06 December 2012 12:28

Yes, you should watch Game of Thrones, but first, FIREFLY!!!! Also, is that the carousel horse that grandma & grandpa gave us matching ones for Christmas? Cause I still have that too!

0
Yes, you should watch Game of Thrones, but first, FIREFLY!!!! Also, is that the carousel horse that grandma & grandpa gave us matching ones for Christmas? Cause I still have that too!
Christina Franke, Staff on Friday, 07 December 2012 14:25

We do NOT have the same taste in movies. Though I also can quote rather heavily from The Princess Bride. :-)

0
We do NOT have the same taste in movies. Though I also can quote rather heavily from The Princess Bride. :-)
Jen on Wednesday, 12 December 2012 15:12

I want to visit Europe and I hate green beans too!

0
I want to visit Europe and I hate green beans too! :)
Jennifer Howard McCoy on Friday, 11 January 2013 12:23

I love how many times Harry Potter is mentioned....although, it will never be enough. HP is just too awesome!

0
I love how many times Harry Potter is mentioned....although, it will never be enough. HP is just too awesome!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.8
"Readers will find 'Challenge Accepted' by Amanda Abram hard to put down. Her writing style perfectly captures teenage life, from..."
The Seismic Seven
 
4.0
"Kenzie, Brianna, Wyatt and Todd have all have won the opportunity to study with Dr. Grier in Yellowstone National Park,..."