The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Meet Our Editors: CJ Redwine

Posted by on in News & Updates
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 1209
  • 4 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

There are several Editors (staff reviewers) here at YABooksCentral.com, and they all have their own taste in books. While one might give a certain book 5 stars, another might only give it 3. We like that kind of diversity here, because we know every reader is different. Every reader's opinion is valid.

But we also know it's helpful to read reviews by those who share your same interests, especially when you're looking for recommendations.

So which YABC Staff Reviewer has your taste in books? Find out in this new blog series, Meet Our Editors! Each week, I'll be spotlighting one of our editors. When you find one that shares your same taste in books, movies, TV, even food, then make sure to check out the books that editor has reviewed favorably.  

See how it works? Great! 

First up, I did a Fast Faves interview with Kim Baccellia, who has been with YABC the longest. 

Second was a Fast Faves interview with our newest editor, Christina Franke

 

This week's Editor is CJ Redwine, whose unwavering dedication to YABC's success and countless brainstorming sessions have kept my own dedication strong. Running a website as large as YABC can be daunting at times, but CJ is always there to re-fan the flames and remind me what YABC can (and will!) become. I'm not sure if I could do this without her. I wish I had ALL THE MONIES to pay my volunteers for their individual brilliance, but for now, I'm thankful they're happy to be "paid" in books. If CJ could have the entire YABC Prize Shelf each month, she'd take it! She is a voracious reader, and her reviews are always touching, eye-opening, and helpful. Thank you for being a part of YABC, CJ! 

 

Here's a little about CJ: 

 
cjredwine3.mdC.J. Redwine loves stilettos, lemon bars, and any movie starring Johnny Depp. She is the author of Defiance, the first in a post-apocalyptic fantasy trilogy from Balzer + Bray/Harper Collins. C.J. lives in Nashville with her husband, four kids, two cats, and one long-suffering dog. To learn more about C.J., visit her website at http://cjredwine.blogspot.com/
 

Which types of books are your favorites to read/review? 

I'll read almost anything if the characters are well-developed, the conflict feels authentic, and the world building is solid. I'm most drawn to fantasies and speculative fiction (post-apocalyptic, urban fantasy, and genre mash-up), but I also love contemporaries and historical. I read mostly YA for pleasure, but as I have four kids ranging from toddler to teenager, I read a lot of picture books, chapter books, and middle grade too.
 
 
Which types of books do you hate to read?

I'm not a fan of hard sci-fi or paranormal romance if the plot is utterly predictable. I really don't care for "loner girl is suddenly the object of hot boy/supernatural boy/multiple boys' affection" plot tropes unless it is really well done.
 
 
What do you think about writing negative reviews?
 
I think there's always something to admire about every book. It may not be a book that I'll want to keep in my own collection, but that doesn't mean someone else won't love it. My job in writing a review is to be honest in pointing out what worked for me and what didn't in a respectful manner. Especially if I see something that I know might bother other readers like me. But again, I always approach it with the attitude that just because the book didn't connect with me doesn't mean it won't be someone else's favorite.
 
 
Why are reviews important to share online?
 
It's good to get a feel for a book before you commit to purchase it. Often I purchase books because my friends recommend them, or because I see enough reviews that rave about qualities that I'm drawn to in a book. I also appreciate knowing if a book has things that might make it not for me, and I think others appreciate that too.
 
 
 

Now it's time for Fast Faves with CJ! 

 

~ Movies ~
 
Most loved –  Harry Potter & The Order of the Phoenix
 
Most hated – John Carter
 
Haven’t seen, but probably should – I have no idea!
 
Can recite by heart – The Princess Bride
 
Wish more people had seen it – The Raven
 
 
 
~ Books From Childhood ~
 
Most loved – The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe
 
Most hated – I don't remember hating any books in my childhood
 
Haven’t read, but probably should – Something by Neil Gaiman
 
Can remember where you were when you first read it – Harry Potter & The Sorcerer's Stone
 
Wish more people had read it – Everneath by Brodi Ashton
 
 
 
~ Foods ~
 
Most loved - Lemon bars
 
Most hated –  Green beans
 
Haven’t eaten, but probably should – Something from Jamaica. I should go there and take care of that ...
 
Would eat anytime, anywhere – Chex Mix (Cheddar)
 
Best fuel for writing – Peach tea
 
 
 
~ TV Shows ~
 
Most loved – Fringe, Grimm, and Downton Abbey
 
Most hated – The Real Housewives of _____ (anywhere)
 
Haven’t watched, but probably should – Game of Thrones
 
Can remember where you were when you saw it – Alias
 
Wish more people had seen it – Leverage
 
 
 
~ Items in Your Closet ~
 
Most loved – Yoga pants
 
Most hated – Running shoes
 
Haven’t worn in forever, probably should throw it out – Bridesmaid dress
 
Wish you’d never thrown them out – Hello Kitty umbrella
 
Why do I have so many – Shoes!
 
 
 
~ Life ~
 
Best moment/memory - Each time I brought home one of my kids for the first time
 
Worst/most embarrassing moment - Can't narrow that down. I embarass myself all the time.
 
Haven't accomplished yet, but one day I'll - visit Europe
 
Childhood toy you'll never get rid of - a carosel horse figurine
 
Wish I had more time for this guilty pleasure - watching Netflix late at night
 
 
 
To read CJ's book reviews and see her favorites list, check out her profile here.

Follow CJ on Twitter: @cjredwine

Email CJ:   This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

So? How much do you have in common with CJ? Let us know in the comments. And stay tuned next week for another editor interview!

 

 
Rate this blog entry:
0

Comments

  • H.C. Palmquist
    H.C. Palmquist Thursday, 06 December 2012

    Yes, you should watch Game of Thrones, but first, FIREFLY!!!! Also, is that the carousel horse that grandma & grandpa gave us matching ones for Christmas? Cause I still have that too!

  • Christina Franke, Editor
    Christina Franke, Editor Friday, 07 December 2012

    We do NOT have the same taste in movies. Though I also can quote rather heavily from The Princess Bride. :-)

  • Jen, Editor
    Jen, Editor Wednesday, 12 December 2012

    I want to visit Europe and I hate green beans too! :)

  • Jennifer Howard McCoy
    Jennifer Howard McCoy Friday, 11 January 2013

    I love how many times Harry Potter is mentioned....although, it will never be enough. HP is just too awesome!

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Sunday, 21 December 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)