Kids Review: Porcupine and Cactus (Katie Frawley)

About This Book:

A prickly tale about an unlikely friendship between a hopeful and chatty porcupine who attempts to befriend a cactus in the desert. Perfect for fans of I Need a Hug by Aaron Blabey and Goodnight Already by Jory John!

On a long and lonely desert walk, chatty and outgoing Porcupine discovers quiet Cactus and couldn’t be happier. These two spiky specimens are sure to have tons in common! But when Porcupine tries to get to know his new pal, Cactus doesn’t say a word.

After a miscommunication, Porcupine realizes Cactus is more than shy, he’s downright prickly! Will these new buddies manage to mend their friendship?

With witty and humorous text from acclaimed author Katie Frawley and comical and expressive art from award-winning illustrator Alex Willmore, Porcupine and Cactus is a funny and endearing story of two unlikely friends. Perfect for fans of Aaron Blabey, Drew Daywalt, and Jory John.

*Review Contributed by Rachel Feeck, Staff Reviewer*

Porcupine has a long way to go through the desert, and he’s excited to meet new friends like Cactus along the way. He is the star of the show, showing off tricks and trying to get to know his prickly new friend, and just oozing with fun, boisterous personality.

While this story is made for smiles and laughs, it’s also a simple illustration of what it can be like to make new friends for people too. Porcupine and Cactus are a bit like strong extroverts and introverts meeting for the first time. One likes to talk and the other might be better at listening, and it can take some communication to get to know one another, and this story touches on that lifelong journey in learning to respect each other’s boundaries and different expressions of friendship.

Porcupine and Cactus is a great story for lovers of laughter, the desert, and the critters that live there.

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.