Interview with Jessica Shirvington, Author of EMBLAZE

Interview with Jessica Shirvington, Author of EMBLAZE

I'm a huge fan of The Embrace Series and was really excited to have the opportunity to interview Jessica Shirvington! Here are her answers. Make sure to check out the EMBLAZE giveaway at the bottom of the post!

 

1.  I love the scenes where you show how Violet struggles with her feelings for both Lincoln and Phoenix.  Which character was your favorite to write?  Lincoln or Phoenix?

Oh, I love them both equally. I mean, there are different stages of EMBLAZE where they both shine. I loved writing the scene, and Lincoln's reactions to, when he and Violet go to the Lighthouse in Santorini. I also loved having the opportunity to write a chapter from Phoenix's point of view in EMBLAZE. I really thought it was time that readers saw a little more behind the facade. 

 

2.  Interesting twist on Violet's dad.  Why did you decide to have him suddenly interested in what was going on with Violet?

It was always the plan. But everything is about timing. Violet' isn't the only one growing and developing in these books. Her father loves her dearly. He has her entire life, but he has struggled within himself to find any peace after losing the love of his life Evelyn. His actions have come from a place of survival and were never intended to hurt Violet. Now, as he sees her growing up and can tell that something has changed, well, he has to change too. Make his own choices about the kind of father he is going to be. 

 

Emblaze - Jessica Shirvington3. Did you plot out all 3 books at same time?  Were you suprised at where the story took you?  Especially the last couple of revelations that I won't give away?

I have always known what the key plot points would be (including the major revelations). There is no way I could've developed the characters in the same way in the earlier books if I hadn't. That said, the actual scenes and interactions are always new and I try to tackle each book as it comes, so I am often surprised.

 

4. I'm curious why Santorini ended up being the scene for the final confrontation. Is there a Biblical or mythological connection there?

Some people believe that the Island of Santorini was once the lost city of Atlantis. I thought that was pretty cool.

Once I had decided upon the concept of a volcano as a good earthly option for the Gates to Hell, I researched all the major volcanic eruptions in history. Originally I wanted to use Krakatoa – since it has been one of the most devastating eruptions in recent history and even now, the sunken volcano continues to rise out of the waters once again and has been renamed Anak Krackatoa – "The Child".

But I couldn’t deny all the evidence that suggested there was a better choice. An eruption that dated back to somewhere near 1600BC and was so powerful it changed the world map. One that - when I pieced together the timeline of Moses journey had some eerily fascinating parallels to the reported Plagues of Egypt and Days of Darkness, not to mention the speculation that this was responsible for the destruction of not only the Lost City of Atlantis but also for the eradication of the most advanced society known to man at the time – The Minoans. IF there was the possibility that a volcano could indeed hold the gates to hell – then the great and still active Volcano of THERA, what is now known as Santorini in Greece, was a fabulous option (in my opinion!).

I also preferred the idea of a research trip in the Greek islands than in Indonesia, but alas – my hopes were dashed when my husband told me to go out and buy a travel book instead. ;-)

 

5. Can you tell us more backstory on Josephine?

You will see more of Josephine in ENDLESS, book 4. She is an interesting character and not an easy one to deal with. I think of her as one of those people who can be very stuck in their ways - to many people's detriment. I'm enjoying developing her as the books continue so I won't go into further detail right now.

 

6. Which scene was the hardest to write?  Why?

Definitely the chapter in Phoenix's point of view. I was hesitant to change pov - it isn't something I have wanted to do before and I've always prioritised staying in Violet's mind space. But in the end I was really happy with it. 

 

7. Do you have a playlist for EMBLAZE?  If not, what songs reflect key scenes?

Hardest of Hearts - Florence and the Machine. (For Violet and Lincoln)

and

All the Same to me - Anya Marina. (For Phoenix)

 

8. What's next in this series?  Do tell me there is a follow-up book!  

Sure is. ENDLESS will be out in October this year in the US (yay!!). I also have my first stand alone coming out in Australia in May (US release dates coming soon!), which I am really excited about. And I am currently working on the fifth and final book in the EMBRACE SERIES.

You can find out more about Jessica Shirvington at http://www.jessicashirvington.com

The Violet Eden Chapters: http://www.violetedenchapters.com.au

You can purchase Emblaze at Barnes & Noble, Amazon, and Indie Bound.

 

Click here to enter our EMBLAZE giveaway for your chance to win a copy! 

 

 

 

 
Meet Our Editors: Jason Gallaher
Giveaway: YABC Needs Your Help!

Related Posts

 

Comments 2

Already Registered? Login Here
Natalie Aguirre (website) on Wednesday, 13 March 2013 19:36

Awesome interview. I loved hearing how much Jessica had plotted out of the series when she wrote her first book. I read about her road to publication and it's pretty amazing. So excited for her new book.

0
Awesome interview. I loved hearing how much Jessica had plotted out of the series when she wrote her first book. I read about her road to publication and it's pretty amazing. So excited for her new book.
Sasha Shamblen (website) on Tuesday, 19 March 2013 17:50

i like this interview. Emblaze sounds interesting.

0
i like this interview. Emblaze sounds interesting.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
"YOU ARE FANTASTIC! is a brightly colored and cheerful read celebrating YOU! The book walks through some metaphorical compliments, such..."
Early One Morning
 
3.5
"EARLY ONE MORNING is a picture book walk around a farm. A little boy heads out to find a couple..."
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
"LITTLE SAP is a beautifully illustrated story about growing up, seasons, and forests. Little Sap can't wait to be a..."
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
"THE LITTLE THINGS is a charming and powerful story about the contagious nature of kindness. A little girl heads to..."
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
Fiver Finds Home
 
5.0
"'Fiver Finds Home' by Jill Bugbee, illustrated by Jennifer Davison, is a story of friendly Fiver, a blue giraffe who..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"The Lost Legends is one of those books that has everything in it. A princess, an evil king, pirates, a..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Whose Big Rig?
 
4.7
"WHOSE BIG RIG? is a delightful board book that takes children through the vehicles involved in building a light rail,..."