Cover Reveal: Killer of Enemies by Joseph Bruchac + Giveaway (US Only)

Cover Reveal: Killer of Enemies by Joseph Bruchac + Giveaway (US Only)

Hey YABCers! It's time for another cover reveal, this time from Tu Books. Check out what they have to say about KILLER OF ENEMIES by Joseph Bruchac:
 

Hi YABC! I’m Stacy Whitman, the publisher and editor of Tu Books. I’m so happy to introduce the cover of Joseph Bruchac’s latest book, Killer of Enemies! The book is post-apocalyptic Apache steampunk (well, steampunk-adjacent), about Lozen, a stoic teen who can read minds—sometimes—and takes down the giant monsters that infest her world with a Bowie knife and a .357 Magnum. Joseph Bruchac is one of the most prolific Native American authors writing for teens right now, a professional storyteller who knows how to pull you right in. It’s an action-packed read about which people are saying things like: 

Killer of Enemies is a wild teen adventure-fantasy that starts fast, gets faster, and never touches the brakes. A mind-bending fantasy that smashes across genre lines to tell a story about survival, courage, and lots of monsters. Joseph Bruchac brings serious game. Highly recommended!”—Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of Fire & Ash and Extinction Machine

You’re going to love it!

~ Stacy

 

Ready to see the cover? 

Scroll!

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

Here it is!

b2ap3_thumbnail_KoE_cover.jpg

** If you share this cover image on your website or blog, please include a link back to this page so your readers can enter the giveaway. Thank you! **

Our Thoughts

First of all, Apache steampunk? Yes, please. I love this heroine's style, too. I see some Apache steampunk cosplay in my future. *twirls pistols*

 

About the Book

Years ago, seventeen-year-old Apache hunter Lozen and her family lived in a world of haves and have-nots. There were the Ones—people so augmented with technology and genetic enhancements that they were barely human—and there was everyone else who served them.

Then the Cloud came, and everything changed. Tech stopped working. The world plunged back into a new steam age. The Ones’ pets—genetically engineered monsters—turned on them and are now loose on the world.

Fate has given seventeen-year-old Apache hunter Lozen a unique set of survival skills and magical abilities that she uses to take down monsters for the remaining Ones, who have kidnapped her family. 

But with every monster she kills, Lozen’s powers grow, and she connects those powers to an ancient legend of her people. It soon becomes clear to Lozen that she is meant to be a more than a hired-gun hunter. 

Lozen is meant to be a hero.

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_Bruchac-7.jpgAbout the Author

JOSEPH BRUCHAC is a storyteller, poet, and author of more than one hundred twenty books for adults and young readers. His work, which often draws on his Abenaki ancestry as well as the stories and legends of other Native peoples, has won numerous awards, including ALA Best Books for Young Adults, Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor, National Wildlife Federation Award, and multiple state association awards. Bruchac lives in Greenfield Center, New York. Find him online at josephbruchac.com.

Author photo by Eric Jenks

 

Giveaway Details

Three US winners will receive a copy of the book. To enter, fill out the form below. Winners will be announced on this page as well as in our monthly newsletter (sign up today!) after the giveaway ends. Good luck!

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Giveaway: Texting the Underworld by Ellen Booraem ...
Giveaway: INFINITYGLASS Book Birthday Prize Pack (...

Related Posts

 

Comments 15

Already Registered? Login Here
Katrina Pierce (website) on Wednesday, 07 August 2013 12:19

This cover is pretty badass!

0
This cover is pretty badass!
Vikki (website) on Wednesday, 07 August 2013 13:18

I love Joseph Bruchac's books & look forward to Killer of Enemies (whether I win a copy or have to get it on my own). Steampunk as a genre fascinates me, but it's just so white (and often has racist depictions of people of color), so I'm especially looking forward to steampunk with a protagonist of color written by an author of color.

0
I love Joseph Bruchac's books & look forward to Killer of Enemies (whether I win a copy or have to get it on my own). Steampunk as a genre fascinates me, but it's just so white (and often has racist depictions of people of color), so I'm especially looking forward to steampunk with a protagonist of color written by an author of color.
Vivien (website) on Wednesday, 07 August 2013 18:19

The cover is great! The synopsis definitely reeled me in!

0
The cover is great! The synopsis definitely reeled me in!
Guest - Starr K Griggs (website) on Thursday, 08 August 2013 19:30

The Cover and the premise sounds awesome. I have read Wolf Mark and know that this is going to be amazing. Bruchac is a very amazing author.

0
The Cover and the premise sounds awesome. I have read Wolf Mark and know that this is going to be amazing. Bruchac is a very amazing author.
Viviana Ortiz (website) on Thursday, 08 August 2013 19:53

The cover is a killer, liked it. The premise just pulls you in.

0
The cover is a killer, liked it. The premise just pulls you in.
Alana Abbott (website) on Thursday, 08 August 2013 21:22

I am so unbelievably excited about this book!

0
I am so unbelievably excited about this book!
Nicole (website) on Monday, 12 August 2013 16:07

This seems like a great book, with a great cover.

0
This seems like a great book, with a great cover.
Sam (website) on Friday, 16 August 2013 16:45

I love the summary and I adore the cover! Def want to read this asap!

0
I love the summary and I adore the cover! Def want to read this asap!
Holly Bryan (website) on Friday, 23 August 2013 12:38

The premise -- sounds just AMAZING. Very unique and very exciting!!

The cover -- I love most everything about it...but for the darn guns she's holding/shooting. I wish those could've been left out. Yes, I know, it's obvious that she will actually use the guns in the course of the story, BUT...I'm just not a fan of anything that appears to glorify guns, especially for younger folks, and I just wish they weren't such a focus on the *cover* of the book. That said, I love everything else about it! She truly does look like a kick-ass girl, and I LOVE that she's wearing, ya know, clothes that an actual mercenary would wear!! Not a big billowy beautiful dress! And, praise be, she's all covered up!! It's a beautiful thing I also love how it looks like she's stepping on the letters of the title, and how the title is diagonal and very prominent. Overall, I am VERY intrigued and I will definitely be picking this up!!

0
The premise -- sounds just AMAZING. Very unique and very exciting!! The cover -- I love most everything about it...but for the darn guns she's holding/shooting. I wish those could've been left out. Yes, I know, it's obvious that she will actually use the guns in the course of the story, BUT...I'm just not a fan of anything that appears to glorify guns, especially for younger folks, and I just wish they weren't such a focus on the *cover* of the book. That said, I love everything else about it! She truly does look like a kick-ass girl, and I LOVE that she's wearing, ya know, clothes that an actual mercenary would wear!! Not a big billowy beautiful dress! And, praise be, she's all covered up!! It's a beautiful thing ;) I also love how it looks like she's stepping on the letters of the title, and how the title is diagonal and very prominent. Overall, I am VERY intrigued and I will definitely be picking this up!!
Cherrelle (website) on Monday, 26 August 2013 22:24

I'm so excited for this book! I want to win this so bad! I don't get to read many books with Native American protagonists! I LOVE the cover!

0
I'm so excited for this book! I want to win this so bad! I don't get to read many books with Native American protagonists! I LOVE the cover!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...

Latest Member Reviews

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."