Book Blitz and Giveaway: Teen Mystery Inspired by Real-Life World Cup Disappearance: Soccer Trophy Mystery by Fred Bowen, Bestselling Series Celebrates 25 Yrs

5801129_20210909-194319_1

YABC is excited to announce that this Fall, award-winning author and Washington Post KidsPost Sports Columnist ("The Score") Fred Bowen is back with more soccer action—and a new mystery—in Soccer Trophy Mystery (Peachtree Publishing; 9/1/21; ISBN: 978-1-68263-078-5; Hardcover $16.99; Ages 7-12; 144 pages), the newest addition to the popular tween Fred Bowen Sports Story Series.

 

Thirteen-year-old twins Aiden and Ava and their good friend Daniel, all avid soccer players, have just learned their county league soccer trophy mysteriously disappeared forty years ago from the town library. It was never recovered. So between games and practices for the town’s soccer championships, the three friends try to solve the case. But will these amateur detectives be able to unravel the mystery and find someone who had both motive and opportunity to commit the crime? And will their teams make it all the way to the championships?

 

As with the rest of the acclaimed series, Fred Bowen weaves exciting play-by-play sports action with real sports history, including a chapter in the back of the book of “The Real Story” behind the disappearance of the original World Cup trophy that was never recovered. Featuring a new mystery storyline, as well as focusing on girls in sports, Soccer Trophy Mystery is also a great book for character education both on and off the field. 

 

Now with 24 books and close to a million copies sold, the bestselling series has received national and critical acclaim, saying “saying the series “is flush with life lessons about perseverance, dedication, and picking oneself up after a hard knock” (Booklist) and “Fred Bowen never disappoints. His many action-packed novels speak to the hearts and minds of young sports lovers, and he demonstrates know-how and grace in writing about baseball, basketball, soccer and football” (Washington Parent). Each title in the series functions as a standalone, so readers can dive right in whether this is their first foray into the series, or their 24th!

 

Check out the three books in the Sports Story SeriesSoccer Trophy Mystery, Hardcourt Comeback, and The Golden Glove!

 

 

 

Meet Soccer Trophy Mystery!

Part of Fred Bowen Sports Story Series by Fred Bowen

Fred Bowen is back with more soccer action–and a mystery–in his newest Sports Story, perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green. The Sports Story series celebrates 25 years in 2021!

While soccer-playing twins Aiden and Ava lead their teams to a championship season, they try to solve the mystery of their town’s missing soccer trophy.

Thirteen-year-old twins Aiden and Ava and their good friend Daniel, all avid soccer players, have just learned their county league soccer trophy mysteriously disappeared forty years ago from the town library. It was never recovered. So between games and practices for the town’s soccer championships, the three friends try to solve the case.

But will these amateur detectives be able to unravel the mystery and find someone who had both motive and opportunity to commit the crime? Will their teams make it all the way to the championships?

Award-winning author and Washington Post KidsPost sports columnist Fred Bowen returns with another installment in his Sports Story Series, this time tackling important topics like equal recognition for women in sports. At the end of the book, Bowen includes “The Real Story” behind the disappearance of the original World Cup trophy.

 

Click Here To Purchase!        Click Here To Read An Excerpt!

 

 

 

 

Meet Hardcourt Comeback!

Part of Fred Bowen Sports Story Series by Fred Bowen

Calling all basketball fans! Return to the court in this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

“Reads like a successful drive to the hoop—quick, purposeful, and effective.” ―Booklist

Brett Carter, the Wildcats’ star forward, is a hotshot on his basketball team—or at least he was. After missing an easy layup shot at the buzzer in one of the most important games of the season, he feels like a total loser. And things only get worse from there…

At his best friend’s birthday party at a rock-climbing center, Brett freezes on the wall. Then he blows an easy question in the American history bee at school. And when he gets back on the court, he can’t get rid of this terrible pounding in his chest. Brett is losing his confidence fast. With the championship game is coming up, can he overcome his fears and play like a “winner” again?

In the afterword, author Fred Bowen shares real stories of well-known players and their hard-fought comebacks.

 

Click Here To Purchase!        Click Here To Read An Excerpt!

 

 

 

 

 

Meet The Golden Glove!

Part of Fred Bowen Sports Story Series by Fred Bowen

Ready to hit the baseball diamond? Check out this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

Jamie’s lucky glove is the most precious thing in the world to him. He’s spent all winter oiling it while readying his skills for the upcoming season. But what happens when he loses the glove?

After an unsuccessful search and a disappointing first game, Jamie realizes he’s lost much more than his glove. He’s lost confidence. So when he seeks help from the owner of a local sporting goods shop—a former minor league player—the old-timer shares the history of baseball gloves along with a few fielding tips to help improve Jamie’s game. But will it be enough to rebuild his confidence and replace the “luck” his beloved glove gave him?

Author Fred Bowen engages baseball lovers in this relatable story of self-doubt, luck, and facing your fears. In the afterword, readers can learn more about the history of baseball gloves. 

 

 

Click Here To Purchase!        Click Here To Read An Excerpt!

 

 

 

 

 

Meet Fred Bowen!

FRED BOWEN is the author of Peachtree’s popular Fred Bowen Sports Story Series for middle grade readers. A lifelong sports fanatic, he has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post. Bowen lives in Maryland.

Visit his website at www.fredbowen.com [fredbowen.com].

 

 

 

 

 

~REVIEWS ~

“The books in the Fred Bowen Sports Story series are fast-paced, and at just over 100 pages, they’re perfect for reluctant readers…. Young readers will devour these stories, along with their painless lessons, and still have time to join their friends for games.” 

—School Library Journal 

 

Hardcourt Comeback: “This entry in the Fred Bowen Sports Story series is flush with life lessons about perseverance, dedication, and picking oneself up after a hard knock, not to mention loads of on-court action. It reads like a successful drive to the hoop—quick, purposeful, and effective.” 

—Booklist 

 

“Fred Bowen never disappoints. His many action-packed novels speak to the hearts and minds of young sports lovers, and he demonstrates know-how and grace in writing about baseball, basketball, soccer and football.” 

—Washington Parent Magazine

 

 

 

~GIVEAWAY~

 

  • 5 winners will receive a 3-book set from the Fred Bowen Sports Story Series: Soccer Trophy Mystery, Hardcourt Comeback, and The Golden Glove.
  • US/CA/PR
  • Giveaway ends 9/19 at 11:59pm ET

 

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

 

Book Blitz and Giveaway: Haunting Illustrated Nove...
DC Comics Blog Tour: Author Chat with E. Lockhart ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment