Author Chat with Ellen Hopkins

Author Chat with Ellen Hopkins

 

Contributed by Kayla King 

 

Today I'm sharing my interview with Ellen Hopkins, author of Traffick! But first I'd like to introduce you to this literary duo. 

 

 

Meet Ellen. 

b2ap3_thumbnail_ellen-hopkins.jpg

Ellen Hopkins is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Crank, Burned, Impulse, Glass, Identical, Tricks, Fallout, Perfect, Tilt, Smoke, and Rumble, as well as the adult novels Triangles, Collateral, and the forthcoming Love Lies Beneath.  She lives with her family in Carson City, Nevada, where she has founded Ventana Sierra, a nonprofit youth housing and resource initiative. Visit her at EllenHopkins.com and on Facebook, and follow her on Twitter at @EllenHopkinsYA. For more information on Ventana Sierra, go to VentanaSierra.org.

 

 

 

 

Now meet Ellen's new book, Traffick!

 

 

Five teens victimized by sex trafficking try to find their way to a new life in this riveting companion to the New York Times bestselling Tricks from Ellen Hopkins, author of Crank.

In her bestselling novel, Tricks, Ellen Hopkins introduced us to five memorable characters tackling these enormous questions: Eden, the preacher’s daughter who turns tricks in Vegas and is helped into a child prostitution rescue; Seth, the gay farm boy disowned by his father who finds himself without money or resources other than his own body; Whitney, the privileged kid coaxed into the life by a pimp and whose dreams are ruined in a heroin haze; Ginger, who runs away from home with her girlfriend and is arrested for soliciting an undercover cop; and Cody, whose gambling habit forces him into the life, but who is shot and left for dead.

And now, in Traffick, these five are faced with the toughest question of all: Is there a way out? How these five teenagers face the aftermath of their decisions and experiences is the soul of this story that exposes the dark, ferocious underbelly of the child trafficking trade. Heartwrenching and hopeful, Traffick takes us on five separate but intertwined journeys through the painful challenges of recovery, rehabilitation, and renewal to forgiveness and love. All the way home. - See more at: http://books.simonandschuster.biz/Traffick/Ellen-Hopkins/9781442482876#sthash.QSobMVTn.dpuf

 

 

With introductions in order, it's time to CHAT! 

 

Kayla King: At the end of TRICKS, the stories of Cody, Eden, Ginger, Seth, and Whitney were left unfinished. What made you decide to return to these characters after four years?
 
 
Ellen Hopkins: Every sequel I’ve ever written took a few years to percolate, often fueled by reader demand. There was lots of reader demand to TRAFFICK. Plus sometimes characters just won’t leave my head. It was time to revisit them.
 
 
KK: Of the five, which character has been the easiest to write for? And which character was the most difficult?
 
 
EH: In this book, Cody was the hardest to write because the technical information I had to provide about spinal cord injury couldn’t get in the way of his inner turmoil, so it was a balancing act. Plus, it required a ton of research. I watched hours of videos. Eden was the easiest because her love story resonated and I really wanted to give her the redemption she deserved.
 
 
 
KK: In TRAFFICK, how important was it to depict the aftermath of the choices made by your characters?
 
 
 
EH: I worked a lot with survivors of sex trafficking and truly wanted readers to understand that surviving and creating a positive future is definitely possible. Some choices are hard to recover from, but never impossible.
 
 
KK: What do you hope readers will take from this sequel?
 
 
EH: I hope readers will come to understand the power of love. It is the greatest healer of all.
 

 

KK: What are your favorite books of the year?
 
 
 
EH: Jandy Nelson’s I'LL GIVE YOU THE SUN and a book by debut YA author Craig Lew called BREATH TO BREATH.
 
 
 
 
A big thanks to Ellen Hopkins for this enlightening interview! Now read on for the latest giveaway below! 
 
 
 
 
 
 
b2ap3_thumbnail_traffick-book-cover.jpg
 
 
  1. By: Ellen Hopkins

  2. Release Date: November 3, 2015

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

 

Three winners will receive a copy of Traffick, US only.

 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. During this giveaway, Ellen has a question for readers. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries: Why do you think the author chose to spell the book title TRAFFICK with the added “K”?

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway 

 

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_one-thousand-bio-pic.jpg

Kayla King  is a writer of poetry and fiction. She is the Blog Manager and Staff Reviewer at YABC, which means she loves to read and review books! She is an editor for 1:1000 and as such, reads great stories and contributes a new piece of flash fiction every month, and is a permanent writer for Germ Magazine. Kayla graduated from Buffalo State College with her B.A. in Writing and is currently pursuing her MFA from Southern New Hampshire University. You can find her website and blog here.

 

 

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Sneak Peek at The Greatest Zombie Movie Ever by Je...
It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Blooming Goddess Tri...

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Guest - Krista Tomblin on Wednesday, 11 November 2015 13:00

"Traffick" means trade by barter, selling or buying.

0
"Traffick" means trade by barter, selling or buying.
Kara S on Thursday, 12 November 2015 12:37

Yes, my instinct is that it comes from the verb trafficking, pretty intuitively -- trading in human beings.

0
Yes, my instinct is that it comes from the verb trafficking, pretty intuitively -- trading in human beings.
Sky on Friday, 13 November 2015 00:24

I'm going to go ahead and assume that it's spelt that way because the book will be dealing with illegal trafficking.

0
I'm going to go ahead and assume that it's spelt that way because the book will be dealing with illegal trafficking.
Linda Romer on Friday, 13 November 2015 15:15

Because the Book is about Illegal Trafficking. Thank you

0
Because the Book is about Illegal Trafficking. Thank you
Guest - Stephanie Hedgespeth on Friday, 27 November 2015 22:53

I think this book is about illegal human trafficking, which would explain the addition of the "K"

0
I think this book is about illegal human trafficking, which would explain the addition of the "K"
Guest - Emily on Sunday, 29 November 2015 12:37

I am guessing it is about illegal trafficking.

0
I am guessing it is about illegal trafficking.
Guest - Marianne on Thursday, 03 December 2015 17:35

It's probably about illegal human trafficking. It literally says, "Five teens victimized by sex trafficking"

0
It's probably about illegal human trafficking. It literally says, "Five teens victimized by sex trafficking"

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Elect
 
4.0
"The story: Seventeen-year-old August is a weapon, a mindless tool of the government of Belstrana, helping to put down..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
 
5.0
"I had high hopes for MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: EXPLORERS, PRESIDENTS, and TOILETS after reading Dan's other book and..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
 
5.0
"MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: SPACE, HUMANS, AND FARTS makes learning more interesting and fun. Using the weird-but-true theme is..."
Fragile Chaos
 
5.0
"When Cassia is unwillingly sacrificed to the War God, she's shocked when it's someone she's already met. Theo doesn't want..."
Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."