Review Detail

Middle Grade Fiction 1381
enthralling and charming middle grade fantasy
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
WITCHLINGS is a charming and enthralling middle grade fantasy that follows 12-year-old Seven, a witchling who aspires to join the most powerful coven. When everything goes wrong, and Seven is designated as a Spare, it feels like things can't get any worse - until she and other Spares are unable to seal their coven. Their only other option is an impossible task: to fell a Nightbeast. Seven, Valley, and Thorn set out to do the impossible and in the process find themselves.

What I loved: This was such a consuming and engaging story. The combination of quest, sisterhood, and magic was absolutely delightful. Seven is a particularly compelling character, and she develops a lot during the story. Her growth and character arc really made this all the more enthralling, and the fast-paced plot with an impossible quest made it even more unputdownable. Each of the three main witchlings, Seven, Valley, and Thorn are really great characters, and together, they make for a really enjoyable read. The world-building is also really strong and crafts an intriguing new world that I would be eager to see more from.

Final verdict: With compelling characters and a fast-paced plot, WITCHLINGS is sure to enchant middle grade fantasy readers. Fans of Percy Jackson, Morrigan Crow, and The Wizards of Once need to read this new magical book.
Report this review Was this review helpful? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account