N/A
Characters

N/A
Writing Style

N/A
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)

N/A
A great choice to read this.

The story is about Beatrice Prior, who lives in the dystopian future of Chicago, Illinois. Every 16 year old must make a choice what faction (group of people) would they dedicate their lives to forever. For Tris (She renames herself), it’s a heartbreaking choice to leave her family. The choice she resolved surprised everyone. She chose a faction where people risk their lives to do something that involves courage and determination. As she encounters each stage of the initiation, she discovers a horrible secret that might unfold what seems to be a perfect dystopia.

This is my first time to read a dystopian novel. AND IT WAS GREAT! I have second thoughts about this when I first looked at it on a bookstore, and after buying it, I never regretted the decision to take it! I finished it in just a day (Which is so rare for me). What kept me unguarded were the mystery, thrill, and excitement. It was a perfect example of what I see of Earth in an alternate universe. Everybody says it’s better than Hunger Games and Matched though I think not really (I haven’t read those two; it’s still on my “to-read” list). But it was 100% perfect! Roth brings up what makes a dystopian novel so thrilling and full of action. Even though the novels full of heartbreaking scenarios, Roth fills it up with wit and romance.