Casting Call: We're looking for the new YABC Intern!

Casting Call: We're looking for the new YABC Intern!

 

We are currently looking for a motivated, professional, self-starter to claim the title of YABC Intern!

Do you want to work in the publishing industry? Do you need some stellar experience on your resume? Would you like to earn course credit and get free books sent to your door each month?

The YABC Internship might be just the thing for you. YABC is one of the top online book review sites on the Web. Our previous intern earned enough credit through his YABC internship to gradutate college a semester early, and the experience he received was invaluable in the publishing and PR world. We were very sad to see him go, but we're certain the next YABC Intern will be just as professional and amazing. 

 

Here are some of the YABC Intern duties:

- adding new and upcoming releases to our database so site visitors can learn about them and post reviews
 
- featuring new releases and ramping up excitement about these wonderful books and authors
 
- interact with YABC readers through our Twitter and Facebook accounts
 
- assist in orchestrating author and publisher promotion like cover reveals and giveaways (working directly with top publishers and best-selling authors!)
 
- work directly with the head of YABC via text and email, keeping the YABC email inboxes organized so her brain doesn't leak out of her ears (this one is very important) 
 

 

Here are the characteristics we're looking for in a YABC Intern:

 
A passionate YA lover. Someone who devours YA (and kids) books on a regular basis and has a decent knowledge of the current YA market (what's out there right now). 
 
A book pusher. Someone who can't seem to help themselves when it comes to gushing about all things YA books. Someone who never tires of talking books!
 
A social media butterfly. Someone who enjoys interacting via social media. Someone who is GOOD at it. Do you have a lot of followers already? Do you enjoy figuring out how to compose a tweet or status in order to receive the highest interaction? Then this might be the geeky job you've been looking for.
 
A writer. Someone who can write clearly and concisely, free of spelling and grammar errors. Someone who can self-proof their work. Perfectionists welcome! :)
 
A blog wizard. Someone who is already familiar with posting blog articles using both HTML and Compose functions. Someone who understands how to navigate HTML for light coding purposes, and who can edit images by resizing, cropping, and justifying correctly on a page. Someone who has "an eye" for online article design. We want our blog posts to be appealing to our readers. We want them to be PRETTEH. That means each post needs consistency and style. 
 
A respectful and professional communicator. Someone who can represent YABC positively across social media platforms and to our author and publisher partners via email correspondence. Someone who makes YABC look GOOD.
 
A self-starter. Someone who can keep track of time-sensitive promotion and keep a personal work schedule. In the world of online PR, there isn't much hand-holding. A lot of the time you're on your own! We need someone who can be in charge of their own schedule without falling behind or letting YABC events slip through the cracks. The YABC intern must have impeccable scheduling and prioritizing skills. If you live and die by your daily planner, you might be perfect for this job!
 
An email organizer. Someone who can't stand a messy inbox, who knows how to filter and create folders, and reply to new emails in a timely fashion. 
 
A dedicated team member. Someone who can commit to a few hours a month. Someone YABC (and the readers and authors and publishers) can count on. 
 
 

Here's what you get out of it:

In addition to the invaluable experience gained working behind the scenes with a top book blog and review site, the YABC Intern will receive two (2) free books a month chosen from the YABC Prize Shelf. Applicants must have a valid US mailing address.
 
There is a definite opportunity for course credit, but it all depends on your degree and what your college accepts as a valid internship. Credit must be organized by you with your advisor or professor. Although we cannot organize the credit for you, we are happy to provide any paperwork or correspondence you need to make this happen. If you are unsure about credit, talk to your advisor right away to see if the YABC Internship is acceptable. 
 
 
 
If the YABC Internship sound up your alley, let us know. Fill out the form below. We will contact you if you are chosen to be considered for the internship. 
 
 
 
 

 

Rate this blog entry:
Giveaway: The Maze Runner (US Only)
BLOG TOUR: BLACKBIRD by Anna Carey
 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.8
"Readers will find 'Challenge Accepted' by Amanda Abram hard to put down. Her writing style perfectly captures teenage life, from..."
The Seismic Seven
 
4.0
"Kenzie, Brianna, Wyatt and Todd have all have won the opportunity to study with Dr. Grier in Yellowstone National Park,..."