Meet Me in the Middle

Meet Me in the Middle
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
July 12, 2022
ISBN
978-0063136175
Buy This Book
      
Fans of Jennifer Dugan and Laura Taylor Namey will fall in love with this latest YA romance by Wattpad superstar Alex Light, author of The Upside of Falling.
Eden had her best friend Katie—she didn’t need anyone else. But then there was Truman.

Katie’s older brother, the artist. The recluse. The boy with the innocent smile and the dangerous eyes.

Eden had never really known Truman—not until the night of Katie’s accident. That was the night they’d finally let each other into their orbits—only to have the sky come crashing down on them.

With Katie in the hospital and Truman fleeing from his grief without a word, Eden is left alone to grapple with her own pain. But when Truman returns to the city, can Eden let him back into her life knowing that their first kiss is what tore their world apart?

Editor review

1 review
A Story of Grief and Love
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
After one tragic night lands Katie in the hospital, both her brother Truman and her best friend Eden have to learn to live in a world without her. Both of them grieve in completely different ways. Eden shuts down, preferring her dark room over talking to other people. Truman had to get away and go to a school a good distance from his hometown. This series of events put a quick stop to the budding romance between them.

When Truman returns home, his paths cross with Eden's on more than one occasion and it becomes difficult to ignore that fateful night. Now, they have to learn how to interact with each other without Katie while still holding on to the hope that she'll wake up. With the overwhelming sadness surrounding them, it's hard to find someone who understands it, so they share that similarity. Is it enough to revive the spark between them or will the guilt be too much?

MEET ME IN THE MIDDLE is a contemporary romance where the primary focus is grieving and learning to live with loss. The truth is that it isn't something you can just get over. Instead, it's something you have to learn to live with. Watching Eden and Truman both take different paths in the grieving process tugs at your heartstrings and you can't help but to cheer for them to get together. They're cute and patient with each other and it seems like they understand one another in every possible way. Truman with his art and Eden with her withdrawal from society. With each turn of the page, the reader learns about the past the two share and why things are so tense.


Final Verdict: This is the perfect story for those who have experienced loss recently or for readers looking for a heartfelt, thought-provoking plot. I teared up on more than one occasion which is what you hope to happen with stories like these. I love watching the growth of Truman and Eden and learning how one moment in time can change everything. For that reason, you should never take things for granted.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account