Giveaway: Texting the Underworld by Ellen Booraem (US Only)

Giveaway: Texting the Underworld by Ellen Booraem (US Only)

We're so happy to be a part of the TEXTING THE UNDERWORLD Blog Tour today! Check out our 5-star review below and make sure to enter the giveaway. Good luck!

 

About the Book

Perpetual scaredy-cat Conor O'Neill has the fright of his life when a banshee girl named Ashling shows up in his bedroom. Ashling is--as all banshees are--a harbinger of death, but she's new at this banshee business, and first she insists on going to middle school. As Conor attempts to hide her identity from his teachers, he realizes he's going to have to pay a visit to the underworld if he wants to keep his family safe.

"Got your cell?"
"Yeah . . . . Don't see what good it'll do me."
"I'll text you if anything happens that you should know."
"Text me? Javier, we'll be in the afterlife."
"You never know. Maybe they get a signal."


Discover why Kirkus has called Booraem's work "utterly original American fantasy . . . frequently hysterical." This totally fresh take on the afterlife combines the kid next door appeal of Percy Jackson with the snark of Artemis Fowl and the heart of a true middle grade classic.

 

About the Author

b2ap3_thumbnail_1440114.jpgA former small-town newspaper reporter and editor, Ellen Booraem is the author of SMALL PERSONS WITH WINGS (Penguin/Dial Books for Young Readers, 2011) and THE UNNAMEABLES (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Children's Books, 2008), which comes out in paperback in March 2011. Both are fantasies for age 10 and up. 

SMALL PERSONS has received starred reviews from Publishers Weekly, School Library Journal, and Kirkus Reviews. THE UNNAMEABLES was listed on ALA Best Books for Young Adults 2010 and the Kirkus Reviews Best Children's Books of 2008. 

Ellen lives in Downeast Maine with a cat, a dog, and an artist, in a house they (meaning the humans) built with their own hands.

 

 

Our Review

Reviewed by Joanne, Editor August 07, 2013 
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (63)
 

 

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 

5.0

 

Storytelling at its Best

Texting the Underworld is truly unique! It is one of those books you just don't want to put down but have a hard time saying goodbye to the characters once the story is over. It is a whirlwind through mythical tales and a truly engaging tale of a young boy's journey to the underworld to save his family.

Ellen Booraem is a true storyteller. She has created a story that flawlessly weaves together contemporary south Boston and Irish mythology. Texting the Underworld is fast -paced and definitely a page turner. It combines both suspense and humor in such a unique way that as a reader you forget that someone might have to die! 

Even though Texting the Underworld deals with some weighty topics like Irish mythology and death, the humor in the story keeps it light- it doesn't bring the reader down.

I highly recommend Texting the Underworld and it will definitely be finding a spotlighted section in my classroom library. Fans of the Percy Jackson Series and The Night Tourist will really enjoy this new fresh look at the Underworld.

Do You Recommend?
Yes!

 

The Blog Tour

Don't miss tomorrow's stop on the Blog Tour at Wordspelunking!

Want to check out the full tour schedule? Click here.
 
 

 

 

Giveaway Details

Two US winners will receive a copy of the book. Enter by filling out the form below. Winners will be announced on this page as well as our monthly newsletter (sign up today!) after the giveaway ends. Good luck!

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

Cover Reveal: Wicked Little Secrets by Kara Taylor...
Cover Reveal: Killer of Enemies by Joseph Bruchac ...

Related Posts

 

Comments 11

Already Registered? Login Here
Guest - Tammy on Thursday, 08 August 2013 18:44

A boys journey to the underworld sounds interesting.

0
A boys journey to the underworld sounds interesting.
Vivien (website) on Thursday, 08 August 2013 18:46

The cover is great! The title is just my favorite

0
The cover is great! The title is just my favorite :D
Viviana Ortiz (website) on Thursday, 08 August 2013 19:42

Cover great love the crows, sound interesting, the underworld with cell phone signal amazing

0
Cover great love the crows, sound interesting, the underworld with cell phone signal amazing
Guest - Stephanie (website) on Friday, 09 August 2013 07:17

The premise sounds promising. It's definitely different than a lot of books out now.

0
The premise sounds promising. It's definitely different than a lot of books out now.
Sam (website) on Friday, 16 August 2013 16:46

The premise sounds interesting and the cover seems to fit it.

0
The premise sounds interesting and the cover seems to fit it.
Cherrelle (website) on Monday, 26 August 2013 23:00

The cover is cute and the premise sounds interesting

0
The cover is cute and the premise sounds interesting
Agustina Gonzalez on Tuesday, 27 August 2013 13:40

I HAVE THE SAME PHONE! That's what first thought lol Nice cover

0
I HAVE THE SAME PHONE! That's what first thought lol Nice cover :D
Karyn (website) on Tuesday, 27 August 2013 22:04

Love the idea of traveling to the underworld - always loved some underworld stories in Greek mythology myself. The cover is interesting - gives the message that the story is very contemporary in other ways!

0
Love the idea of traveling to the underworld - always loved some underworld stories in Greek mythology myself. The cover is interesting - gives the message that the story is very contemporary in other ways!
Maggie Reid (website) on Wednesday, 28 August 2013 17:22

The cover is really cute and the concept of the book sounds interesting and original! I can't wait to check it out

0
The cover is really cute and the concept of the book sounds interesting and original! I can't wait to check it out
Lisbeth Valdez (website) on Friday, 30 August 2013 10:51

The cover is very fitting to the title, and it's nice. The book sounds very interesting and i'd love to read it!

0
The cover is very fitting to the title, and it's nice. The book sounds very interesting and i'd love to read it!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sweet treats and friendship mix-ups abound in this story about...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From award-winning Carolyn Mackler, the story of Willa, who has...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This book is about the Stonewall Riots, a series of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Emily is flying with her parents to China to...
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
 
4.0
"June 28th marks the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots in Greenwich Village, New York City, so it's great to..."
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
Finding Esme
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE PUMPKINS ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT is a cute board book that celebrates Halloween with a counting of pumpkins! In..."