The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Giveaway: Obsidian Eyes by A.W. Exley (US/Canada)

Posted by on in Giveaways
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 4106
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post



by A.W. Exley

Release Date: March 24th


About the Book

1836, a world of light and dark, noble and guild. The two spheres intersect when seventeen-year-old Allie Donovan is placed at the aristocratic St Matthews Academy. More at ease with a blade than a needle, she finds herself ostracised by the girls and stalked by a Scottish lord intent on learning why she is among them.
She begins to suspect the underlying reasons when soldiers arrive to see her friend, Zeb, a mechanical genius. On the hunt for answers she breaks into his underground laboratory. There, Allie discovers he is not just constructing sentient mechanical creatures, he is building a devastating new weapon for the military.
The guilds want the weapon and Allie is trapped by ties of blood. She must obey the overlord of the guild and deliver up her friend, unless she can rely on bonds of friendship, to save both their lives.

About the Author

Books and writing have always been an enormous part of A.W. Exley’s life. She survived school by hiding out in the library, with several thousand fictional characters for company. At university, she overcame the boredom of studying accountancy by squeezing in Egyptology papers and learning to read hieroglyphics. Today, Anita writes best selling hit steampunk novels with a sexy edge and an Egyptian twist. She lives in rural New Zealand surrounded by an assortment of weird and wonderful equines, felines, canine and homicidal chickens. 


Giveaway Details


One winner will receive a copy of Obsidian Eyes, Nefertiti’s Heart, and a steampunk barrette 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this page and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends. 

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the synopsis of the book?


a Rafflecopter giveaway



Rate this blog entry:


  • Guest
    Amy Tuesday, 01 April 2014

    I love the cover. I'm curious to see what the weapon is and what what's in store for Allie and her friend.

  • Kel
    Kel Wednesday, 02 April 2014

    Love the cover and the definitely made me want to read more!

  • Sabrina
    Sabrina Wednesday, 02 April 2014

    The cover is beautiful and the synopsis is pretty good so far. I can see the plot for the most part, and overall, it's done what a good synopsis should do: capture my attention. Very well done.

  • Vanessa Nunez
    Vanessa Nunez Wednesday, 02 April 2014

    Definitely caught my attention! Very beautifully designed and introduced to passionate readers like myself. I look forward to reading this in the future!

  • Courtney Gendreau
    Courtney Gendreau Wednesday, 02 April 2014

    It sounds like a must read.

  • Susan T.
    Susan T. Thursday, 03 April 2014

    I love everything about this book! I can't wait to read it!

  • Sarah
    Sarah Thursday, 03 April 2014

    The synopsis sounds like something I'd like. I love YA novels with a strong female character as the lead. The plot seems interesting, can't wait to read it.

  • Sam
    Sam Thursday, 03 April 2014

    Fantasy check, Historical check, Action packed CHECK! IM SOLD!!!! XD

  • Sarah Zane Kellar
    Sarah Zane Kellar Friday, 04 April 2014

    This book sounds awesome. A mixture of steampunkishness and magic.

  • L
    L Sunday, 06 April 2014

    Sounds interesting

  • janet carrillo
    janet carrillo Sunday, 06 April 2014

    It gave enough information that would let you know that a teen would like this book.

    [email protected] Monday, 07 April 2014

    It sounds good! I'll read it!

  • Guest
    Merton Parsons Tuesday, 08 April 2014

    Would love to read this book.

  • William W.
    William W. Tuesday, 08 April 2014

    Wow! (I hope you didn't give TOO much away in the synopsis.) Sounds like an intriguing read! :D

  • Guest
    Natasha Wednesday, 09 April 2014

    I think it sounds amazing!
    Thanks for the chance to win!

  • Rain Jeys
    Rain Jeys Friday, 11 April 2014

    I love the timeframe so I'm definitely intrigued!

  • Guest
    Leanne C Saturday, 12 April 2014

    I can't wait to read this! The synopsis makes this a must read!

  • Guest
    Katie Sunday, 13 April 2014

    It sounds really interesting and a book that I would enjoy.

  • Holly Letson
    Holly Letson Tuesday, 15 April 2014

    Sounds interesting enough. Nice cover, too.

  • Clara
    Clara Tuesday, 15 April 2014

    Definitely sounds interesting. Looking forward to it!

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, 06 October 2015


  • Author Chat with Angela Blount

      Contributed by Joanne Mumley   One of our extraordinary staff members, Joanne, interviewed Angela Blount, author of Once Upon a Radtrip! Now she's sharing this fantastic chat with us! But first we'd like to introduce you to this literary duo.    &nbs ...

  • What's New in YA--October 5, 2015

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!         Mindy McGinnis, the acclaimed author of Not a Drop to Drink and In a Handful of Dust, combines murder, madness, and mystery in a beautif ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Nil On Fire by Lynne Matson + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hi, everyone! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for NIL ON FIRE by Lynne Matson, releasing May 31, 2016 from Macmillan. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Lynne:   Hi YABC!! I'm Lynne Matson, author of NIL ON FIRE coming May 31, 2016&n ...

  • Diversify Your Shelves with WNDB--October 5, 2015

      Contributed by Maurene Goo   Humor often takes a backseat in YA Land. It just doesn’t get that much love compared to quirky romances about dying teens or girls running around saving the world from evil dystopian governments. Trust, I ...

  • Giveaway: NIGHTFALL by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski (US Only)

    NIGHTFALL by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski Release Date: 9/22/2015     About the Book The dark will bring your worst nightmares to light in this gripping and eerie survival story, perfect for fans of James Dashner and Neil Gaiman. On Marin’s island, ...

  • Giveaway: Placebo Junkies by J.C. Carleson (US Only)

    PLACEBO JUNKIES by J.C. Carleson   Release Date: 10/27/15   About the Book 17-year-old Audie doesn't view medical trial participation as a temporary means to an end. She's one of the young CVs--Career Volunteers--who work pharmaceutical trials to their advantage. ...

  • Giveaway: Eye of the Ninja by DM Marlowe (International)

    Eye of the Ninja by  D.M. Marlowe Release Date: October 1, 2015   About the Book Blink—and you’ll miss her. Mei Barrett has been hiding all of her life. Raised in solitude by her beloved father, she’s been trained to fight, to adapt, to defend. She couldn’t ...

  • Giveaway: Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Francis Brambles (US & Canada)

    Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Francis Brambles Release Date: October 1, 2015   About the Book Like everyone else living in Haven, seventeen-year-old, Sophie Harkness, is an Immune — a carrier of the genetic mutation that protects her from the virus Hitler unleashed upon t ...

  • Giveaway: It's a Wonderful Death by Sarah J Schmitt (US & Canada)

    It’s A Wonderful Death  by Sarah J. Schmitt Release Date: Oct 6, 2015   About the Book Seventeen-year-old RJ always gets what she wants. So when her soul is accidentally collected by a distracted Grim Reaper, somebody in the afterlife better figure out a way to send ...

  • Giveaway: Rise of the Sidenah by C.M. Story (US Only)

    Rise of the Sidenah by C. M. Story Release Date: 9/24/15   About the Book Adrienna Vedica longs to build the creatures living in her imagination. One day, she hopes to sculpt them out of stone, creating great statues like those that guard the Celany village. She doe ...

  • Giveaway: Paint My Body Red by Heidi Kling (International)

    Paint My Body Red by Heidi R. Kling Release Date: 11/2/15   About the Book They think I'll be number seven. Unlucky number seven. Dead teenager number seven. With the rash of suicides at my school, I've been shipped off to my dad's Wyoming ranch for “my own safety. ...

  • Giveaway: Romancing the Dark in the City of Light (US Only)

    Romancing the Dark in the City of Light by Ann Jacobus Release Date: October 6, 2015   About the Book Summer Barnes just moved to Paris to repeat her senior year of high school. After being kicked out of four boarding schools, she has to get on the right track or risk ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
In the spirit of The Goonies and Stand By Me comes an exciting new tale about adventure, friendship and risking...
0.0 (0)
Violet is on the run. After the Duchess of the Lake catches Violet with Ash, the hired companion at the...
0.0 (0)
A new YA novel from novelist Patrick Ness, author of the Carnegie Medal- and Kate Greenaway Medal-winning A Monster Calls...
0.0 (0)
From author Avery Hastings comes Torn, the heart-pounding conclusion to the Feuds Series. Determined to escape from TOR-N, a corrupt...
0.0 (0)
Aubree Sadler can’t think of a better place to be than in perfectly boring Ohio, and she’s ready for a...
0.0 (0)
Lincoln's Spymaster
Category: Kids Nonfiction
From Samantha Seiple, the award winning author of Ghosts in the Fog, comes the first book for young adults to...
0.0 (0)
Things aren't always as they appear… New school. Cross-country move. Broken heart. If only these were Emma Guthrie's worst problems....
0.0 (0)
London has been destroyed in a blitz of bombs and disease. The only ones who have survived are children, among...
0.0 (0)
Despite Rives and Skye's attempt to destroy Nil, the island remains. And back in this world, Nil won't let Skye...
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
"A well-written, engaging exploration of the maxim, 'Be careful what you wish for.'"-KIRKUS REVIEWS Snip, Snip. That's all it...
0.0 (0)
Katalina Winter was prepared for life to change when she turned eighteen—but she never expected to actually change. Learning that...
0.0 (0)
The dark will bring your worst nightmares to light in this gripping and eerie survival story, perfect for fans of...
0.0 (0)
17-year-old Audie doesn't view medical trial participation as a temporary means to an end. She's one of the young CVs--Career...
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old RJ always gets what she wants. So when her soul is accidentally collected by a distracted Grim Reaper, somebody...
0.0 (0)
They think I'll be number seven. Unlucky number seven. Dead teenager number seven. With the rash of suicides at my...
0.0 (0)
With deeply moving human drama, nail-biting suspense—and bold speculation informed by a degree in physics—C. A....
0.0 (0)
In the sequel to the award-winning Killer of Enemies, Apache teen Lozen and her family are...
0.0 (0)
A haunting and luminous Gothic YA novel about reckoning with the ghosts of one's dark past....
0.0 (0)
A haunting and mesmerizing story about sisterhood, family, love, and loss by literary luminary Edwidge Danticat....
0.0 (0)
All-girl camp. First love. First heartbreak. At once romantic and devastating, brutally honest and full of...
0.0 (0)