Giveaway: Obsidian Eyes by A.W. Exley (US/Canada)

Giveaway: Obsidian Eyes by A.W. Exley (US/Canada)

 

OBSIDIAN EYES

by A.W. Exley

Release Date: March 24th

 
 

About the Book

1836, a world of light and dark, noble and guild. The two spheres intersect when seventeen-year-old Allie Donovan is placed at the aristocratic St Matthews Academy. More at ease with a blade than a needle, she finds herself ostracised by the girls and stalked by a Scottish lord intent on learning why she is among them.
 
She begins to suspect the underlying reasons when soldiers arrive to see her friend, Zeb, a mechanical genius. On the hunt for answers she breaks into his underground laboratory. There, Allie discovers he is not just constructing sentient mechanical creatures, he is building a devastating new weapon for the military.
 
The guilds want the weapon and Allie is trapped by ties of blood. She must obey the overlord of the guild and deliver up her friend, unless she can rely on bonds of friendship, to save both their lives.
 
 

About the Author

Books and writing have always been an enormous part of A.W. Exley’s life. She survived school by hiding out in the library, with several thousand fictional characters for company. At university, she overcame the boredom of studying accountancy by squeezing in Egyptology papers and learning to read hieroglyphics. Today, Anita writes best selling hit steampunk novels with a sexy edge and an Egyptian twist. She lives in rural New Zealand surrounded by an assortment of weird and wonderful equines, felines, canine and homicidal chickens. 

 
 

Giveaway Details

 

One winner will receive a copy of Obsidian Eyes, Nefertiti’s Heart, and a steampunk barrette 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this page and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends. 

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the synopsis of the book?

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
YA Authors as YAs: The Helene Dunbar Edition + Giv...
Giveaway: The Pigeon Needs a Bath by Mo Willems (U...

Related Posts

 

Comments 29

Guest - Amy on Tuesday, 01 April 2014 23:51

I love the cover. I'm curious to see what the weapon is and what what's in store for Allie and her friend.

0
I love the cover. I'm curious to see what the weapon is and what what's in store for Allie and her friend.
Kel on Wednesday, 02 April 2014 14:01

Love the cover and the synopsis...it definitely made me want to read more!

0
Love the cover and the synopsis...it definitely made me want to read more!
Sabrina on Wednesday, 02 April 2014 17:58

The cover is beautiful and the synopsis is pretty good so far. I can see the plot for the most part, and overall, it's done what a good synopsis should do: capture my attention. Very well done.

0
The cover is beautiful and the synopsis is pretty good so far. I can see the plot for the most part, and overall, it's done what a good synopsis should do: capture my attention. Very well done.
Vanessa Nunez on Wednesday, 02 April 2014 20:31

Definitely caught my attention! Very beautifully designed and introduced to passionate readers like myself. I look forward to reading this in the future!

0
Definitely caught my attention! Very beautifully designed and introduced to passionate readers like myself. I look forward to reading this in the future!
Courtney Gendreau on Wednesday, 02 April 2014 23:33

It sounds like a must read.

0
It sounds like a must read.
Susan T. on Thursday, 03 April 2014 00:14

I love everything about this book! I can't wait to read it!

0
I love everything about this book! I can't wait to read it!
Sarah on Thursday, 03 April 2014 18:03

The synopsis sounds like something I'd like. I love YA novels with a strong female character as the lead. The plot seems interesting, can't wait to read it.

0
The synopsis sounds like something I'd like. I love YA novels with a strong female character as the lead. The plot seems interesting, can't wait to read it.
Sam on Thursday, 03 April 2014 23:14

Fantasy check, Historical check, Action packed CHECK! IM SOLD!!!! XD

0
Fantasy check, Historical check, Action packed CHECK! IM SOLD!!!! XD
Sarah Zane Kellar on Friday, 04 April 2014 20:42

This book sounds awesome. A mixture of steampunkishness and magic.

0
This book sounds awesome. A mixture of steampunkishness and magic.
L on Sunday, 06 April 2014 16:29

Sounds interesting

0
Sounds interesting
janet carrillo on Sunday, 06 April 2014 19:54

It gave enough information that would let you know that a teen would like this book.

0
It gave enough information that would let you know that a teen would like this book.
[email protected] on Monday, 07 April 2014 00:52

It sounds good! I'll read it!

0
It sounds good! I'll read it!
Guest - Merton Parsons on Tuesday, 08 April 2014 10:57

Would love to read this book.

0
Would love to read this book.
William W. on Tuesday, 08 April 2014 11:32

Wow! (I hope you didn't give TOO much away in the synopsis.) Sounds like an intriguing read!

0
Wow! (I hope you didn't give TOO much away in the synopsis.) Sounds like an intriguing read! :D
Guest - Natasha on Wednesday, 09 April 2014 21:57

I think it sounds amazing!
Thanks for the chance to win!

0
I think it sounds amazing! Thanks for the chance to win!
Rain Jeys on Friday, 11 April 2014 21:14

I love the timeframe so I'm definitely intrigued!

0
I love the timeframe so I'm definitely intrigued!
Guest - Leanne C on Saturday, 12 April 2014 11:31

I can't wait to read this! The synopsis makes this a must read!

0
I can't wait to read this! The synopsis makes this a must read!
Guest - Katie on Sunday, 13 April 2014 18:11

It sounds really interesting and a book that I would enjoy.

0
It sounds really interesting and a book that I would enjoy.
Holly Letson on Tuesday, 15 April 2014 09:37

Sounds interesting enough. Nice cover, too.

0
Sounds interesting enough. Nice cover, too.
Clara on Tuesday, 15 April 2014 19:32

Definitely sounds interesting. Looking forward to it!

0
Definitely sounds interesting. Looking forward to it!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Deadly Exodus
Their love is forbidden…their lives in danger… ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Front Cover
Join Clementine on a Winter Adventure in the Great Outdoors!...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Front cover
Growing up as a biracial child, Maggy Williams had three...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
hanna_final.jpg
Inspired by real Holocaust events, this poignant debut novel is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51MO7YjcihL.jpg
Twins Finn and Eric’s peaceful lives are turned upside down...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."
The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
 
4.7
"Insightful, engaging, and downright fun! LEGO hits on all the learning styles in this brilliantly interactive science primer. ..."
Switching Gears
 
3.7
"Lucas Nelson loved Emmy Martin, but he waited until a week before he died of cancer to tell her that...."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
We Are All That's Left
 
5.0
" Zara feels shut off from her Bosnian born mother. She knows that her mother survived some..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"Seriously, is it possible to read this book without crying? Asking for allllllll offffff myyyyyyy friiiiiiiiiends."
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Original Syn
 
5.0
"Got an ARC of this one and flew through it. So so good."
What I Leave Behind
 
5.0
"Will’s dad commits suicide. His childhood friend, Playa, is raped at a party. His mom works long over-night shifts as..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."