The Dead and Buried Blog Tour + Giveaway!

The Dead and Buried Blog Tour + Giveaway!

We're so happy to be kicking off the blog tour for Kim Harrington's THE DEAD AND BURIED! Check out our review below, and don't forget to enter to win an ARC of the book!

 

A haunted house, a buried mystery, and a very angry ghost make this one unforgettable thriller.

Jade loves the house she's just moved into with her family. She doesn't even mind being the new girl at the high school: It's a fresh start, and there's that one guy with the dreamy blue eyes. . . . But then things begin happening. Strange, otherworldly things. Jade's little brother claims to see a glimmering girl in his room. Jade's jewelry gets moved around, as if by an invisible hand. Kids at school whisper behind her back like they know something she doesn't.

Soon, Jade must face an impossible fact: that her perfect house is haunted. Haunted by a ghost who's seeking not just vengeance, but the truth. The ghost of a girl who ruled Jade's school — until her untimely death last year. It's up to Jade to put the pieces together before her own life is at stake. As Jade investigates the mystery, she discovers that her new friends in town have more than a few deep, dark secrets. But is one of them a murderer?

 

TDAB Book Cover 

 

A Ghost Tale with a Modern Twist
Review by Kim Baccellia, Editor

I'm a huge fan of ghost tales and was excited to read THE DEAD AND BURIED. This intriguing tale is so much more than the usual ghost story. It's also a mystery with a hint of romance.

Jade's family ends up moving to the house of her dreams. If being the new kid at school wasn't bad enough, Jade finds people whispering whenever she's around. Only later does she find out why. The former owner's daughter Kayla died in their house after falling down the stairs. It was ruled an accidental death though the rest of the kids at school think otherwise. It seems others at Jade's new school are hiding secrets, one of which involves what really happened to Kayla. Then there is the ghost of Kayla who refuses to let her killer get away with her death. She ends up possessing Jade's five year old half-brother, threatening to destroy him unless Jade finds the killer. Even in death Kayla is the mean girl.

I really enjoyed this paranormal tale with one wicked, vengeful ghost. Jade sets out to find out the truth of what happened with the help of Kayla's former boyfriend Donovan. She feels a powerful pull toward Donovan and worries whether or not the only reason he seems equally interested might be because of her connection to Kayla.

What worked for me had to be the voice of this story. A subtle creepy factor resonates throughout the pages without going way over the top. I also liked Kayla. She's a vindictive ghost who has her own secrets. She's not the usual misunderstood dead girl, rather she brings new meaning to Mean Girl. The mystery behind what really happened wasn't obvious. Each of the supporting characters had valid reasons to kill Kayla. Kane, the popular jock who wanted to be much more than a friend; Donovan, the boyfriend, who was last seen with her; Alexa, the nerdy unfeeling girl, who was bullied by Kayla; Faye, the so-called BFF, who might have her own secret; and even the next door peeping Tom.

I did get confused at first with the diary entries. Only later did I figure out how the diary figured into the revelation. Even then, though, I loved how the author didn't make what happened too obvious. Also the author does a good job showing the first haunting without going way over the top. Just enough creep factor to work.

A page-turning tale with a subtle creepiness factor that adds to it's charm. Totally enjoyed this paranormal!

 

Links to the author, Kim Harrington, online:
 
 
 
Rate this blog entry:
Giveaway: Deviants by Maureen McGowan (US & Canada...
Giveaway: Better Nate Than Ever (US Only)

Related Posts

 

Comments 1

Nicole Arellano on Monday, 28 January 2013 10:36

Ahh! This sounds like an interesting read. Yet another book I NEED to get my hands on.

0
Ahh! This sounds like an interesting read. Yet another book I NEED to get my hands on.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.8
"Readers will find 'Challenge Accepted' by Amanda Abram hard to put down. Her writing style perfectly captures teenage life, from..."
The Seismic Seven
 
4.0
"Kenzie, Brianna, Wyatt and Todd have all have won the opportunity to study with Dr. Grier in Yellowstone National Park,..."