The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

The Dead and Buried Blog Tour + Giveaway!

Posted by on in Blog Tours
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 2594
  • 1 Comment
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

We're so happy to be kicking off the blog tour for Kim Harrington's THE DEAD AND BURIED! Check out our review below, and don't forget to enter to win an ARC of the book!


A haunted house, a buried mystery, and a very angry ghost make this one unforgettable thriller.

Jade loves the house she's just moved into with her family. She doesn't even mind being the new girl at the high school: It's a fresh start, and there's that one guy with the dreamy blue eyes. . . . But then things begin happening. Strange, otherworldly things. Jade's little brother claims to see a glimmering girl in his room. Jade's jewelry gets moved around, as if by an invisible hand. Kids at school whisper behind her back like they know something she doesn't.

Soon, Jade must face an impossible fact: that her perfect house is haunted. Haunted by a ghost who's seeking not just vengeance, but the truth. The ghost of a girl who ruled Jade's school — until her untimely death last year. It's up to Jade to put the pieces together before her own life is at stake. As Jade investigates the mystery, she discovers that her new friends in town have more than a few deep, dark secrets. But is one of them a murderer?


TDAB Book Cover 


A Ghost Tale with a Modern Twist
Review by Kim Baccellia, Editor

I'm a huge fan of ghost tales and was excited to read THE DEAD AND BURIED. This intriguing tale is so much more than the usual ghost story. It's also a mystery with a hint of romance.

Jade's family ends up moving to the house of her dreams. If being the new kid at school wasn't bad enough, Jade finds people whispering whenever she's around. Only later does she find out why. The former owner's daughter Kayla died in their house after falling down the stairs. It was ruled an accidental death though the rest of the kids at school think otherwise. It seems others at Jade's new school are hiding secrets, one of which involves what really happened to Kayla. Then there is the ghost of Kayla who refuses to let her killer get away with her death. She ends up possessing Jade's five year old half-brother, threatening to destroy him unless Jade finds the killer. Even in death Kayla is the mean girl.

I really enjoyed this paranormal tale with one wicked, vengeful ghost. Jade sets out to find out the truth of what happened with the help of Kayla's former boyfriend Donovan. She feels a powerful pull toward Donovan and worries whether or not the only reason he seems equally interested might be because of her connection to Kayla.

What worked for me had to be the voice of this story. A subtle creepy factor resonates throughout the pages without going way over the top. I also liked Kayla. She's a vindictive ghost who has her own secrets. She's not the usual misunderstood dead girl, rather she brings new meaning to Mean Girl. The mystery behind what really happened wasn't obvious. Each of the supporting characters had valid reasons to kill Kayla. Kane, the popular jock who wanted to be much more than a friend; Donovan, the boyfriend, who was last seen with her; Alexa, the nerdy unfeeling girl, who was bullied by Kayla; Faye, the so-called BFF, who might have her own secret; and even the next door peeping Tom.

I did get confused at first with the diary entries. Only later did I figure out how the diary figured into the revelation. Even then, though, I loved how the author didn't make what happened too obvious. Also the author does a good job showing the first haunting without going way over the top. Just enough creep factor to work.

A page-turning tale with a subtle creepiness factor that adds to it's charm. Totally enjoyed this paranormal!


Links to the author, Kim Harrington, online:
Rate this blog entry:


  • Nicole Arellano
    Nicole Arellano Monday, 28 January 2013

    Ahh! This sounds like an interesting read. Yet another book I NEED to get my hands on.

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, 04 October 2015


  • Giveaway: NIGHTFALL by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski (US Only)

    NIGHTFALL by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski Release Date: 9/22/2015     About the Book The dark will bring your worst nightmares to light in this gripping and eerie survival story, perfect for fans of James Dashner and Neil Gaiman. On Marin’s island, ...

  • Giveaway: Placebo Junkies by J.C. Carleson (US Only)

    PLACEBO JUNKIES by J.C. Carleson   Release Date: 10/27/15   About the Book 17-year-old Audie doesn't view medical trial participation as a temporary means to an end. She's one of the young CVs--Career Volunteers--who work pharmaceutical trials to their advantage. ...

  • Giveaway: Eye of the Ninja by DM Marlowe (International)

    Eye of the Ninja by  D.M. Marlowe Release Date: October 1, 2015   About the Book Blink—and you’ll miss her. Mei Barrett has been hiding all of her life. Raised in solitude by her beloved father, she’s been trained to fight, to adapt, to defend. She couldn’t ...

  • Giveaway: Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Francis Brambles (US & Canada)

    Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Francis Brambles Release Date: October 1, 2015   About the Book Like everyone else living in Haven, seventeen-year-old, Sophie Harkness, is an Immune — a carrier of the genetic mutation that protects her from the virus Hitler unleashed upon t ...

  • Giveaway: It's a Wonderful Death by Sarah J Schmitt (US & Canada)

    It’s A Wonderful Death  by Sarah J. Schmitt Release Date: Oct 6, 2015   About the Book Seventeen-year-old RJ always gets what she wants. So when her soul is accidentally collected by a distracted Grim Reaper, somebody in the afterlife better figure out a way to send ...

  • Giveaway: Rise of the Sidenah by C.M. Story (US Only)

    Rise of the Sidenah by C. M. Story Release Date: 9/24/15   About the Book Adrienna Vedica longs to build the creatures living in her imagination. One day, she hopes to sculpt them out of stone, creating great statues like those that guard the Celany village. She doe ...

  • Giveaway: Paint My Body Red by Heidi Kling (International)

    Paint My Body Red by Heidi R. Kling Release Date: 11/2/15   About the Book They think I'll be number seven. Unlucky number seven. Dead teenager number seven. With the rash of suicides at my school, I've been shipped off to my dad's Wyoming ranch for “my own safety. ...

  • Giveaway: Romancing the Dark in the City of Light (US Only)

    Romancing the Dark in the City of Light by Ann Jacobus Release Date: October 6, 2015   About the Book Summer Barnes just moved to Paris to repeat her senior year of high school. After being kicked out of four boarding schools, she has to get on the right track or risk ...

  • Giveaway: Darkthaw by Kate A. Boorman (International)

    Darkthaw by Kate Boorman Release Date: Oct 13, 2015   About the Book DARKTHAW Council has fallen. The Thaw has arrived. The world outside Emmeline’s fortification awaits. Urged on by her dreams, Emmeline sets out with new friend Matisa and her beloved Kane, ven ...

  • Giveaway: Until Beth by Lisa Amowitz (International)

    UNTIL BETH Author/Illustrator:  Lisa Amowitz Release Date: 9/29/15   About the Book Talented rock guitarist Beth Collins has been barely holding herself together for months, ever since her boyfriend and bandmate became the latest victim in a string of suspicio ...

  • Givaway: A Frozen Heart by Elizabeth Rudnick (US Only)

    A FROZEN HEART by Elizabeth Rudnick In stores October 6th   ABOUT THE BOOK Told in alternating chapters from both Anna's and Hans' perspectives, A Frozen Heart takes a sophisticated look at events of Frozen, exploring the couple's backstories, motivations, and doomed ...

  • Season's Readings--Fall Edition

      What better way to spend your fall days than with a new book? Here at YABC we are committed to finding the best reads of the season. Lucky for us, we didn't have to look too far. Our fantastic staff of reviewers have helped us compile a list of what we think are the best autumn reads t ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Aubree Sadler can’t think of a better place to be than in perfectly boring Ohio, and she’s ready for a...
0.0 (0)
Lincoln's Spymaster
Category: Kids Nonfiction
From Samantha Seiple, the award winning author of Ghosts in the Fog, comes the first book for young adults to...
0.0 (0)
Things aren't always as they appear… New school. Cross-country move. Broken heart. If only these were Emma Guthrie's worst problems....
0.0 (0)
London has been destroyed in a blitz of bombs and disease. The only ones who have survived are children, among...
0.0 (0)
Despite Rives and Skye's attempt to destroy Nil, the island remains. And back in this world, Nil won't let Skye...
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
"A well-written, engaging exploration of the maxim, 'Be careful what you wish for.'"-KIRKUS REVIEWS Snip, Snip. That's all it...
0.0 (0)
The dark will bring your worst nightmares to light in this gripping and eerie survival story, perfect for fans of...
0.0 (0)
17-year-old Audie doesn't view medical trial participation as a temporary means to an end. She's one of the young CVs--Career...
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old RJ always gets what she wants. So when her soul is accidentally collected by a distracted Grim Reaper, somebody...
0.0 (0)
They think I'll be number seven. Unlucky number seven. Dead teenager number seven. With the rash of suicides at my...
0.0 (0)
With deeply moving human drama, nail-biting suspense—and bold speculation informed by a degree in physics—C. A....
0.0 (0)
In the sequel to the award-winning Killer of Enemies, Apache teen Lozen and her family are...
0.0 (0)
A haunting and luminous Gothic YA novel about reckoning with the ghosts of one's dark past....
0.0 (0)
A haunting and mesmerizing story about sisterhood, family, love, and loss by literary luminary Edwidge Danticat....
0.0 (0)
All-girl camp. First love. First heartbreak. At once romantic and devastating, brutally honest and full of...
0.0 (0)
Generations of children and teens have grown up on R.L. Stine's bestselling and hugely popular horror...
4.3 (2)
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Vincent comes a richly imagined, provocative new series set...
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Ingrid Law delivers another heartwarming story about the magic of friendship and the power of family in this companion to...
0.0 (0)
Becoming Darkness is a dark, action-filled tale set in an alternate twenty-first century in which Hitler...
0.0 (0)
Very Sales-Woodruff is done being a good girl. Done being the only responsible one in a...
0.0 (0)