The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Need Some Ideas for Books to Read? YABC is Here to Help!

Posted by on in News & Updates
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 2757
  • 1 Comment
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

Running dry on ideas for that next great book to read? Well have no fear! Here are some recommendations for your next read in genres of all shapes and sizes!

Sci-fi Adventure

If you love the fast-paced action set in a not-too-distant future that sets itself up nicely for a trilogy found in Marie Lu's LEGEND and PRODIGY

Prodigy

Then you might also like:

Nick James's SKYSHIP ACADEMY: THE PEARL WARS

Skyship Academy

or Beth Revis's ACROSS THE UNIVERSE

Across the Universe

Fantasy Adventure

If you like the medieval throwbacks full of magic and fantastical beasts as seen in Rachel Hartman's SERAPHINA

Seraphina

Then you might also like:

Kristin Cashore's GRACELING

Graceling

or Laini Taylor's DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE

Daughter of SAB

Contemporary Trauma/Romance/Family Drama

If you like the tear-jerking, heart-wrenching, clutch your chest with emotion drama found in John Green's THE FAULT IN OUR STARS

fault in our stars

Then you might also like:

Jennifer Castle's THE BEGINNING OF AFTER

beginning of after

or Stephen Chbosky's THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER

PERKS OF BEING

Dark Contemporary

If you like the slightly twisted and extremely dark characters brooding in Jay Asher's THIRTEEN REASONS WHY

Thirteen Reasons

Then you might also like:

Gayle Forman's IF I STAY

If i stay

or Julie Anne Peters's BY THE TIME YOU READ THIS, I'LL BE DEAD

BY THE TIME

Middle Grade Contemporary

If you like the quirky antics of hilarious tweens as seen in Jeff Kinney's DIARY OF A WIMPY KID

diary wimpy

Then you might also like:

Stephan Pastis's TIMMY FAILURE

timmy failure

or Tom Angleberger's THE STRANGE CASE OF ORIGAMI YODA

origami yoda

Middle Grade Fantasy Adventure

If you like the fantastical hijinks full of mythological history found in Rick Riordan's PERCY JACKSON & THE OLYMPIANS Series

lightning thief

Then you might also like:

Peter Lerangis's SEVEN WONDERS Series

colossus rises

or Shannon Messenger's KEEPER OF THE LOST CITIES Series

keeper lost cities

 

Rate this blog entry:
0

Comments

  • Sasha Shamblen
    Sasha Shamblen Tuesday, 02 April 2013

    I have read some of these mostly in the contemporary section and I do recomend them as well

    Reply Cancel

Leave your comment

Guest Friday, 01 August 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Perfect for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix, When You Reach Me, and Savvy, this charming time-travel story from husband-and-wife team...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bees.jpg
The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Hunger Games in this brilliantly imagined debut set in an ancient culture where only the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Damian Cass died when he was a teenager at the hands of his own father. A hateful soul afterwards, and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becky Thatcher has her side of the story to tell—and it’s a whopper—in this creative spin on Mark Twain’s beloved...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
An all-new, mesmerizing adventure from the masterful Gordon Korman! Jackson Opus has always been persuasive, but he doesn't know that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jax Opus knows he's not like other kids. And it isn't his skill on the basketball court or his test...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jesse is a wide receiver for the freshman team. Can he play against type and help his team as a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Kate’s older sister is way too perfect. Her younger sister is way too cute. And her mom wants her to...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Sarah Robinson is deeply troubled in the wake of her dad’s second marriage. She now has to deal with a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this romantic and evocative fantasy, Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
There’s something strange going on at Washington Irving Elementary School. Kids are turning into monsters—literally! First it was Sebastian, then...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chase Clark just upped his game. As an eighth grader, he scores the chance to play on the varsity football...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren has a secret. Colby has a problem. But when they find each other, everything falls into place. In alternating...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Alek Khederian should have guessed something was wrong when his parents took him to a restaurant. Everyone knows that Armenians...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family's antique shop, she knows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne’s at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Valentina Cruz no longer exists. One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clyde has worked for Mr. Wilkshire for a very long time. Life is comfortable in his keeper's chateau—until Mr. Wilkshire...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)