The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Need Some Ideas for Books to Read? YABC is Here to Help!

Running dry on ideas for that next great book to read? Well have no fear! Here are some recommendations for your next read in genres of all shapes and sizes!

Sci-fi Adventure

If you love the fast-paced action set in a not-too-distant future that sets itself up nicely for a trilogy found in Marie Lu's LEGEND and PRODIGY

Prodigy

Then you might also like:

Nick James's SKYSHIP ACADEMY: THE PEARL WARS

Skyship Academy

or Beth Revis's ACROSS THE UNIVERSE

Across the Universe

Fantasy Adventure

If you like the medieval throwbacks full of magic and fantastical beasts as seen in Rachel Hartman's SERAPHINA

Seraphina

Then you might also like:

Kristin Cashore's GRACELING

Graceling

or Laini Taylor's DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE

Daughter of SAB

Contemporary Trauma/Romance/Family Drama

If you like the tear-jerking, heart-wrenching, clutch your chest with emotion drama found in John Green's THE FAULT IN OUR STARS

fault in our stars

Then you might also like:

Jennifer Castle's THE BEGINNING OF AFTER

beginning of after

or Stephen Chbosky's THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER

PERKS OF BEING

Dark Contemporary

If you like the slightly twisted and extremely dark characters brooding in Jay Asher's THIRTEEN REASONS WHY

Thirteen Reasons

Then you might also like:

Gayle Forman's IF I STAY

If i stay

or Julie Anne Peters's BY THE TIME YOU READ THIS, I'LL BE DEAD

BY THE TIME

Middle Grade Contemporary

If you like the quirky antics of hilarious tweens as seen in Jeff Kinney's DIARY OF A WIMPY KID

diary wimpy

Then you might also like:

Stephan Pastis's TIMMY FAILURE

timmy failure

or Tom Angleberger's THE STRANGE CASE OF ORIGAMI YODA

origami yoda

Middle Grade Fantasy Adventure

If you like the fantastical hijinks full of mythological history found in Rick Riordan's PERCY JACKSON & THE OLYMPIANS Series

lightning thief

Then you might also like:

Peter Lerangis's SEVEN WONDERS Series

colossus rises

or Shannon Messenger's KEEPER OF THE LOST CITIES Series

keeper lost cities

 

Rate this blog entry:
YA Books Central 101 - For those wondering what ou...
Blog Tour Kickoff: The Symptoms of My Insanity by ...

Related Posts

Comments 1

 
Sasha Shamblen on Tuesday, 02 April 2013 14:17

I have read some of these mostly in the contemporary section and I do recomend them as well

I have read some of these mostly in the contemporary section and I do recomend them as well

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

   

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Xalata Orbit and Melody Fret: The Hammer of Asttar
Xalata Orbit meets danger head-on when she leaves a troubled...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)