The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Need Some Ideas for Books to Read? YABC is Here to Help!

Posted by on in News & Updates
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 2881
  • 1 Comment
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

Running dry on ideas for that next great book to read? Well have no fear! Here are some recommendations for your next read in genres of all shapes and sizes!

Sci-fi Adventure

If you love the fast-paced action set in a not-too-distant future that sets itself up nicely for a trilogy found in Marie Lu's LEGEND and PRODIGY

Prodigy

Then you might also like:

Nick James's SKYSHIP ACADEMY: THE PEARL WARS

Skyship Academy

or Beth Revis's ACROSS THE UNIVERSE

Across the Universe

Fantasy Adventure

If you like the medieval throwbacks full of magic and fantastical beasts as seen in Rachel Hartman's SERAPHINA

Seraphina

Then you might also like:

Kristin Cashore's GRACELING

Graceling

or Laini Taylor's DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE

Daughter of SAB

Contemporary Trauma/Romance/Family Drama

If you like the tear-jerking, heart-wrenching, clutch your chest with emotion drama found in John Green's THE FAULT IN OUR STARS

fault in our stars

Then you might also like:

Jennifer Castle's THE BEGINNING OF AFTER

beginning of after

or Stephen Chbosky's THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER

PERKS OF BEING

Dark Contemporary

If you like the slightly twisted and extremely dark characters brooding in Jay Asher's THIRTEEN REASONS WHY

Thirteen Reasons

Then you might also like:

Gayle Forman's IF I STAY

If i stay

or Julie Anne Peters's BY THE TIME YOU READ THIS, I'LL BE DEAD

BY THE TIME

Middle Grade Contemporary

If you like the quirky antics of hilarious tweens as seen in Jeff Kinney's DIARY OF A WIMPY KID

diary wimpy

Then you might also like:

Stephan Pastis's TIMMY FAILURE

timmy failure

or Tom Angleberger's THE STRANGE CASE OF ORIGAMI YODA

origami yoda

Middle Grade Fantasy Adventure

If you like the fantastical hijinks full of mythological history found in Rick Riordan's PERCY JACKSON & THE OLYMPIANS Series

lightning thief

Then you might also like:

Peter Lerangis's SEVEN WONDERS Series

colossus rises

or Shannon Messenger's KEEPER OF THE LOST CITIES Series

keeper lost cities

 

Rate this blog entry:
0

Comments

  • Sasha Shamblen
    Sasha Shamblen Tuesday, 02 April 2013

    I have read some of these mostly in the contemporary section and I do recomend them as well

    Reply Cancel

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Friday, 27 February 2015

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)