The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

It's REACHED Day!

Posted by on in Blog Tours
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 1085
  • 0 Comment
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

reachedonsale-11.13

 

Fellow Traders,

Success has been REACHED!

Celebrate the release of the highly anticipated final chapter in the Matched trilogy by grabbing your copy today!

You can participate in REACHED day on Facebook, Twitter & Tumblr too.

Here's my review:

 

All has been sorted...and I'm still Team Kyander.

I was so excited when I found out I was going to have a chance to read this early! Thank you Penguin and YABC!

There's always a lot riding on the final book in a series, from unanswered questions to a love triangle that needs to be sorted out, and Reached is no different. Topping off at a whopping 500+ pages, readers will learn the true identity of The Pilot, The Rising makes it's intentions known and the mystery of Ky's inclusion in the Matching pool is solved. If readers thought Cassia, Ky and Xander were through the worst of things, they may want to pop a green tablet because before all is said and done, love will be pushed to it's limits, people will die and new beginnings forged.

One of the things I enjoyed most about Crossed (Book 2) was the dual POV. It's always nice to be able to "hear" what's going on in another character's head and the fact that it was Ky made it all the better. *flails* Reached ups the *flails* factor by including Xander's POV, giving readers a chance to see the story unfold from...count em', one, two, THREE different angles. BTW, if that seems spoilery then I apologize, (not really) but feel free to open your tablet containers and pop a red one - then you'll forget I even said anything. Maybe. *winks*

What I liked: 

~ Reached picks up where Crossed leaves off and we find Cassia, Ky, and Indie all working for The Rising in some capacity, while Xander seems to have taken a different route. He's still holding onto the hope that Cassia will see that they are in fact, a perfect match but if she doesn't agree, I'd be more than happy to volunteer for the position. 

~ All three of these characters have grown quite a bit since we originally met them in Matched. They all discover that not everything is black and white and each of them have a purpose to fulfill, even if it means sacrificing what they want. 

~ While the high page count seemed a bit daunting at first, it was necessary in order to tie up all of the loose ends.

~ This was one of the more interesting love triangles I've encountered and I felt all three handled it maturely. No one came to their final decisions lightly and it seemed to work out for everyone in one way or another in the end. (Regardless of who Cassia chose, I'll forever be, Team Kyander!)

What I wasn't crazy about: 

First let me say that, "not liking" certain aspects of a book is not necessarily a negative. 

~ The Matched Trilogy has always felt like a love story to me. Yes, there's questions about The Society and the role that the Rising plays but I expected this final book to focus more on the love aspect and it fell short for me. (There was not nearly enough kissing in Reached for my liking. There, I said it.)

~ I wasn't a fan of Indie in Crossed and I really didn't like her in Reached. Her behavior, which was borderline obsessive in book 2, is amplified in this one. She made a few choices that were selfless but for the most part, her actions made me uncomfortable. 

~ I understand that any good love story needs to go through a time of "testing" but I felt as if these characters had been through enough already.

~ The focus seemed to be more on the future of their world and their government but I would've liked to have seen a glimpse into the future, a "Where are they now" kind of thing. What line of work did they choose? What about their relationships, etc.

This was a good ending to this series and fans won't be disappointed.

Good Points
Beautiful cover!
Do You Recommend?
Yes

 

Ally’s REACHED tour starts today! LINK TO EVENTS LISTING ON FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/matchedbooks/events

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
0
Tagged in: Reached

Comments

  • No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Sunday, 30 August 2015

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • YABC August Book Haul

    It's here! It's Here! The August Book Haul is finally here! Enjoy this mountain of wordy-filled goodness.  Yay for books! ...

  • Giveaway: Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials (US Only)

    MAZE RUNNER: THE SCORCH TRIALS 20th Century Fox In theaters September 18, 2015   The Maze was just the beginning! See Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials in theaters September 18   In this next chapter of the epic “Maze Runner” saga, Thomas (Dylan O’Brien) a ...

  • Celebrating National Dog Day with Richard Torrey!

    TOO COOL TO BRAG. TORREY’S MY DOG, BOB, INTRODUCES KIDS TO A DIFFERENT WAY TO BE GREAT Raab Associates   Quiet dignity is vastly underrated, but it’s a quality shared by those who are truly fortunate to have learne ...

  • Author Trisha Leigh's TOP 5 OTPs

    Today we welcome Trisha Leigh, author of RETURN ONCE MORE, to the blog to share with us her top 5 OTPs!  RETURN ONCE MORE is a book about a teenage girl caught between her responsibility to document the past and her desire to use time travel in order to meet her one true love—even if he ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Emerge: The Edge by Melissa A. Craven + Giveaway (US Only)

    Welcome to today's cover reveal! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for EMERGE: THE EDGE by Melissa A. Craven, releasing September 29, 2015 from Midnight Hour Studio. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Melissa:   Hello YABCers! And welc ...

  • On the Horizon

      DC Comics’ Lois Lane Returns in Lois Lane: Double Down from Switch Press  Second Book in the New Young Adult Series by Gwenda Bond   MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. (August 24, 2015) – DC Comics’ iconic character Lois Lane will be back for more in Lois Lane: Dou ...

  • What's New in YA--August 25, 2015

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       Inspired by Victor Hugo’s classic, Les Miserables, A Little in Love beautifully conveys the heartbreaking story of street girl Eponine.   Paris, 1832 ...

  • Exclusive Sneak Peek at LIGHTLESS by C.A. Higgins + Giveaway (US Only)

    LIGHTLESS by C.A. Higgins Release Date: September 29, 2015 Publisher: Ballantine / Del Rey Hardcover   About the Book With deeply moving human drama, nail-biting suspense—and bold speculation informed by a degree in physics—C. A. Higgins spins a riveting science fict ...

  • Love Letters to Literature #1

      Contributed by Kayla King, Blog Manager and Staff Reviewer   Dear J.K. Rowling,   I suppose the best way to begin this letter would be to say thank you! Many readers might say that you changed their lives with the inception of your boy wizard. I'm su ...

  • Letters to the Living

      Contriubted by Joanne Mumley   Our very own Joanne Mumley, interviewed Ava Dellaira, author of Love Letters to the Dead, at Comic Con. This wonderful book and Joanne's interview, which you can find below, inspired all of us here at YABC! Don't believe us? Read on to f ...

  • Giveaway: The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender (US & Canada Only)

    THE DEAD GIRLS OF HYSTERIA HALL  by Katie Alender  Release Date: August 25, 2015   About the Book Asylum meets Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, in this riveting tale of ghosts, secrets, and family, from master of suspense Katie Alender. D ...

  • Giveaway: The Appearance of Annie van Sinderen by Katherine Howe (US only)

    THE APPEARANCE OF ANNIE VAN SINDEREN by Katherine Howe  Release Date: September 15, 2015   About the Book A haunting, contemporary love story from the New York Times bestselling author of Conversion It’s July in New York City, and aspiring filmmaker Wes A ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

A girl’s dark destiny could cause the unraveling of the world in this spellbinding novel from the author of A...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
"A publisher in New York asked me to write down what I know about the Greek gods, and I was...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
17 year old Ember Denning has made an art of isolating herself. She prefers the dead. She spends her days...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
n this exciting and action-packed adventure by an award-winning author, a young girl discovers her secret ancient bloodline. The fate...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
ELIDAIRE_The_Tome_of_Knowledge_COVER.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Four years after the murder of his mother, Revel Harcourt, leader of a group of an ancient race of demon-hunting...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Metal crumpled, screamed as the force sent bodies in all directions. Instant stink of burnt rubber, glimpse of an arm...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes, blackmail is the only weapon a girl has… Haley Patterson has had a crush on...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the sequel to the award-winning Killer of Enemies, Apache teen Lozen and her family are looking for a place...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
nspired by Victor Hugo's classic, Les Miserables, A Little in Love beautifully conveys the heartbreaking story...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
13 days.jpg
When Luke Manchett’s estranged father dies unexpectedly, he leaves his son a dark inheritance: a collection...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The world is a far different place in 2259. Thirty years of world war, rampant bombing, and the melting of...
 
0.0
 
4.9 (3)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Leia Swanson has always believed in monsters, especially after one killed her parents when she was seven years old. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in the gripping Wanted series, this Western revenge epic is a must-read for...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The whimsical "autobiography" of an imaginary friend who doesn't know he's imaginary—perfect for fans of The Miraculous Journey of Edward...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Remarque, a lonely boy raised by his grandfather, discovers a gateway that could lead him to everything he's ever wanted......
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kamran Smith has it all. He's the star of the football team, dates the most popular...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Blink—and you’ll miss her. Mei Barrett has been hiding all of her life. Raised in solitude by her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The eagerly-awaited sequel to the best-selling The Glass Sentence -- a historical, fantastical adventure perfect for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's a fairy-tale nightmare . . . One girl is kept in a room where every...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)