The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form


Posted by on in Blog Tours
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 1102
  • 0 Comment
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post



Fellow Traders,

Success has been REACHED!

Celebrate the release of the highly anticipated final chapter in the Matched trilogy by grabbing your copy today!

You can participate in REACHED day on Facebook, Twitter & Tumblr too.

Here's my review:


All has been sorted...and I'm still Team Kyander.

I was so excited when I found out I was going to have a chance to read this early! Thank you Penguin and YABC!

There's always a lot riding on the final book in a series, from unanswered questions to a love triangle that needs to be sorted out, and Reached is no different. Topping off at a whopping 500+ pages, readers will learn the true identity of The Pilot, The Rising makes it's intentions known and the mystery of Ky's inclusion in the Matching pool is solved. If readers thought Cassia, Ky and Xander were through the worst of things, they may want to pop a green tablet because before all is said and done, love will be pushed to it's limits, people will die and new beginnings forged.

One of the things I enjoyed most about Crossed (Book 2) was the dual POV. It's always nice to be able to "hear" what's going on in another character's head and the fact that it was Ky made it all the better. *flails* Reached ups the *flails* factor by including Xander's POV, giving readers a chance to see the story unfold from...count em', one, two, THREE different angles. BTW, if that seems spoilery then I apologize, (not really) but feel free to open your tablet containers and pop a red one - then you'll forget I even said anything. Maybe. *winks*

What I liked: 

~ Reached picks up where Crossed leaves off and we find Cassia, Ky, and Indie all working for The Rising in some capacity, while Xander seems to have taken a different route. He's still holding onto the hope that Cassia will see that they are in fact, a perfect match but if she doesn't agree, I'd be more than happy to volunteer for the position. 

~ All three of these characters have grown quite a bit since we originally met them in Matched. They all discover that not everything is black and white and each of them have a purpose to fulfill, even if it means sacrificing what they want. 

~ While the high page count seemed a bit daunting at first, it was necessary in order to tie up all of the loose ends.

~ This was one of the more interesting love triangles I've encountered and I felt all three handled it maturely. No one came to their final decisions lightly and it seemed to work out for everyone in one way or another in the end. (Regardless of who Cassia chose, I'll forever be, Team Kyander!)

What I wasn't crazy about: 

First let me say that, "not liking" certain aspects of a book is not necessarily a negative. 

~ The Matched Trilogy has always felt like a love story to me. Yes, there's questions about The Society and the role that the Rising plays but I expected this final book to focus more on the love aspect and it fell short for me. (There was not nearly enough kissing in Reached for my liking. There, I said it.)

~ I wasn't a fan of Indie in Crossed and I really didn't like her in Reached. Her behavior, which was borderline obsessive in book 2, is amplified in this one. She made a few choices that were selfless but for the most part, her actions made me uncomfortable. 

~ I understand that any good love story needs to go through a time of "testing" but I felt as if these characters had been through enough already.

~ The focus seemed to be more on the future of their world and their government but I would've liked to have seen a glimpse into the future, a "Where are they now" kind of thing. What line of work did they choose? What about their relationships, etc.

This was a good ending to this series and fans won't be disappointed.

Good Points
Beautiful cover!
Do You Recommend?





Rate this blog entry:
Tagged in: Reached


  • No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Monday, 05 October 2015


  • Giveaway: NIGHTFALL by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski (US Only)

    NIGHTFALL by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski Release Date: 9/22/2015     About the Book The dark will bring your worst nightmares to light in this gripping and eerie survival story, perfect for fans of James Dashner and Neil Gaiman. On Marin’s island, ...

  • Giveaway: Placebo Junkies by J.C. Carleson (US Only)

    PLACEBO JUNKIES by J.C. Carleson   Release Date: 10/27/15   About the Book 17-year-old Audie doesn't view medical trial participation as a temporary means to an end. She's one of the young CVs--Career Volunteers--who work pharmaceutical trials to their advantage. ...

  • Giveaway: Eye of the Ninja by DM Marlowe (International)

    Eye of the Ninja by  D.M. Marlowe Release Date: October 1, 2015   About the Book Blink—and you’ll miss her. Mei Barrett has been hiding all of her life. Raised in solitude by her beloved father, she’s been trained to fight, to adapt, to defend. She couldn’t ...

  • Giveaway: Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Francis Brambles (US & Canada)

    Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Francis Brambles Release Date: October 1, 2015   About the Book Like everyone else living in Haven, seventeen-year-old, Sophie Harkness, is an Immune — a carrier of the genetic mutation that protects her from the virus Hitler unleashed upon t ...

  • Giveaway: It's a Wonderful Death by Sarah J Schmitt (US & Canada)

    It’s A Wonderful Death  by Sarah J. Schmitt Release Date: Oct 6, 2015   About the Book Seventeen-year-old RJ always gets what she wants. So when her soul is accidentally collected by a distracted Grim Reaper, somebody in the afterlife better figure out a way to send ...

  • Giveaway: Rise of the Sidenah by C.M. Story (US Only)

    Rise of the Sidenah by C. M. Story Release Date: 9/24/15   About the Book Adrienna Vedica longs to build the creatures living in her imagination. One day, she hopes to sculpt them out of stone, creating great statues like those that guard the Celany village. She doe ...

  • Giveaway: Paint My Body Red by Heidi Kling (International)

    Paint My Body Red by Heidi R. Kling Release Date: 11/2/15   About the Book They think I'll be number seven. Unlucky number seven. Dead teenager number seven. With the rash of suicides at my school, I've been shipped off to my dad's Wyoming ranch for “my own safety. ...

  • Giveaway: Romancing the Dark in the City of Light (US Only)

    Romancing the Dark in the City of Light by Ann Jacobus Release Date: October 6, 2015   About the Book Summer Barnes just moved to Paris to repeat her senior year of high school. After being kicked out of four boarding schools, she has to get on the right track or risk ...

  • Giveaway: Darkthaw by Kate A. Boorman (International)

    Darkthaw by Kate Boorman Release Date: Oct 13, 2015   About the Book DARKTHAW Council has fallen. The Thaw has arrived. The world outside Emmeline’s fortification awaits. Urged on by her dreams, Emmeline sets out with new friend Matisa and her beloved Kane, ven ...

  • Giveaway: Until Beth by Lisa Amowitz (International)

    UNTIL BETH Author/Illustrator:  Lisa Amowitz Release Date: 9/29/15   About the Book Talented rock guitarist Beth Collins has been barely holding herself together for months, ever since her boyfriend and bandmate became the latest victim in a string of suspicio ...

  • Givaway: A Frozen Heart by Elizabeth Rudnick (US Only)

    A FROZEN HEART by Elizabeth Rudnick In stores October 6th   ABOUT THE BOOK Told in alternating chapters from both Anna's and Hans' perspectives, A Frozen Heart takes a sophisticated look at events of Frozen, exploring the couple's backstories, motivations, and doomed ...

  • Season's Readings--Fall Edition

      What better way to spend your fall days than with a new book? Here at YABC we are committed to finding the best reads of the season. Lucky for us, we didn't have to look too far. Our fantastic staff of reviewers have helped us compile a list of what we think are the best autumn reads t ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

A new YA novel from novelist Patrick Ness, author of the Carnegie Medal- and Kate Greenaway Medal-winning A Monster Calls...
0.0 (0)
From author Avery Hastings comes Torn, the heart-pounding conclusion to the Feuds Series. Determined to escape from TOR-N, a corrupt...
0.0 (0)
Aubree Sadler can’t think of a better place to be than in perfectly boring Ohio, and she’s ready for a...
0.0 (0)
Lincoln's Spymaster
Category: Kids Nonfiction
From Samantha Seiple, the award winning author of Ghosts in the Fog, comes the first book for young adults to...
0.0 (0)
Things aren't always as they appear… New school. Cross-country move. Broken heart. If only these were Emma Guthrie's worst problems....
0.0 (0)
London has been destroyed in a blitz of bombs and disease. The only ones who have survived are children, among...
0.0 (0)
Despite Rives and Skye's attempt to destroy Nil, the island remains. And back in this world, Nil won't let Skye...
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
"A well-written, engaging exploration of the maxim, 'Be careful what you wish for.'"-KIRKUS REVIEWS Snip, Snip. That's all it...
0.0 (0)
Katalina Winter was prepared for life to change when she turned eighteen—but she never expected to actually change. Learning that...
0.0 (0)
The dark will bring your worst nightmares to light in this gripping and eerie survival story, perfect for fans of...
0.0 (0)
17-year-old Audie doesn't view medical trial participation as a temporary means to an end. She's one of the young CVs--Career...
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old RJ always gets what she wants. So when her soul is accidentally collected by a distracted Grim Reaper, somebody...
0.0 (0)
They think I'll be number seven. Unlucky number seven. Dead teenager number seven. With the rash of suicides at my...
0.0 (0)
With deeply moving human drama, nail-biting suspense—and bold speculation informed by a degree in physics—C. A....
0.0 (0)
In the sequel to the award-winning Killer of Enemies, Apache teen Lozen and her family are...
0.0 (0)
A haunting and luminous Gothic YA novel about reckoning with the ghosts of one's dark past....
0.0 (0)
A haunting and mesmerizing story about sisterhood, family, love, and loss by literary luminary Edwidge Danticat....
0.0 (0)
All-girl camp. First love. First heartbreak. At once romantic and devastating, brutally honest and full of...
0.0 (0)
Generations of children and teens have grown up on R.L. Stine's bestselling and hugely popular horror...
4.3 (2)
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Vincent comes a richly imagined, provocative new series set...
0.0 (0)