The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

It's REACHED Day!

Posted by on in Blog Tours
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 983
  • 0 Comment
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

reachedonsale-11.13

 

Fellow Traders,

Success has been REACHED!

Celebrate the release of the highly anticipated final chapter in the Matched trilogy by grabbing your copy today!

You can participate in REACHED day on Facebook, Twitter & Tumblr too.

Here's my review:

 

All has been sorted...and I'm still Team Kyander.

I was so excited when I found out I was going to have a chance to read this early! Thank you Penguin and YABC!

There's always a lot riding on the final book in a series, from unanswered questions to a love triangle that needs to be sorted out, and Reached is no different. Topping off at a whopping 500+ pages, readers will learn the true identity of The Pilot, The Rising makes it's intentions known and the mystery of Ky's inclusion in the Matching pool is solved. If readers thought Cassia, Ky and Xander were through the worst of things, they may want to pop a green tablet because before all is said and done, love will be pushed to it's limits, people will die and new beginnings forged.

One of the things I enjoyed most about Crossed (Book 2) was the dual POV. It's always nice to be able to "hear" what's going on in another character's head and the fact that it was Ky made it all the better. *flails* Reached ups the *flails* factor by including Xander's POV, giving readers a chance to see the story unfold from...count em', one, two, THREE different angles. BTW, if that seems spoilery then I apologize, (not really) but feel free to open your tablet containers and pop a red one - then you'll forget I even said anything. Maybe. *winks*

What I liked: 

~ Reached picks up where Crossed leaves off and we find Cassia, Ky, and Indie all working for The Rising in some capacity, while Xander seems to have taken a different route. He's still holding onto the hope that Cassia will see that they are in fact, a perfect match but if she doesn't agree, I'd be more than happy to volunteer for the position. 

~ All three of these characters have grown quite a bit since we originally met them in Matched. They all discover that not everything is black and white and each of them have a purpose to fulfill, even if it means sacrificing what they want. 

~ While the high page count seemed a bit daunting at first, it was necessary in order to tie up all of the loose ends.

~ This was one of the more interesting love triangles I've encountered and I felt all three handled it maturely. No one came to their final decisions lightly and it seemed to work out for everyone in one way or another in the end. (Regardless of who Cassia chose, I'll forever be, Team Kyander!)

What I wasn't crazy about: 

First let me say that, "not liking" certain aspects of a book is not necessarily a negative. 

~ The Matched Trilogy has always felt like a love story to me. Yes, there's questions about The Society and the role that the Rising plays but I expected this final book to focus more on the love aspect and it fell short for me. (There was not nearly enough kissing in Reached for my liking. There, I said it.)

~ I wasn't a fan of Indie in Crossed and I really didn't like her in Reached. Her behavior, which was borderline obsessive in book 2, is amplified in this one. She made a few choices that were selfless but for the most part, her actions made me uncomfortable. 

~ I understand that any good love story needs to go through a time of "testing" but I felt as if these characters had been through enough already.

~ The focus seemed to be more on the future of their world and their government but I would've liked to have seen a glimpse into the future, a "Where are they now" kind of thing. What line of work did they choose? What about their relationships, etc.

This was a good ending to this series and fans won't be disappointed.

Good Points
Beautiful cover!
Do You Recommend?
Yes

 

Ally’s REACHED tour starts today! LINK TO EVENTS LISTING ON FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/matchedbooks/events

 

 

Rate this blog entry:
0
Tagged in: Reached

Comments

  • No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Sunday, 26 April 2015

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • Chapter Reveal: The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen + Giveaway (International)

    The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen Release Date: March 26, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Laura:   Hi, YABC! I’m fired up about sharing my first chapter with you today. The Ark is about a young convict trapped in prison on the last day of ...

  • Author Top 5 with Django Wexler

      Today we welcome Django Wexler to YABC! Wexler's newly released sequel to The Forbidden Library, The Mad Apprentice: The Forbidden Library: Volume 2, is a fantasy adventure sure to appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Coroline, and Inkheart! Django has given us a list of the ...

  • April 2015 Book Haul!

    Hey YABCers!  Our office was innundated with fabulous kidlit, middle grade, and YA books this month! (Including an audio book and a graphic novel.) Check out our book haul below and tell us which books look the most interesting to you!    ...

  • Giveaway: Twintuition - Double Vision by Tia & Tamera Mowry (US Only)

    TWINTUITION: DOUBLE VISION by Tia & Tamera Mowry Release Date: April 21, 2015   About the Book Cassie and Caitlyn Waters may be identical twins, but everything else about them is completely different. The only thing they can agree on is that neither of them is happy th ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Complete Blooming Goddess Trilogy by Tellulah Darling + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE COMPLETE BLOOMING GODDESS TRILOGY by Tellulah Darling, releasing April 30, 2015 from Te Da Media. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Tellulah:   Hey YABC! I’ve basically been in sque ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.   Molly Barlow is facing on ...

  • The Librarian's Corner

        I am happy to share with the YABC community the brand new Librarian's Corner column! This column features three themed book recommendations from a Teen Librarian each month. My name is Eden Grey, and I'll be doing the column each month. I am a Teen Librarian, and I absolutel ...

  • Chapter Reveal: Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca

    Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca Release Date: June 9, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Gina:   I’m so excited to share the first chapter of LAST YEAR’S MISTAKE with all of you! I’ve written this opening many different ways, and I lov ...

  • Giveaway: The Ark by Laura Liddell (International)

    The Ark By Laura Liddell Nolen    Release Date: March 26, 2015   About the Book It’s the final days of earth, and sixteen-year-old Char is right where she belongs: in prison. With her criminal record, she doesn’t qualify for a place on an Ark, one of the five ...

  • Giveaway: 5 To 1 by Holly Bodger (US & Canada Only)

    5 to1 By Holly Bodger Release Date: 5/12/15   About the Book Sudasa doesn't want to be a wife and Kiran, a boy forced to compete in the test to become her husband, has other plans as well. Sudasa's family wants nothing more than for their daughter to do the right thing and p ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Tor Maddox: Unleashed by Liz Coley + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers, and welcome to today's cover reveal! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for TOR MADDOX: UNLEASHED by Liz Coley, releasing May 1, 2015 from LCTeen. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Liz:   Hi YABC! I’m thrilled to int ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!   The sheriff's son, Kellan Turner, is not the golden boy everyone thinks he is, and Romy Grey knows that for a fact. Because no one wants to believe a girl from the wrong side of town, ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

The remarkable third novel in Sara B. Larson's bestselling Defy series! At last, Alexa and King Damian are engaged to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After risking her life in the mortal world, the faerie princess Elora returns home to incite a revolution. Allied with...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Shakespeare Book brings the work of William Shakespeare to life with full-color photography, images, idea webs, timelines, and quotes...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Louisa May Alcott can't believe it—her mother is leaving for the summer to earn money for the family and Louisa...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fan-favorite author Bree Despain continues her modern-day romance trilogy inspired by the Greek myth of Persephone and Hades with this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In critically acclaimed author Sarah Darer Littman's gripping new novel what happens online doesn't always stay online . . ....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Lauren Barnholdt, and Susane Colasanti, The Boyfriend Project is a romantic read about a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the same world as The Promise of Amazing, this smart, surprising, and romantic follow-up to Robin Constantine's debut...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin Emerson's Exile trilogy combines the swoon-worthy romance of a Susane Colasanti novel with the rock 'n' roll of Eleanor...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kody Keplinger returns to the world of The DUFF in this brand-new companion novel! Sonny Ardmore is an excellent liar....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"A girl takes over her twin sister's identity in this emotionally charged page-turner about the complicated bond between sisters." Ella...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Imagination takes on new meaning for a uniquely talented teen in this debut novel that is a breathtaking blend of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fifteen top young-adult authors let us in on provocative secrets in a fascinating collection that will have readers talking. A...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke & Bone, The Girl at Midnight...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
A remarkable and utterly inventive novel bursting with intrigue and romance, from Sharon Cameron, acclaimed author of THE DARK UNWINDING,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maria Dahvana Headley's soaring YA debut is a fiercely intelligent, multilayered fantasy where Neil Gaiman's Stardust meets John Green's The...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Ember Hill left the dragon organization Talon to take her chances with rebel dragon Cobalt and his crew of rogues....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fast and the Furious gets a futuristic twist in this action-packed debut! On corporately controlled Castra, rally racing is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second installment in the epic Starbound trilogy introduces a new pair of star-crossed lovers on two sides of a...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
730. That's how many days I've been trapped. 18. That's how many days I have left to find a way...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)