It's Live!! Cover Reveal: The Disappearances by Emily Bain Murphy + Giveaway (US Only)

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: The Disappearances by Emily Bain Murphy + Giveaway (US Only)

Hi, YABCers!

Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE DISAPPEARANCES by Emily Bain Murphy, releasing July 4, 2017 from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Emily:

The idea for THE DISAPPEARANCES began when I imagined magic as a glittering dust I could hold in the palm of my hand. I started thinking: what if this magic somehow illuminated some of the wonder and beauty that already exist in our own world? And what if those things then systematically started to disappear?

I think the cover designer did such an amazing job capturing the atmospheric tone of THE DISAPPEARANCES. I get the most lovely sense of melancholy, mystery, and magic from it. And that is really what the heart of Aila's story is about--what it means to find beauty, hope, and magic in the world even after losing someone to death, the most formidable Disappearance of all.

I couldn't be more excited to share the cover reveal with you today, and I hope that you love it as much as I do!

- Emily Bain Murphy (THE DISAPPEARANCES, HMH Books for Young Readers)

 

Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

Here it is!

 
 
 
 

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so others can enter Emily's giveaway. Thank you! ***

THE DISAPPEARANCES

by Emily Bain Murphy
Release date: July 4, 2017
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780544879362
 
About the Book

Every seven years something disappears in the town of Sterling: reflections, dreams, colors, stars. When Aila Quinn arrives, she realizes why her deceased mother, Juliet, never spoke of growing up there—the town is cursed to lose the experiences that weave life together, and the theory is that Juliet is to blame.

Aila sets out to clear her mother’s name with the help of George, whose goofy charm makes him a fast friend; Beas, the enigmatic violinist who writes poetry on her

knees; and William, whose pull on Aila’s heart terrifies her.

The Disappearances is a bewitching tale full of intrigue, beauty, and dread that will leave you entranced.

To learn more about this book and see our review, click HERE.
 
 
 

About the Author

Emily Bain Murphy grew up in Tokyo and Hong Kong, graduated from Tufts with a major in creative writing, and now lives in San Francisco with her family. She has been published in the Indianapolis Star and Indianapolis Monthly Magazine. The Disappearances is Emily's debut novel. 

Twitter | Web | Facebook | Instagram|Preorder | Goodreads

Giveaway Details

Three winners will each receive an ARC of THE DISAPPEARANCES, when available.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rate this blog entry:
Featured Review: Radical (E.M. Kokie)
What's Hot in KU
 

Comments 11

Shannon Mizikoski on Friday, 23 September 2016 01:34

The book sounds quite intriguing! ANd I love the cover, it's a great blend of eerie and pretty!

0
The book sounds quite intriguing! ANd I love the cover, it's a great blend of eerie and pretty! :D
Tiffany Engler on Saturday, 24 September 2016 09:04

The book looks so interesting, almost in a scary kind of way! From reading the synopsis I can tell I'll love this one!

0
The book looks so interesting, almost in a scary kind of way! From reading the synopsis I can tell I'll love this one!
Eddie Black on Thursday, 29 September 2016 11:29

The cover is creepy but not in an off-putting way--more in a "tell me more!" kind of way. I like any story that has to do with random, unexplained disappearances. They always make the best page-turners.

0
The cover is creepy but not in an off-putting way--more in a "tell me more!" kind of way. I like any story that has to do with random, unexplained disappearances. They always make the best page-turners.
Linda Romer on Saturday, 01 October 2016 14:29

The Disappearances sounds like a good read! Thank you ♡ I think the cover is mysterious.

0
The Disappearances sounds like a good read! Thank you ♡ I think the cover is mysterious.
Sam on Tuesday, 04 October 2016 03:42

I love rusted colors and the summary! Perfect for Halloween!

0
I love rusted colors and the summary! Perfect for Halloween!
Kelly G on Sunday, 09 October 2016 15:58

The cover for this is mysterious and the book itself sounds intriguing! Can't wait to read this one!

0
The cover for this is mysterious and the book itself sounds intriguing! Can't wait to read this one!
KM on Wednesday, 12 October 2016 18:20

I love this cover. It fits the eeriness of the plot perfectly.

0
I love this cover. It fits the eeriness of the plot perfectly.
John on Monday, 17 October 2016 02:17

The cover and synopsis are very intriguing.

0
The cover and synopsis are very intriguing.
Katrina on Wednesday, 19 October 2016 12:28

Oh this book sounds really interesting! And the cover is beautiful!

0
Oh this book sounds really interesting! And the cover is beautiful!
Emily on Thursday, 20 October 2016 20:09

I really like the cover and the book sounds so good!

0
I really like the cover and the book sounds so good!
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 22 October 2016 07:19

I love the cover and this book sounds exciting!

0
I love the cover and this book sounds exciting!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
 
5.0
"Hilde is at it again to get a factual story for the newspaper. This time, it's a mysterious flash of..."
Ghoulia
 
4.0
"To Ghoulia, she's just the average girl. To us, she's something completely different: a zombie. Ghoulia's aunt wants her to..."
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
 
3.5
"Lights Camera Carmen is a quick-to-read tale of a zealous and outspoken kid destined to make it big. ..."
Going Wild #3: Clash of Beasts
 
4.0
" Charlie, Mac, and Maria are back, having defeated Dr. Gray's army in Predator Vs. Prey. Kelly and Miko, however,..."
Gamer Army
 
4.0
"In a futuristic society where almost everything has gone online, Rogan spends a lot of his time playing the game..."
Love, Life, and the List
 
4.3
"Abby's goal in life is to become a serious artist. Her hope is to get into a special art camp...."
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
 
3.0
"It's 1984 and Laura Ratliff is a high school student with issues beyond a typical sixteen-year-old. Her mom and her..."
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
 
5.0
"ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING includes factual information on our world history. It's divided by time periods and eras of importance. This book..."
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
 
5.0
"Amy's family rushes for everything. "They walked fast, drove fast, shopped fast, and ate fast." This upsets Amy because there..."
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
 
5.0
"My Little Golden Book About the Solar System is the perfect way to introduce the planets. The pictures are vibrant..."
Beyond a Darkened Shore
 
4.7
"Top 4 Reasons to Grab BEYOND A DARKENED SHORE immediately: 1.) Historical fantasy worldbuilding: My biggest genre weakness..."
Onyx and Ivory
 
4.0
"Top 5 Reasons to Read Onyx and Ivory: 1.) The magic: Kate lives in a world where there are..."
Soccer School Season 2: Where Soccer Explains (Saves) the World
 
4.3
"In this second Soccer School book, the first chapter is about pee rather than poop (as the first book was)!..."
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
 
5.0
"THE FLASH: THE SECRET FILES OF BARRY ALLEN is the perfect guide for the Flash tv show. The layout of..."
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
 
4.0
"AN ASSASSIN’S GUIDE TO LOVE & TREASON by Virginia Boecker is such a breath of fresh air. It’s a YA..."
Giant Days
 
4.7
"Susan, Daisy and Esther are very different women, but they become fast friends after meeting on their college dorm floor...."
Holes
 
5.0
"Important message. Unique perspective."
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"The Namarielle is the perfect addition to any fantasy novel collection. The world is so well imagined in the little..."
The Blood Spell
 
5.0
"Blue de la Cour enjoys her quiet life with her father, passing the days by working in the shop and..."
 
5.0
"The Channeler is the first book in a new YA fantasy series written by William H. Kline IV. Tommy,..."