The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Giveaway: The Program by Suzanne Young (US only)

Posted by on in News & Updates
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 3051
  • 46 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

 

by Suzanne Young
ISBN: 9781442445802
Release Date: April 30, 2013
 
Sloane knows better than to cry in front of anyone. With suicide now an international epidemic, one outburst could land her in The Program, the only proven course of treatment. Sloane’s parents have already lost one child; Sloane knows they’ll do anything to keep her alive. She also knows that everyone who’s been through The Program returns as a blank slate. Because their depression is gone—but so are their memories.
 
Under constant surveillance at home and at school, Sloane puts on a brave face and keeps her feelings buried as deep as she can. The only person Sloane can be herself with is James. He’s promised to keep them both safe and out of treatment, and Sloane knows their love is strong enough to withstand anything. But despite the promises they made to each other, it’s getting harder to hide the truth. They are both growing weaker. Depression is setting in. And The Program is coming for them.
 
 
b2ap3_thumbnail_suzanneyoung.jpg
About the author:
 
Suzanne Young currently lives in Tempe, Arizona, where she teaches high school English. When not writing obsessively, Suzanne can be found searching her own tragic memories for inspiration. She is the author of several books for teens, including The Program, A Need So Beautiful, and A Want So Wicked.
 

Visit the Official Site of The Program

Visit Suzanne Young’s Official Site

Follow Suzanne Young on Twitter

 
 
 
~ Giveaway Details ~
(Enter by filling out the form below)

Build your happy playlist and keep safe from The Program!

Three (3) US winners will receive:

· $10 iTunes gift card

· Copy of The Program

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Rate this blog entry:
0

Comments

  • Joshua David Bellin
    Joshua David Bellin Wednesday, 08 May 2013

    This book has an amazing premise, and I'm really looking forward to reading it.

    Having never experienced clinical depression, it's really hard for me to answer the question of whether I'd rather keep my emotions or become a "blank slate" with neither positive nor negative feelings. Friends of mine who have suffered from depression--and one who took his own life--would answer, and have answered, very differently from me.

  • Geraldine Choy
    Geraldine Choy Wednesday, 08 May 2013

    I would definitely keep my emotions!

  • Michelle Quinlan
    Michelle Quinlan Wednesday, 08 May 2013

    Although there are days that I hate to be "emotional"...I would definitely not give them up!:D

  • Ashley Rogers
    Ashley Rogers Wednesday, 08 May 2013

    I would definitely rather have my emotions. I am a very emotional person and I would not trade it for the world. It is what makes me so passionate about what I do.

  • Vivien
    Vivien Wednesday, 08 May 2013

    Keep my emotions. They make me who I am .

  • ama ra
    ama ra Wednesday, 08 May 2013

    I will keep my emotions, because when you are sad and something makes you suddenly happy, it´s even more happier because you were sad

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 09 May 2013

    There are some days I seriously consider numbing everything out, but, no. I wouldn't give up my emotions if I could. Life would be too boring, otherwise.

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 09 May 2013

    On bad days I might be tempted to give them up, but I would never really go that far.

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 09 May 2013

    I think I would rather be in a "blank state". It sounds a little harsh, but that's what I would rather do.

  • Guest
    DeShea Jones Saturday, 11 May 2013

    I would rather keep my emotions, definitely. They are what make us human.

  • Kierra
    Kierra Saturday, 11 May 2013

    Gosh, I think I'd rather have a blank slate. I know, it is what defines me, but I couldn't handle keeping my emotions if it were overun with depressed feelings.

  • Guest
    bn100 Saturday, 11 May 2013

    give them up

  • Susan Light
    Susan Light Sunday, 12 May 2013

    Nope, I'll be keeping them.

  • Hannah
    Hannah Sunday, 12 May 2013

    This look awesome :)

  • Tiffany
    Tiffany Sunday, 12 May 2013

    KEEP. We'd all be robots without them.

  • Guest
    Allison Tuesday, 14 May 2013

    I would rather keep my emotions than get a "blank slate".

  • Danielle Schneider
    Danielle Schneider Wednesday, 15 May 2013

    I would rather keep my emotions. Yes, having to deal with depressing and sad emotions can be tedious, but to get rid of the bad feelings the good would have to follow. I don't want to lose out on the good feelings.

  • Rachel Spring
    Rachel Spring Wednesday, 15 May 2013

    There are times when I feel as if I am a blank slate because I feel numb, and no, I would much rather keep my emotions. Happiness is not possible without also experiencing sadness at times. And love can't exist without pain. Sometimes it is hard, but it is so much better to be able to feel, otherwise you wouldn't even really feel alive.

    On another note, this is my #1 most anticipated book of 2013, so I'll keep my fingers crossed!!!

  • Jennifer Greene
    Jennifer Greene Wednesday, 15 May 2013

    Keeping them, they help define who I am.

  • Guest
    Alicia batista Saturday, 18 May 2013

    I would rather hold them in verus become a blank state! Great giveaway! :)

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Wednesday, 01 April 2015

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
New York Times Bestseller * Indie List Bestseller * Soon to be a Film from Universal Pictures * A Barnes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Mr. S. Harris, Ignore the blob of red in the top left corner. It's jam, not blood, though I...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
At not quite fifteen, Stefan's father finally let him board the longship, Sja Vinna, to take part in his first...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you've told...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
In the explosive conclusion to the thrilling Revolution 19 series, the time has come to win the cities back from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Darcy Covington never had to worry about money or where her next shopping spree was coming from. Even her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reality is only an illusion. Except for those who can control it… Worst. Birthday. Ever. My first boyfriend dumped me—happy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
5-to-1-cover-small.jpg
In the year 2054, after decades of gender selection, India now has a ratio of five boys for every girl,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wren Noble is dead—she was born that way. Vibrant, unlike other dead things, she craves those rare moments when her...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macy Jones is a perfect student, popular teenager, and utterly miserable. This all changes once her father is arrested and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ned and his identical twin brother tumble from their raft into a raging, bewitched river, only Ned survives. Villagers...
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
In Marla Klein and Ivy Wilde’s world, teens are the gatekeepers of culture. A top fashion label employs sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
the hidden princess.jpg
One destiny rules two worlds in this gripping fantasy thriller. For five years, the Gateway has been closed and Hidden...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
When Aidan and Maggie find a fairy cross while rock-hunting with their grandfather, it's just an oddity. But when they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this unforgettable teen romance that fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti will devour, Quinn Sullivan falls for the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Order
Category: Young Adult Indie
Lana Crewe is a strong, fiercely driven seventeen year old living in a village ruled by fear. With their king...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)