The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form

Giveaway: The Program by Suzanne Young (US only)

Posted by on in News & Updates
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 2898
  • 46 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print
  • Report this post

 

by Suzanne Young
ISBN: 9781442445802
Release Date: April 30, 2013
 
Sloane knows better than to cry in front of anyone. With suicide now an international epidemic, one outburst could land her in The Program, the only proven course of treatment. Sloane’s parents have already lost one child; Sloane knows they’ll do anything to keep her alive. She also knows that everyone who’s been through The Program returns as a blank slate. Because their depression is gone—but so are their memories.
 
Under constant surveillance at home and at school, Sloane puts on a brave face and keeps her feelings buried as deep as she can. The only person Sloane can be herself with is James. He’s promised to keep them both safe and out of treatment, and Sloane knows their love is strong enough to withstand anything. But despite the promises they made to each other, it’s getting harder to hide the truth. They are both growing weaker. Depression is setting in. And The Program is coming for them.
 
 
b2ap3_thumbnail_suzanneyoung.jpg
About the author:
 
Suzanne Young currently lives in Tempe, Arizona, where she teaches high school English. When not writing obsessively, Suzanne can be found searching her own tragic memories for inspiration. She is the author of several books for teens, including The Program, A Need So Beautiful, and A Want So Wicked.
 

Visit the Official Site of The Program

Visit Suzanne Young’s Official Site

Follow Suzanne Young on Twitter

 
 
 
~ Giveaway Details ~
(Enter by filling out the form below)

Build your happy playlist and keep safe from The Program!

Three (3) US winners will receive:

· $10 iTunes gift card

· Copy of The Program

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Rate this blog entry:
0

Comments

  • Joshua David Bellin
    Joshua David Bellin Wednesday, 08 May 2013

    This book has an amazing premise, and I'm really looking forward to reading it.

    Having never experienced clinical depression, it's really hard for me to answer the question of whether I'd rather keep my emotions or become a "blank slate" with neither positive nor negative feelings. Friends of mine who have suffered from depression--and one who took his own life--would answer, and have answered, very differently from me.

  • Geraldine Choy
    Geraldine Choy Wednesday, 08 May 2013

    I would definitely keep my emotions!

  • Michelle Quinlan
    Michelle Quinlan Wednesday, 08 May 2013

    Although there are days that I hate to be "emotional"...I would definitely not give them up!:D

  • Ashley Rogers
    Ashley Rogers Wednesday, 08 May 2013

    I would definitely rather have my emotions. I am a very emotional person and I would not trade it for the world. It is what makes me so passionate about what I do.

  • Vivien
    Vivien Wednesday, 08 May 2013

    Keep my emotions. They make me who I am .

  • ama ra
    ama ra Wednesday, 08 May 2013

    I will keep my emotions, because when you are sad and something makes you suddenly happy, it´s even more happier because you were sad

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 09 May 2013

    There are some days I seriously consider numbing everything out, but, no. I wouldn't give up my emotions if I could. Life would be too boring, otherwise.

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 09 May 2013

    On bad days I might be tempted to give them up, but I would never really go that far.

  • YABC
    YABC Thursday, 09 May 2013

    I think I would rather be in a "blank state". It sounds a little harsh, but that's what I would rather do.

  • Guest
    DeShea Jones Saturday, 11 May 2013

    I would rather keep my emotions, definitely. They are what make us human.

  • Kierra
    Kierra Saturday, 11 May 2013

    Gosh, I think I'd rather have a blank slate. I know, it is what defines me, but I couldn't handle keeping my emotions if it were overun with depressed feelings.

  • Guest
    bn100 Saturday, 11 May 2013

    give them up

  • Susan Light
    Susan Light Sunday, 12 May 2013

    Nope, I'll be keeping them.

  • Hannah
    Hannah Sunday, 12 May 2013

    This look awesome :)

  • Tiffany
    Tiffany Sunday, 12 May 2013

    KEEP. We'd all be robots without them.

  • Guest
    Allison Tuesday, 14 May 2013

    I would rather keep my emotions than get a "blank slate".

  • Danielle Schneider
    Danielle Schneider Wednesday, 15 May 2013

    I would rather keep my emotions. Yes, having to deal with depressing and sad emotions can be tedious, but to get rid of the bad feelings the good would have to follow. I don't want to lose out on the good feelings.

  • Rachel Spring
    Rachel Spring Wednesday, 15 May 2013

    There are times when I feel as if I am a blank slate because I feel numb, and no, I would much rather keep my emotions. Happiness is not possible without also experiencing sadness at times. And love can't exist without pain. Sometimes it is hard, but it is so much better to be able to feel, otherwise you wouldn't even really feel alive.

    On another note, this is my #1 most anticipated book of 2013, so I'll keep my fingers crossed!!!

  • Jennifer Greene
    Jennifer Greene Wednesday, 15 May 2013

    Keeping them, they help define who I am.

  • Guest
    Alicia batista Saturday, 18 May 2013

    I would rather hold them in verus become a blank state! Great giveaway! :)

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Friday, 19 December 2014

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)