Featured Review: Rising Tides by Katy Hade

Featured Review: Rising Tides by Katy Hade

About this book:

The truth won’t stay submerged forever City is the last civilised place left on a drowned Earth, a floating town built from metal and plastic from the Time Before. It’s the only home doctor's daughter Libby Marchmont has ever known or wanted – until her father helps the wrong patient and she's forced to flee. Cosimo came to City for one reason. Then he should have vanished back to his people on the Wastes. But what about his promise to Libby’s father? Stranded in the middle of the sea, can the two enemies learn to trust each other? And can they survive long enough to uncover the truth: City isn’t the safe haven Libby always believed it to be …

 

 

*Review contributed by Kelly St. Clare, Staff Reviewer*
 

A gem of the young adult genre.

Rising Tides by Katy HayeWhen pushed past all endurance, do you give up or fight back?

 

About the Story:
The land on Earth was lost to the ocean and rising sea levels swallowed the remaining supply of food. Seventeen-year-old Liberty passes her days as a surgical assistant to her father, the only man capable of inserting breathing devices into the throats of specially chosen young men. These men, the Nautilis, dive to extraordinary depths to retrieve Earth’s resources so the people of City can survive. But when her father gives gills to a bedraggled boy - without a license - he topples a cascade of events into motion. Libby begins to understand her life has been a lie. And this knowledge comes at the highest price.

 

The Characters:
Liberty is feisty! Such a refreshing female protagonist. We get the image of a slightly spoiled, highly intelligent young woman who is kind to a fault, though she hides it well behind defensive walls. She is awkward, unsure, and prickly when provoked.

 

Then enters a young man unfazed by Liberty’s prickly edges. Cosimo’s upbringing and ways are completely foreign to Liberty's. Watching the contrasting cultures vying for top spot is entertaining and progresses the story nicely. We see a male protagonist who acknowledges Liberty’s strengths while complimenting her weaknesses with his own skill-set and traits. The relationship is an even partnership, and this is rare among the young adult genre.

 

The main antagonist has consistent presence throughout the story. There was a small desire to better understand how the antagonist descended to the level of depravity of the current day, though a very enjoyable plot-twist helps us to empathize with him to a degree.

 

The World:
Atlantis on a larger scale; One of the best YA worlds I’ve seen. Well-developed, exciting, and full of suspense. We have the Reamers - thieves and vagabonds. We have City folk - civilized and privileged. And we have the people of New Eden - peaceful harvesters. The tension between the three different peoples is palpable, particularly between the Reamers and City. Katy Haye has clearly striven to lend a level of authenticity to the novel with smaller details, such as: Algae farms, desinalation plants, bottle insulation, and some great slang. Descriptions were vivid and efficient.

 

The Readibility:
This novel is professionally written and edited. The flow is impeccable and the suspension of belief is absolute. Rising Tides is a stand-alone young adult novel, perfect for 13+

 

Final Verdict:
A gem of the young adult genre.

 

Favorite Quote:
“Be good and eat your algae and one day you’ll go to the land of sun and roses.”

 

 

*You can find this review HERE!*

 

Rate this blog entry:
How to Beat the Beach At Its Own Game
Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Reasons I Love Vikings (Histor...
 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
 
5.0
"Hilde is at it again to get a factual story for the newspaper. This time, it's a mysterious flash of..."
Ghoulia
 
4.0
"To Ghoulia, she's just the average girl. To us, she's something completely different: a zombie. Ghoulia's aunt wants her to..."
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
 
3.5
"Lights Camera Carmen is a quick-to-read tale of a zealous and outspoken kid destined to make it big. ..."
Going Wild #3: Clash of Beasts
 
4.0
" Charlie, Mac, and Maria are back, having defeated Dr. Gray's army in Predator Vs. Prey. Kelly and Miko, however,..."
Gamer Army
 
4.0
"In a futuristic society where almost everything has gone online, Rogan spends a lot of his time playing the game..."
Love, Life, and the List
 
4.3
"Abby's goal in life is to become a serious artist. Her hope is to get into a special art camp...."
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
 
3.0
"It's 1984 and Laura Ratliff is a high school student with issues beyond a typical sixteen-year-old. Her mom and her..."
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
 
5.0
"ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING includes factual information on our world history. It's divided by time periods and eras of importance. This book..."
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
 
5.0
"Amy's family rushes for everything. "They walked fast, drove fast, shopped fast, and ate fast." This upsets Amy because there..."
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
 
5.0
"My Little Golden Book About the Solar System is the perfect way to introduce the planets. The pictures are vibrant..."
Beyond a Darkened Shore
 
4.7
"Top 4 Reasons to Grab BEYOND A DARKENED SHORE immediately: 1.) Historical fantasy worldbuilding: My biggest genre weakness..."
Onyx and Ivory
 
4.0
"Top 5 Reasons to Read Onyx and Ivory: 1.) The magic: Kate lives in a world where there are..."
Soccer School Season 2: Where Soccer Explains (Saves) the World
 
4.3
"In this second Soccer School book, the first chapter is about pee rather than poop (as the first book was)!..."
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
 
5.0
"THE FLASH: THE SECRET FILES OF BARRY ALLEN is the perfect guide for the Flash tv show. The layout of..."
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
 
4.0
"AN ASSASSIN’S GUIDE TO LOVE & TREASON by Virginia Boecker is such a breath of fresh air. It’s a YA..."
Giant Days
 
4.7
"Susan, Daisy and Esther are very different women, but they become fast friends after meeting on their college dorm floor...."
Holes
 
5.0
"Important message. Unique perspective."
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"The Namarielle is the perfect addition to any fantasy novel collection. The world is so well imagined in the little..."
The Blood Spell
 
5.0
"Blue de la Cour enjoys her quiet life with her father, passing the days by working in the shop and..."
 
5.0
"The Channeler is the first book in a new YA fantasy series written by William H. Kline IV. Tommy,..."