Author Top 5 with Valynne E. Maetani

Author Top 5 with Valynne E. Maetani

 

Today we welcome Valynne E. Maetani to YABC! Ink and Ashes, Maetani's new suspense-filled mystery, has everything needed for a knockout debut! This novel centers around a mystery involving the Yakuza (Japanese Mafia) and Valynne is here to share the top five interesting facts about this group! 

 

 

Meet Valynne.

 

Valynne E. Maetani grew up in Utah and obtained a Bachelor's degree from the University of Pennsylvania. In a former life, she was a project manager and developed educational software for children with learning disabilities. Currently, she is a part-time stage mom, part-time soccer mom, and full-time writer. Her debut novel, Ink and Ashes, is the winner of the New Visions Award 2013 and a Junior Library Guild 2015 selection. Maetani is a member of the We Need Diverse Books team and is dedicated to promoting diversity in children's literature because all children should grow up believing their stories deserve to be told.

 

Now meet Valynne's book.

b2ap3_thumbnail_ink-and-ashes.jpg

Claire Takata has never known much about her father, who passed away ten years ago. But on the anniversary of his death, she finds a letter from her deceased father to her stepfather. Before now, Claire never had a reason to believe they even knew each other. Struggling to understand why her parents kept this surprising history hidden, Claire combs through anything that might give her information about her father . . . until she discovers that he was a member of the yakuza, a Japanese organized crime syndicate. The discovery opens a door that should have been left closed. The race to outrun her father’s legacy reveals secrets of his past that cast ominous shadows, threatening Claire, her friends and family, her newfound love, and ultimately her life. Winner of Tu Books’ New Visions Award, Ink and Ashes is a fascinating debut novel packed with romance, intrigue, and heart-stopping action.

 

And now, here are five things you need to know about the Yakuza!

 

 

 

1. Yakuza members are known for their colorful tattoos, irezumi. The traditional method involves manually inserting the ink under the skin. 

 

Originally, however, the tattoos and the yakuza date back to early17th century Japan when prisoners were tattooed by authorities to mark them as criminals. Early yakuza members were often part of groups involved in illegal activities and began to add to their existing prison tattoos to show their affiliation with the organization. 

 

 

2. While the yakuza’s activities are often illegal and secret, organized crime syndicates are, unlike other countries, not banned in Japan.

 

There are many yakuza groups and some of these organizations have had offices at times with signs displaying their name or emblem. 

 

(This yakuza office is actually right next door to a police station.) 

 

 

(The Kumagai Gumi Tokyo gang is part of one of the largest organizations, the Inagawakai, whose emblem is above them.) 

 

3. The yakuza are known for engaging in sokaiya, a form of extortion or blackmail. 

 

Small groups or the crime syndicate buy enough shares in a corporation so they can attend shareholder’s meetings. Since Japanese people fear shame more than anything else, these groups then dig up dirt and find ways to humiliate the executive leadership. To ensure annual meetings run smoothly, companies are willing to pay off the yakuza in all kinds of ways, including donations to fake charities, paying exorbitant subscription fees for useless magazines or buying tickets to yakuza events at ridiculously inflated prices.

 

  1. In the picture below, Deputy President of Mizuho Bank Toshitsugu Okabe apologizes for a scandal involving the bank’s illicit loan payoffs to sokaiya. 

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_03.jpg

 

 

4. While the yakuza are known for operating through extortion and sometimes violent methods, they are also known for helping those most in need.

 

Their code of honor, ninkyo, forbids them from allowing others to suffer. When an earthquake occurred off the coast of Tohoku on March 11, 2011, it triggered one of the largest tsunamis in Japan’s history. The waves caused extensive damage to roads, railways, and nuclear reactors, but the yakuza were one of the first to arrive with relief, including food, blankets, water, and other supplies. 

 

(Yakuza members deliver boxes of diapers) 

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_00.jpg

 

(Tsunami debris in Otsuchi) 

 

5. Women are very rarely members of the yakuza because they are marginalized. Usually they are relegated to nothing more than servants, and even the wives and daughters of leaders are not spared this treatment.

 

However, there is one exception, Fumiko Taoka, who was the wife of Kazuo Taoko, the yakuza boss of Yamaguchi­gumi, the largest clan. When Kazuo died of a heart attack in 1981, it created a power vacuum because the new leader would be chosen from eight men who were the next highest in rank. Fumiko stepped in to act as oyabun, godfather, and is the one of the only females in history to have done so. She ran the clan for several months until a new leader was chosen. 

 

 

Thank you, Valynne!

 

What happens when Claire Takata uncovers her father’s hidden past? Read Ink and Ashes to find out! And for more information about Valynne E. Maetani and her writing, visit her website HERE!

 

Rate this blog entry:
A Conversation with Elena Dunkle
Author Top 5 with Carrie Ryan

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."