A New Dawn Your Favorite Authors on Stephenie Meyer's Twilight Series

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
924 0
A New Dawn  Your Favorite Authors on Stephenie Meyer's Twilight Series
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 28, 2008
ISBN
1933771933
Buy This Book
      
*Is Edward a romantic or a (really hot) sociopath?
* How is the Twilight series just like one of Shakespeare's tragedies?
* Who would you rather date: the guy who thirsts for your blood, or the guy who drinks out of the toilet?

You can't read Stephenie Meyer's Twilight series without wanting more- more romance, more suspense, just more of Bella, Edward, Jacob, and the rest of Forks, Washington. You aren't alone.
Join some of your favorite writers as they look at the series with fresh eyes, and fall in love with Bella and Edward, and their world, all over again.

Find out:

* How the literary vampire went from horror show to heartthrob
* Other Native American wolf myths, and how the Quileute werewolves compare
* What Bella and Edward's romance has to say about free will
* Why vampires and werewolves really shouldn't date, and what that has to do with Edward's insistence that Bella go to prom

With Essays From...
* Robin Brande
* Rachel Caine
* Cassandra Clare
* Rosemary Clement-Moore
* Linda Gerber
* Cara Lockwood
* Megan McCafferty
* K. A. Nuzum
* James Owen
* Janette Rallison
* Ellen Steiber
* Anne Usru

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Fascinating glimpse into Twilight world
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
This is a collection of essays from some YA authors on the Twilight series. You'd think this would be boring considering it's non-fiction.

Wrong.

I found this collection, which is edited by one of my favorite YA authors Ellen Hopkins, fascinating. One interesting thread in this book is how most of the authors talk about what they think is the reason for Twilight's success. One of my favorite essays talked about how Twilight deals with a subject that is very sensitive to us right now: getting old. How from the start Bella worried about getting old. In New Moon the book starts off with her having a dream of seeing her grandmother but in fact it is her. Bella even tells Edward how perfect it would be to stay 18 forever. I don't know about her, but I know I'm glad that didn't happen to me!

Another essay deals with how Twilight and the classic books Romeo and Juliet and Wuthering Heights have things in common with our heroes.

I especially liked the essay Dancing with Wolves that shows the history of wolves and werewolves. **I still think Bella should have chosen Jacob! But that's just me and I know others would disagree.

And my favorite essay? How Edward is in fact really a very bad boy. The author Susan Vaught rates him to see how many antisocial personality disorder traits he has. But something does save him in the end.

If you're a fan or Twilight or just interested in why the series is such a success, this book is for you! This collection had me thinking. I admit, I couldn't put it down!

A great addition to any Twilight fan's collection.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."