Quest for the Lost City of Gold

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1783 1
Quest for the Lost City of Gold
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 17, 2008
ISBN
0756634369
Buy This Book
      
When a mysterious postcard arrives at the home of renowned illustrator Stephen Biesty, he and the reader are sent on a whirlwind quest around the world with cryptic clues and riddles to solve along the way. When Stephen arrives at each destination building on his journey, he gathers information to help him solve the riddle, drawing the building as it was at a pivotal moment in its history. The quest begins at Sydney Opera House, and leads to an assortment of architectural monoliths, including the Empire State Building, Hagia Sophia, Angkor Wat, and the Coliseum. Readers follow his adventures and crack the clues to discover an incredible Lost City of Gold, in this scrapbook journal-style account of Stephen's travels.

Since becoming a full-time illustrator in 1985, Stephen Biesty has worked on a variety of information books for both adults and children. His first book for DK, the best-selling Stephen Biesty's Incredible Cross-Sections, was published in 1992. That volume was the inspiration for a successful range of cross-section books including Man-of-War, Castle, Incredible Explosions, and Incredible Everything. Using just paper, pen and ink, and watercolor paints, Stephen Biesty never uses a ruler, drawing everything freehand.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Join This Exciting Adventure
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
You are invited to join artist Stephen Biesty as his old history teacher challenges him to collect clues from important buildings in many lands in an attempt to find the Lost City of Gold. The quest begins in this book crammed with postcards, journal entries, photos, drawings, interesting snippets of info, maps, letters, historical facts, and architectural layouts, with a letter from Steve's teacher inviting him to this huge adventure. Steve receives a postcard to each destination, complete with clues and riddles. In each place, Steve (and the reader) collects numbers, which he crosses off a riddle card, which is included in an envelope, along with the parts for a special viewer, stickers, and a poster.

QUEST FOR THE LOST CITY OF GOLD is not only an enjoyable shared adventure, complete with fascinating facts about history and architecture, but the book itself is a stunning work of art, inviting many hours of enjoyable browsing. Who can resist this call to adventure?
TM
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."