I Don't Want to Be Crazy

 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
1724 0
Publisher
Age Range
14+
ISBN
043980518X
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Personal Struggle
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
I Dont Want to Be Crazy is Samantha Schutzs autobiography, written as free verse poetry. This novel is the story of a young woman battling her panic attacks. I can only imagine how hard it must have been for Samantha to write a memoir and share such a private part of herself with the world. I have so much respect for Samantha, and I feel like she has done everyone with anxiety disorders a great service by publishing her book, which helps readers to better understand the physical and emotional effects of panic attacks.

As Samantha first arrives at college, so many opportunities await her, and her newfound independence is both exhilarating and a little bit frightening. Having just been diagnosed with anxiety disorder at seventeen, Samantha is forced to rely on different medication to keep her panic attacks in check. Samanthas writing style is concise and powerful and really made me feel the pain, discomfort, and fear that she experienced during each panic attack. Panic attacks can come at any time, and there is nothing she can do but to wait them out, often in a bathroom with her head between her knees. Her panic attacks caused Samantha to walk out of countless classes, parties, dinners, and miss out on many social aspects of college life. Imagine having to plan your life avoiding situations that might trigger a panic attack. Even then, Samantha often had unpredictable panic attacks at some of the worst possible moments. Her family and friends are remarkable, waiting out her panic attacks with her, even though they could not always understand what was happening. Their support was key to helping Samantha through this rough time in her life.

Anxiety disorders are caused by a rush of hormones, often thought to be associated with the fight or flight response. Samantha does a wonderful job of showing how little control she had over her disorder, and how it tightly controlled her life for many years. Having an anxiety disorder is not shameful, and hopefully, I Dont Want to Be Crazy will encourage readers to try and better understand anxiety disorders, as well as encourage readers with anxiety disorders to come forward and not be afraid to seek treatment. I must applaud Samantha Schutz for revealing her own personal story, a story that needs to be told for the millions who suffer from anxiety disorders.
A2
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Raw Emotion.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Jelly Bean. =)

This gutwrenching memoir written by Samantha Schutz is so incredible. There was so much emotion in this book that nearly every word I read was a stab to my heart.

Written in poem format, Samantha tells her tale of her anxiety disorder, how frightening it was, and how it affected her.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."