Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
123 0
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
13+
Release Date
October 01, 2020
ISBN
9781536212860
Buy This Book
      
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker and TV presenter – brings you her inspirational guide to getting outdoors and having incredible adventures.

From kayaking the length of the Amazon to cycling to the South Pole and running an ultra-marathon across the Namib desert, the Blue Peter and Countryfile presenter Helen Skelton has taken on record-breaking feats of endurance and shown that adventures definitely are for girls.

Helen shares six stories of her most daring adventures across some of the world’s most extreme wildernesses, explaining how she embraced her fears and found the positives in the toughest situations. Alongside her inspirational tales are ideas for where readers can find their own wild adventures closer to home and accounts of the real-life wild girls who inspire her.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Wild Girl
(Updated: July 13, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this part-autobiography, part-how-to guide, Skelton details the incredible feats she has conquered, such as solo-kayaking the Amazon River and biking to the South Pole. She shares the gear she used for each experience, explains her training, gives reflective accounts, and then suggests what readers can do if they too are seeking excitement. Skelton ends each section with a “Wild Girl Hall of Fame,” showcasing other fearless females who also have amazing accomplishments on their resumes.

As someone who likes to get active outdoors, I couldn’t wait to read this book. Skelton breaks her adventures into sections: Adventures in the Snow, Adventures on the Sand, Adventures on the Water, Adventures in the Mountains, Adventures in the Countryside, and Adventures in the City. I really appreciated this, because there’s an offer for everyone here. Beyond that, when she suggests what readers can do for fun in nature, she gives “Wild Adventure” options, such as kite-surfing, and “Extremely Wild Adventure” options, such as rock jumping. As someone who has a healthy dose of fear and reverence for the wilderness, I enjoyed perusing the less intense recommendations. I may not be a person who’s going to camp in a place without running water, but some readers might be excited to do that, which again shows how there’s something for everyone in this book.

I do wish the “Where to Go Wild” lists were lengthier and more curated, but that aside, this is a book that I want to hang on to, so that I can refer back to it when planning trips and vacations. It’s also a book that is coming at the perfect time. The more restricted we are right now with what we can do inside, such as the closure of gyms, movie theaters, restaurants, and stores, the more of a need there is to explore what we can do beyond that. I hope with this WILD GIRL book, readers will feel invigorated knowing that exploring the earth, even what is in our backyards, is the perfect way to cure boredom, exercise, and relax our minds.

Overall, Helen Skelton’s stories are incredibly inspiring and a great reminder that our mindset influences all that we do. She shows us that we have what we need within ourselves, and we just have to believe it. For that, WILD GIRL is a must-have for your shelf.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."