Abraham Lincoln: The Making of America #3

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
203 0
Abraham Lincoln: The Making of America #3
Age Range
10+
Release Date
September 04, 2018
ISBN
978-1419731594
Buy This Book
      
The third installment of the Making of America series, Abraham Lincoln, tells of one of our most beloved presidents. Born in a cabin deep in the backwoods of Kentucky, growing up in a family considered “the poorest of the poor,” Lincoln rose to become the sixteenth president of the United States. As president, he guided the United States through the Civil War, helped end slavery in America, and strengthened the federal government. Unlike other biographies, the Making of America series goes beyond individual narratives linking influential figures to create an overarching story of America’s growth. The first three books in the series, read together, tell the story of American constitutional history from the founding of the nation through the end of the Civil War. The stories can also be read on their own and are the perfect way to get young readers excited about American history. The book includes selections of Lincoln’s writing, a bibliography, and an index.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Honestly Abe
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
A highly accessible biographical overview of (arguably) the most renowned and history-altering of all the United States presidents. The book tracks and examines the life of Abraham Lincoln—from his unremarkable birth and monetarily/intellectually impoverished upbringing, to his time as an indentured laborer—on to his courtship of Mary Todd and budding legal endeavors… and ultimately, to his political ascension and assassination.

Kudos to Teri Kanefield for such an engaging non-fiction format. The regularly interspersed images and paragraphs worth of footnote asides really helped break up the information and stave off reading fatigue. It also helped put certain concepts in proper context. And beyond mere dates and factoids, there is a concerted effort to convey Lincoln’s motivations and personality. It presents the environment and evolution of his value system, the reasoning behind his divergence from his immediate family’s political leanings, his ongoing struggles with melancholy (i.e. depression), and the terrible personal losses he endured. And Kanefield manages to do so without the use of manipulative or bias word choices.

Note: While some facts I simply had never learned during my inadequate U.S. history education, there are some things that felt more like surprising (yet intriguing) points of conjecture. For example: The book dwells often on how odd in physical appearance and proportion Abraham Lincoln happened to be. And it strongly implies that Lincoln was a sure political bet only to his wife, Mary—who seemed determined, even before their courtship, that she would be married to a U.S. President. Indeed, the book suggests Lincoln may not have persisted in his discouraging political career had Mary not nagged (er…coaxed?) him into it.

There was far more information on Mary Todd, and the sometimes contentious marriage dynamic between her and Abe, than I’d ever before encountered. This reader had never realized that the first lady's family was largely pro-confederacy. And as a result, "Southerners scorned her as a traitor to her home state and land of her birth. Northerners suspected her of being disloyal to the Union because she had close relatives in the Confederate army." Her life seems nearly as befitting a biography as her husband’s.

Regarding the aftermath of Lincoln’s death, the book postulates: "Booth was stunned by how the assassination was portrayed in the press. He had spent so much time among like-minded people who hated Lincoln, and he had read so many newspaper accounts denouncing Lincoln as a tyrant bent on destroying the Constitution and personal liberty, that he expected to be hailed as a hero. Instead ... he was being hunted down like a beast, while Lincoln was held up ... as a martyred saint."
While it's fascinating to think that the echo chamber John Wilkes Booth lived in led him to believe he'd be publicly lauded for murdering Lincoln... I just wonder how they know this. Letters? There doesn’t appear to be a source for this cited.

“Confederates called Lincoln a dictator and fanatic who must be stopped by any means, including 'revolution or private assassination.’”

I appreciate that this book really explores how much criticism Lincoln received in his day--both from slave owners, who were enraged at how much he was pushing for change--and from his fellow abolitionists, who didn't think he was doing enough. History often shows that the most effective world-changers were those who made incremental alterations on their way to an ultimate goal, rather than imposing an abrupt all-or-nothing approach. But there have been, and always will be, those who disparage a moderated strategy.

"I hope to stand firm enough to not go backward, and yet not go forward fast enough to wreck the country's cause." --Abraham Lincoln

Yet, some in recent years have chosen to interpret the approaches and motivations of many historical figures through an inflexible modern-day lens of moral superiority—resulting in cynicism and even vilification toward figures who are entirely too dead to defend themselves. This book, however, gives no quarter to the dying trend of portraying Lincoln as a mere political opportunist.
-"Under Cox's theory of Lincoln, which has gained wide acceptance among scholars, Lincoln was a practical statesman and not an idealist. At each stage he was willing to settle for what he could accomplish, while remaining alert for opportunities to achieve his long-desired objective of liberty and justice for all."

-"As another historian explained, Lincoln "always sought the meeting point between what was right in theory and what could be achieved in practice." Lincoln saw no point in putting forward plans or proposals that couldn't possibly win popular support."

Ultimately, this was an enlightening overview of an indisputably influential life. By the end, readers will feel as though they better know Lincoln the man, rather than simply knowing a few more things about Lincoln the historical figure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."