The Girl Guide: 50 Ways to Learn to Love Your Changing Body

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
654 0
The Girl Guide: 50 Ways to Learn to Love Your Changing Body
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 01, 2018
ISBN
978-0062839435
Buy This Book
      
For every tween girl wondering about her changing body and changing brain, this funny and highly illustrated guide is the answer. Packed with advice about everything from periods to bras to body hair—PLUS tips on how to deal with crushes, new emotions, and all the chaos in between!

Growing up is fun . . . but it’s tough, too. There are a lot of unknowns and it can be weird and messy for girls. Worry not! This book covers EVERYTHING girls need to know, and it's all been reviewed and fact-checked by medical consultant Dr. Radha Modgil.

Learn how:

To make your body your best friend (not your enemy).

To get out there and do YOU (even when you don’t want to move off the couch).

The thoughts and feelings that make you feel alone are shared by every girl on the planet.

To feel amazing through exercise, nutrition, and skin care.

And so much more!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

An honest and empowering read for young girls
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Where was this book when I was a girl?
Ibrahim talks about every embarrassing subject tween girls face each day and often don’t feel like they can ask questions about. Her matter of fact tone, funny and honest approach to these subjects gives young readers a chance to see that we’ve all been there and it will all be okay.
A comforting guide through puberty dealing with obvious topics such as periods, vaginas, bras, braces and pimples as well as how to deal with parents, moodiness, healthy diet and exercise, uncomfortable situations, and even drugs and alcohol.
Ibrahim’s voice of experience assures her readers that the chaos of changing bodies and overwhelming stress is perfectly normal and encourages her readers to embrace the experience.

Every young girl should have this practical guidebook to reach for in times of need. The conversational tone is easy to read and the illustrations are sure to keep readers engaged.

I would recommend this book for young tweens and teens in need of a little guidance. ?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."