Journeys: Young Readers’ Letters to Authors Who Changed Their Lives

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
940 0
Journeys: Young Readers’ Letters to Authors Who Changed Their Lives
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 01, 2017
ISBN
978-0763681012
Buy This Book
      
Books can change lives — and here are more than fifty powerful letters from young readers to authors revealing some of the ways that is true.

Annie Schnitzer tells Elie Wiesel, “Reading your story allowed me to connect with my own history,” explaining how reading his memoir deepened her understanding of her grandparents’ plight during the Holocaust. After reading The House on Mango Street, Julia Mueller writes to Sandra Cisneros, “You didn’t tell me how to pull myself back together; you just showed me that I could. I was tired of trying to be somebody else’s definition of beautiful, and you told me that was okay.” Culled from the Letters About Literature contest of the Library of Congress Center for the Book, the fifty-two letters in this collection — written by students in grades four through twelve — reveal how deeply books and poetry affect the lives of readers. Offering letters that are as profound as they are personal and as moving as they are enlightening, this collection, which also features artwork by some of the contest entrants, provides a glimpse into young people’s lives and their connections — both expected and unexpected — to the written word.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Enlightening, Challenging, a Reminder of Why We Read
(Updated: January 13, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Journeys is a collection of letters from the “Letters About Literature” program sponsored by the Library of Congress Center for the Book. This program encourages young readers from around the United States to submit letters to authors of books and poetry that have affected them. The book is organized into three sections based on age range: upper elementary, middle, and high school. The writers of the letters describe how works ranging from Robert Frost’s “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening” to The Diary of Anne Frank, from to Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak, to Pablo Neruda’s “Sonnet LXVI,” have resonated with them, challenged them, and made them who they are.

At times, some of the letters—particularly the ones from the younger children—seem overly polished. I believe the editor that they have been only “minimally edited” for this collection, but I occasionally found myself wondering how much involvement parents and teachers had in the early stages of the children’s writing process. Nevertheless, I never doubted that the voices in these letters speak of genuine connections to the stories and poems described in them.

I would have liked to see more letters from boys (roughly 1 in 5 is from a boy). I was pleased, though, that there was a wide range of ethnicities represented, and living in a multicultural world is one of the main themes that emerges from the collection.

My favorite thing about this book is that it challenges perceptions of readership. The first entry is from a young girl writing to Laura Ingalls Wilder about how The Long Winter helped her understand her Eritrean father’s childhood. A high schooler whose mother died found solace in The Things They Carried, Tim O’Brien’s collection of short stories about the war in Vietnam. This collection is an important reminder that children, like all people, can read both deeply and widely.

I could see some children enjoying this volume, but I suspect it will appeal most to educators. It provides an important reminder of how and why children read and it could serve as a model for students to write letters of their own.

Good Points
poignant and personal
representing a wide range of children
good resource for educators
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."