Motor Girls: How Women Took the Wheel and Drove Boldly Into the Twentieth Century

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
635 0
Motor Girls: How Women Took the Wheel and Drove Boldly Into the Twentieth Century
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
February 07, 2017
ISBN
1426326971
Buy This Book
      
Come along for a joy ride in this enthralling tribute to the daring women – Motor Girls, as they were called at the turn of the century – who got behind the wheel of the first cars and paved the way for change. The automobile has always symbolized freedom, and in this book we meet the first generation of female motorists who drove cars for fun, profit, and to make a statement about the evolving role of women. From the advent of the auto in the 1890s to the 1920s when the breaking down of barriers for women was in full swing, readers will be delighted to see historical photos, art, and artifacts and to discover the many ways these progressive females influenced fashion, the economy, politics, and the world around them.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Driven Look at Women's History
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Having explored how women gained freedom in the mid 1800s and onward in her 2011 Wheels of Change: How Women Rode the Bicycle to Freedom (With a Few Flat Tires Along the Way), Macy follows this up with a great explanation of how the newfangled motor car was even more influential. Since early automobiles were so different from ones today, and since the whole experience of road travel was much more fraught with problems, there is a lot of discussion about the development of the auto and all it's attendant accoutrements. Imagine traveling even fifty miles without the benefit of roads, gas stations, or reliable tires!

Since my grandmother, who was born in 1893, never learned to drive a car, I was greatly impressed by the description of the women who took on this new and exciting machine and excelled at its use, even though they were not encouraged to do so. I knew about Alice Ramsay from the book Brown's 2000 book Alice Ramsey's Grand Adventure,but I didn't know about Lillian Sheridan, who was the first female tire salesperson, Mary Dexter, who was a nurse who drove ambulances during World War I, or Olive Schultz, who was the first female taxi driver. I loved reading books to my girls about strong female role models when they were young, so that they would know that they were able to do just about anything they set their mind to. This book includes lots of great examples.
Good Points
This is a beautifully formatted book, with plentiful illustrations to support the text, informative sidebars, and biographical information about particular women who drove at the time. Keep in mind that this is a National Geographic publication, and their archives must be bursting with undiscovered treasures. Like their photobiographies (including Mithcell's Liftoff: A Photobiography of John Glenn and Delano's Helen's Eyes: A Photobiography of Annie Sullivan, Helen Keller's Teacher) anything that I could have wanted a picture of was presented.

Macy always presents a well researched book, and there are a lot of facts packed into this brief 96 page book. Students who are using this for a history project will appreciate the complete bibliography, but readers who just want a book filled with amusing facts will not be disappointed.

I love that the foreword is by Danica Patrick, who says that her parents never told her she couldn't drive because she was a girl, and the chapter about women driving during WWI was particularly interesting. Who knew that Madame C.J. Walker's daughter was in the Colored Women's Motor Corps? Who even knew that such an organization even existed!

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."