My Mad Fat Diary

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1054 0
My Mad Fat Diary
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
April 19, 2016
ISBN
978-1250116499
Buy This Book
      
It's 1989 and Rae Earl is a fat, boy-mad 17-year-old girl, living in Stamford, Lincolnshire with her mum and their deaf white cat in a council house with a mint green bathroom and a refrigerator Rae can't keep away from. She’s also just been released from a psychiatric ward. My Mad Fat Diary is the hilarious, harrowing and touching real-life diary Rae kept during that fateful year and the basis of the hit British television series of the same name now coming to HULU. Surrounded by people like her constantly dieting mum, her beautiful frenemy Bethany, her mates from the private school up the road (called “Haddock”, “Battered Sausage” and “Fig”) and the handsome, unattainable boys Rae pines after (who sometimes end up with Bethany…), My Mad Fat Diary is the story of an overweight young woman just hoping to be loved at a time when slim pop singers ruled the charts. Rae's chronicle of her world will strike a chord with anyone who's ever been a confused, lonely teenager clashing with her parents, sometimes overeating, hating her body, always taking herself VERY seriously, never knowing how positively brilliant she is and keeping a diary to record it all. My Mad Fat Diary – 365 days with one of the wisest and funniest girls in England.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

My Mad Fat Diary
(Updated: April 27, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Rae Earl shares the intimate feelings of being a teen in 1989. This memoir is told in journal format which starts on January 24, 1989 and ends right before 1990. Rae has just been released from a psychiatric ward after suffering a 'nervous breakdown'. Rae's depression is based on her loneliness and longing for a boyfriend. One thing stands in her way though--she's overweight. She finds some solace at the local pub with some boys and a few girls but behind the smiles and laughs, she dies inside every time her weight is the center of jokes. Her so-called friend Bethany ends up betraying her secrets in the worse way. Yet Rae's lack of confidence finds her back with her.

What worked: The whole idea of reading someone's diary feels a tad bit voyeuristic yet I couldn't put this memoir down. The pain Rae feels of being rejected or only seen as that 'funny fat friend' is shown in her journal. Only there does she feel safe enough to take off her happy mask and tell the 'truth'. Rae's wit and humor are throughout while deep down readers glimpse the real reasons behind Rae's depression. More than a few times, my heart broke for her. It's those emotions that are sure to resonate with teens today.

Rae's wit carries through some otherwise sad scenes like when a boy she's crushing on tells her he only thinks of her as a big sister. Or when she confides in Bethany that she really likes this one boy and later her friend announces that she's going out with him. I think when Rae writes that the reason the guys feel comfortable with her and that's it's okay for their girlfriends to hang with her, is equally painful and tragic.

...You see? I am ALWAYS the fat, ugly-cow exception. I am safe. No threat. I mean-who would? That was quoted to me in all innocence-but it cuts me up so much...

That's the heart of this memoir. How well Rae is able to shown readers the pain she carries. She mentions how she wished she could be like Olivia Newton-John's character in Grease and have someone redo her so everyone would want her. I was thinking this memoir reminded me more of Hairspray and how the 'fat' protagonist longs for just that. Only Rae's story is real without the 'happily ever-after ending'. Kuddos for Rae for being courageous to share her story with us.

What I did have issues with though was the British slang and pop culture references of 1989. I was a young adult at this time so I remember much of the historical references like when the Berlin Wall came down to the fear of being nuked by Russia. But some of the other references I didn't get and that took me out of an otherwise engaging tale. To be fair though, there is a reference in the front of the book that does go over some British terms.

Witty, heart-breaking memoir of a teen in 1989 who smiley veneer is cracked to reveal a girl who longs to be loved. The emotions are sure to resonate with teens today.
Good Points
1. Heartbreaking reveal behind the smiles of a British teen in 1989
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"3 Reasons TELL ME HOW YOU REALLY FEEL needs to be on your shelf immediately: 1.) The spot-on comparison:..."
 
4.0
"Amy Lukavics is one of my favorite horror writers. All of Lukavics's books are a little odd (in the best..."
 
3.0
"You might think that being the daughter of Eros, Kali might be good at the whole cupid thing. Kali would..."
The Cold is in Her Bones
 
3.7
"What I Loved About THE COLD IS IN HER BONES: Milla lives an isolated life on..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.3
"The top 3 reasons you need WILDER GIRLS by Rory Power on your shelf: 1.) The characters:..."
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
"BUTTERFLY YELLOW is a heartfelt and engrossing historical fiction. H?ng is in the US, searching for her younger brother. After..."
 
5.0
"*This review contains spoilers for book one, A BLADE SO BLACK* A DREAM SO DARK, sequel to A BLADE..."
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
"THE LADY ROGUE is an absolutely thrilling historical fiction/fantasy. In the vein of THE MUMMY but in Romania and with..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
3.7
"What worked: I'm a huge fan of the Lux series and LOVE Daemon. The relationship between Daemon and Kat is..."
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
"VOYAGES IN THE UNDERWORLD OF ORPHEUS BLACK is a story about brotherhood, war, and the power of art. Harry is..."
Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano (Firebrand, #1)
 
5.0
"This comic book is an interesting print form of a webtoon series that captures season 1. Natali Presano was born..."
Tiger Queen
 
5.0
"All Kateri wants to do is impress her father, become the queen she's meant to be, protect her people, and..."
Cracking the Bell
 
4.7
"Isaiah's family has struggled after the death of his sister in a car accident that wasn't her fault. The parents..."
The Haunted
 
3.7
"THE HAUNTED is a really fascinating YA horror that follows Hendricks, a teenage girl, after she moves into a haunted..."
My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
Finding Esme
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."
Reverie
 
5.0
"REVERIE is a captivating and unique YA fantasy without adequate comparisons. The book follows Kane, a teenage boy who was..."